We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2010

I don't want to seem to negative about this hotel but I think some facts should be recorded in case others get The wrong idea about the place.
It's very clean and new.
It has 2 pools, the public area of one can only be reached by going rig around the back of the building.
There is no bar
There is no restaurant
There is no 24hr concierge
The room we had was a pool/hotel room ... It was small, just big enough for a queen bed and a round table.
There is a kitchenette in the bedroom that is 70cm from the end of the bed containing a fridge, microwave and sink along with a tv and a line of kitchen cupboards with crockery etc.
They charged me an additional $25 to have the room serviced daily even though the travel agents website (expedia) had no mention of this.
There is a very small staff presence during the day and no lifeguards or other staff monitoring the pools.
They charge $5 if you want the towels changed during your stay.
It's close to the centre of town.
It has no gardens (well a small one at the front)
It has free parking.
The shower was great.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sydneyflitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2010

As you clearly state the property is “Self Catering Apartments” Shantara is not a Hotel as such with a bar, restaurant or 24 hour concierge we ensure that this information is on all web sites as we do not want give the property any false representation.
The Expedia site does publish about the maid service options as well as our Reception hours on the room information and special check in information.
We also advise when a guest arrives that they can choose to have the ‘daily service’ this is an extra option at the Guests discretion, we also prepare the rooms upon arrival with 6 bathroom towels including free pool towels, we do not charge any extra for these towels. As we are environmentally conscious should a Guest request to have extra pool towels then there is a charge of $5.00, this information is in the room upon a Guests check-in and all the apartments do have laundry facilities also.
Lifeguards are not common practise or required bylaw to have on any property in Port Douglas as far as i am aware !
Thanks again for your review - Marianna Bonomi Manager/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

910 - 916 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2010

After a long flight into Cairns and a transfer to Port Douglas all we wanted to do is get into our hotel room and relax, but when we arrived we got a frosty reception followed by confusion. There was no hello, or welcome and we were greeted with an abrupt 'Yes?' which was followed with 'Are you sure you have the right hotel?' After five minutes of trying to prove we were correct the girl on reception finally found our details on the computer. When we had eventually checked in we were told our room was on the second floor but we had to take it in turns to get there as the lift was too small for 2 people with 2 cases!
When we got into our apartment we realised the room we were in was not what we had specified when making the booking online, we thought we would have access to the pool area from our room as this is what we booked - Very misleading! (unless you were expected to jump from the balcony)
The rooms were very clean and spacious but they lacked soft furnishings and the walls were mainly bare which made every word spoken echo around the the place. The kitchen facilities were very good with a large refrigerator, dishwasher, hob and combi-oven, the only downside was lack of crockery and cutlery. We also had to change our own bins which meant taking them down to the basement via the lift which I was not happy about considering this was meant to be 5 star?
The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and spacious with a king bed, spa-bath and separate shower and there was a very nice sliding shutter feature adjoining the two rooms, this seemed to be the only 'impressive' feature.

Overall the hotel service was very poor with abrupt staff and a lack of room service and housekeeping. The apartment was 'OK' but lacked a 5 star quality and our experience was not especially the best. I would never return and would never recommend Shantara.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluebaymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shantara, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2010

It is unfortunate that this guest was not happy with their stay. We are unable to ascertain who these guests are and when they stayed with us and so find it difficult to address the comments made.
We do have a lift that services all floors and we have never encountered a problem with transporting our guests and their luggage. We are one of very few apartments in Port Douglas that has this facility.
As this booking was made online we would not have had the opportunity to discuss the different room options with the clients. After arrival it appears that unfortunately we were unable to accommodate these guests in their preferred apartment.
We do promote our property as fully self contained but the option of daily servicing is available and offered to all guests. Our rates are very competitive and we offer good specials which most guests choose knowing that daily servicing is not included.
All comments regarding our apartment furnishing are taken into consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Chose to stay at Shantara after reading previous TripAdvisor reviews and was not disappointed.

Our one bedroom pool deck apartment was spacious and very well appointed. Discovering by accident that the sofa and chairs in the living area reclined was a delightful surprise. As previous reviewers have said, pool decks are small but having direct access to the pool is simply gold.

As previous reviewer stated, the spa is small and solely operated. We never got to make use of it as the therapist was always booked, or away over the public holiday weekend. Luckily, Port Douglas is well serviced when it comes to spas!

Other than being a great place to stay there's no doubt that the location is ideal. Just a lazy five minute stroll and you're in the midst of the Macrossan Street action, or enjoying the Four Mile Beach walks. Ten minutes finds you at the Marina and other waterfront bars/eateries.

One word though ... just because there is a no under 16 policy, it doesn't mean it's always quiet! When we stayed, there was a group of friends occupying several apartments and given the complex is fairly 'intimate' their partying echoed around. Having said that, once inside our apartment with the doors closed, it was fabulously sound-proofed and we weren't disturbed by a thing.

Shantara is a great little hideaway and we'll be sure to return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drv_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We stayed at the lovely Shantara from 22/4/10 to 1/5/10 and were warmly greeted by staff. It was the perfect getaway for us celebrating our wedding anniversary. It was very relaxing, there was hardly any noise as its exclusively for adults (no kids screaming!), but the layout of the plants & trees near the pools and our balcony made it feel very private which is what we wanted.

We had a studio pool deck room, which we were very happy with – it wasn’t so small as per previous reviews, it had everything we needed – comfy bed, big flat screen tv, microwave, kitchen sink, table inside & on balcony to eat, deck chair & decent bathroom with large shower (big enough for 2! :) ). There was also a washing machine & dryer outside our room which was handy. You get sufficient towels as well as pool towels, along with bathroom amenities including hairdryer (I forgot mine!) & diffuser. The greatest thing was being able to take a dip just outside your room which was great. I noted there wasn’t a time frame to use the pool, i.e. late at night is allowed. This was great, as the weather in Port Douglas was quite humid, so after a night out it was great to come to our room & cool down in the pool. The room as well as the resort was very clean and 1 service during our stay was enough for us. You always have the washing machine if you feel the need to wash towels!

I booked all our trips with the girls at Reception, Jess and Sara are so accommodating and explained the different options available to us on the Great Barrier Reef. They recommended & even booked us the best Restaurants in Port Douglas, in particular advising a restaurant when it was our anniversary, which was a nice surprise & very thoughtful of Sara. They truly went out of their way to make us feel welcome & enjoy our stay.

I was very keen to have several treatments in the day spa on the property and Sara helped me book some treatments and explained the options to me, I did try several times to make contact with the actual Therapist but she seemed difficult to contact and the door to the spa was closed. The Day Spa is small inside but the therapist is a lovely Thai girl and gave me a wonderful massage and facial. My husband and I actually wanted a duo massage but the therapist is on her own and could not accommodate for a couples massage which is a shame, as my husband and I ended up going into town for a duo massage.

I would definitely recommend staying at Shantara, in particular for couples wanting a hideaway. :)

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Stayed here for 6 nights for our first wedding anniversary. The hotel appealed to me after reading other trip advisor reviews - mainly for the reports of cleanliness, quietness (no kids!), good location and pool deck rooms. We booked a studio pool deck room but on arrival our room was having its air con fixed so we were upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment on the 1st floor. I was a bit disappointed we wouldn't have the pool deck but it turned out to be a blessing in disguise as it poured with rain for our whole holiday and it was much more worthwhile to have the bigger room than a pool deck, since it was not really sunbaking or swimming weather!
The room was lovely, had everything we needed (e.g fridge, microwave, dishwasher, stove etc, air cons and ceiling fans, couches tv, stereo, table & chairs, big bed, wardrobe, great bathroom with spa bath, big shower, spare towels including pool towels and hair dryer and bathroom amenities.) Everything was very clean and we opted to have only 1 mid stay service which was enough for us, I don't feel the need to have clean towels and my bed made every day whilst away.
We had a table and chairs on the balcony too overlooking the pool which was lovely.
I am glad we had the 1 bedroom apartment as we spent quite a bit of time there and the studio room may have been a bit cramped (if you had good weather though and weren't in the room much this wouldn't be an issue...)
The location was great - walking distance into the main street and to the beach and marina. Didn't use the spa facilities. Pools looked lovely but only swam once due to the poor weather. I think they were plenty big enough.
We liked the no kids policy as it made for a lovely quiet stay with no kids running around.
The staff were lovely, always accommodating and helpful - no problems there. They booked tours for us and gave advice re restaurants and weather forecast!
My only complaint would be that the pillows were not very good, would have slept much better with my own pillow!
I would absolutely stay here again, I don't think you could beat it for the price and location!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodiScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We checked into Shantara yesterday and splurged on the Shantara Apartment which has private pool access, an outdoor courtyward with a hot tub and a great self-catering kitchen. We are in heaven right now. Walkable to the great shops and restaurants in Port Douglas and a great place to spend an evening cooking in - which we plan to do tonight. The staff is lovely - so helpful and nice. We don't want to leave and are considering extending our stay! We've stayed in some really nice places on this trip and previously - this definitely tops it!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckpandkcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Lovely hotel, nice room which was very clean all be it a little small. Kitchenette could have done with a hob but was otherwise well equiped.
We booked a pool deck room as a treat but were dissappointed with the size of the deck. You could not get more than one person on it and we had to share it with another room - very bad design. Alot of trees and plants made it look very pretty and tropical but a few less would give much needed space to the guests. Also as someone else says there is little or no sun during the day as the buildings cause alot of shade.
Most of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hattersley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#6 of 42 in Port Douglas
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,655 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 57 in Port Douglas
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantara Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $114 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools - heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. All rooms and external area are Non-Smoking. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shantara Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing