We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Music and people watching”

Court House Hotel Port Douglas
Ranked #44 of 117 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Description: The Courty as it has become affectionately known, is the oldest pub in Port Douglas and one of the most iconic pubs in Australia. We are located on the corner of Macrossan St (Port’s main street) and Wharf St (overlooking Anzac Park and the harbour). Behind the magnificent heritage Queenslander façade and wide open verandas is a much-loved full-offering local pub. This relaxed and welcoming neighbourhood pub is perfect for lunch, dinner, drinks or a night out on the town. Tailor your own experience at the Courty; whether it is casual large lunches with the whole family, afternoon cocktails in the sun with friends, a much-deserved cold beer, quiet corners for a quick bite to eat or late night celebrations on the open air verandas.
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Music and people watching”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great location with music and good service. Definitely fun place to sit back and relax.

Wine by the glass was a tad expensive at $10 per glass but the music made up for the price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    411
    169
    84
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
94022
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“So so food, so so service”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We saw Court House had a lot of customers and it was an open environment, so we decided to try the food. What a mistake.

It was self service. So we purchased our dinner at the cashier, the cashier was not knowledgeable about their dishes and, on top of that, quite rude. We should have stopped then, but unfortunately we did not.

My son ordered a kangaroo fillet, and it was tough. Really tough. Sigh.

Other dishes were OK, but not great.

The only thing going for this restaurant is the location and the open air atmosphere. It's really nice to sit outside and people watch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank my8286432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“nice setting, average food”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

It was super busy at 7pm on a Tuesday night. You order at the bar - standard bistro fare ($20-$28 meals). It took an hour for us to get the food and it was just average but it was hot. Staff were very good, drinks were fine. It is really busy and the staff run all night so we were pleased to finish and go for walk further up the street where it wasn't so frantic and a bit more relaxing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HughesChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food & good live music”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

The pork ribs were described by my wife as sublime. The seafood curry was also exceptional. Friendly crowd and the live acoustic music on two successive nights was a treat.

Helpful?
Thank Geoarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We went there for dinner last night & the service was good, food was nice had a live band which my daughter loved and just overall was a really good family dinner with a great fun atmosphere. Would definitely recommend this place and will go again :)

Helpful?
Thank sophie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Court House Hotel Port Douglas also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Court House Hotel Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing