We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better value elsewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Court House

Court House
Ranked #45 of 116 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Great Barrier Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Better value elsewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Had diner here in December was very ordinary, considering the location they really are missing the ball here. Even with the free kiddies meal with and adult purchase we would have been better off elsewhere, poor value for Pub food, also served up "off" mussells to my wife and then denied that they were so ! Service behind the bar was slow, unfriendly and the beer was not that cold. Don't think we'll be going back there, like I said better value and food elsewere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IJArchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    378
    160
    81
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“best steak at best price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Usually go here for the barramundi and chips but went on their steak night. Price was very good too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank skimadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good sized meal for a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I found the Courthouse food was like most other pubs you will find all around the country. Good value for money & good sized dishes.
Certainly provided great value for lunch with a $14.50 lunch menu which included your pub food favorites.
When considering this place go there if you are after a good sized pub meal, if thats what your after then id certainly recommend it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SalvaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Better options in the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch on a relatively quiet weekday. The size of the place and outdoor eating spots are excellent. We found the service to be slow and the food to be average pub grub at best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cripp78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Top spot - but the beers are cheaper at the Tin Shed !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great bistro fare combined with one of the best people watching spots in Port makes it a good place for a drink on a hot day! It's even got a TAB and I can recommend the Parma ! It's also got an upstairs bar with nice views for functions etc.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Court House also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Court House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing