We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel in a great resort town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

When we got off at Cairns airport and were transported about an hour through no-where-land we were shocked to arrive at a great property in one of the nicest resort areas we have ever been to. The rooms was clean, attractive ,comfortable. The pool area was very nice and well landscaped . The staff was super helpful!
Port Douglas downtown is a jewel. gorgeous landscaping and super restaurants . Be sure to attend the Sunday morning market if you can for bargains and local color.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but try for one near washer and dryer Be sure to ask about the shuttle to town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillzoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

I had a wonderful massage from Jane at Shantara Day Spa, I found I relaxed which was good as I was feeling a bit stressed. I would highly recommend Jane as she know how to get the muscles to relax and no pain was involved.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank PaulaMH286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

What a wonderful resort the Shantara is! I am always worried when I book a hotel it is never what they describe or the pictures show but the Shantara was everything and more. Knowing it was our first wedding anniversary, they left two chilled glasses and a bottle of sparkling for us, complementary and for me these are the things you remember (going that extra mile). The hotel is kept to a very high standard of cleanliness, all amenities and common areas. We rented one of the Shantara apartments (only 4 on site) and the Jacuzzi was spacious and well cleaned and maintained. Location was fantastic, we didn’t use the car at all, and we walked everywhere, maybe 10 mins. One night we ordered take away and had it delivered and had no issues. A great couples only apartment, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: book one of the shantara apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaraMEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The location is very convenient to the beach and local shopping/restaurant area. The room was comfortable, well maintained and the property in general is in good condition.
Security parking is included in the rate and up to 400mb of wi-fi. Unfortunately I did not know I needed a password to log in to wi-fi and had to wait until the reception opened the next day to ask for one. I wish it had of been given to me when I checked in as the reception closes at 5:30. I also could not see on the log in screen how to tell how much data I was using and the receptionist I asked for the password could have been a little friendlier.
The room did have a kettle, toaster, microwave and refrigerator so it was handy to be able to make some tea and toast for breakfast but certainly not a dinner. My room had a small balcony with a table and chairs on it which overlooked the pool which was nice to sit out on and have breakfast. It was lovely to be in a child free zone as during the holidays too many hotels have screaming children in the pool areas. The room was very quiet and peaceful. Brochures in the lobby and a 'must see and do' notice board in the lobby help you make the most of your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cultdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here for one week for our anniversary and had an amazing time.
The location is great 5min walk to the beach and a short walk to restaurants and shop's.
The service was great the people where polite.
The apartment was a decent size and cause we had a ground floor we had direct access to the pool.
The decking was shared with one other couple but it never interferred with our stay so was the dryer and and washing machine but again had no problem with using it.
The best thing about this resort is no children... awesome as...
Overall nothing to complain about it was a great stay highly enjoyed our stay and would recommend for couples who want a quite getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank em_1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at the Shantara Resort for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The rooms are very clean have all of the normal facilities associated with this type of resort minus the kids and minus the noise. If your stay is to relax then this is your place. Even though it does not have a restaurant this is not a problem as there are many quality restaurants within walking distance. The property boasts two pools both of which are well maintained and spotless and the fact that it is an adults only property makes the relaxing so much more peaceful. All of the staff and managers were extremely friendly in every aspect which added to the stay as did the relaxing massage/day spa which can be found right next to reception. We will certainly be back to stay at the Shantara.

Room Tip: Take a look at the pool deck rooms. We had a look at them as we were leaving and they are certainly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asiantravelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Definitely go for a pool deck room - so you can get right into the pool from your room.
Gym was adequate. No restaurant on site.
Book your massage a day ahead by writing your name in the appointment book near receptions. Jane was awesome!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaydenMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,051 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,698 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantara Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $118 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools - heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. All rooms and external area are Non-Smoking. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shantara Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing