We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHILD FREE & Beautifully maintained & quiet resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My friend & I stayed here for a few days in January for a girls trip that was kid free & quiet & that Is exactly what we got.
Stayed in 5a which is the priciest type of room including spa bath & jacuzzi on the pool level with personal (not so much private) direct access to the pool from our deck which is great at 6am . We were lucky to have the sunshine in the afternoon & into the evening which most others did not.
The pool is small but intimate & wonderfully lit at night. Staff are remarkably helpful & professional, never pushing trips or tours on us but ever ready with information if asked, multiple brochures are available in the foyer as is standard for all resorts here.
We had one of the largest one bedroom apartments & apart from a couple of tell tail signs that the place was not brand new, it was absolutely IMMACULATE - well done housekeeping & thank you. In fact the whole of Shantara is spotless.
Great kitchenette, large fridge, super quiet dishwasher, compact hobs & oven/ microwave.
BBQ area is large & well maintained.
Aircon & fan in bedroom & lounge with ceiling fans are a godsend, cable TV, DVD & stereo, washers & dryers shared with one other apartment are quiet & super fast. Security access is reassuring with inroom safe large enough for iPad/ tablet.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again as the private & unobtrusive ambiance is exactly what we needed for a few days away from a busy city life.
Down side & there are a couple, sorry Shantara .......
Wifi access was difficult & I had to sit in a corner of my balcony in order to access it - although it was free for my needs - this is northern QLD though & connection is always slower& fickle at resorts unless you have a wall connection. There is however a PC in the foyer & staff will help with flights & printing of tickets for free.
The jacuzzi is very very private but the chlorine was too overpowering for me with no lighting to that area so only utilised it once without much success. Jacuzzis do have to be heavily chlorinated but was just a bit much for me.
Despite the great BBQ area we had no steak knives in room & minimal actual BBQ utensils in the public area.
Not many delivery menu options in the info pack & as we stayed during the first storms of the year we were lucky to know of some other options (beach shack pizza # 0740991100) are fabulous & not expensive - you can find them on trip advisor.
Walk into town is 15 minutes max but it would of been nice to have a small selection of wines etc available at reception - but that's a want not a requirement.
All in all we loved Shantara, every other guest respected the peace & quiet that this resort projects & so we met some lovely people from all over the world who were there for the same as us - peace, quiet, lovely surroundings, a little bit of socialising & a lot of doing nothing.
I highly recommend the resort, housekeeping, staff & surroundings for those just looking to get away from it all.
Thank you everyone at Shantara for a lovely trip....... I still think a slushie machine in the foyer filled with vodka could be a great investment ;)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank vmo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear VM

Thank you for sharing your review during your recent stay and it was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Shantara.

We do experience some difficulty at times with the WiFi in particular when we have storms and we are currently searching for other options to suit the building and rooms, we anticipate to have a new system in place in the near future.

We have replaced all the steak knives and utensils at the BBQ area this week, unfortunately they do go missing. A great idea for a slushie machine !

All the Shantara Team thank you for your kind words of acknowledgment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Shantara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

Shantara is walking distance from all the restaurants, bar and beach. The rooms were very clean, well maintain and equipped with everything you need.

Kay at reception was very helpful and we got in touch before our stay to arrange all our tours and transfers, she had these ready when we arrived and it all went to plan.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandeepRaithatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed at Shantara with my husband and 2 adult daughters. We had booked 2 apartments with direct access to the swimming pool which was a great luxury. The resort is very well kept, very clean, the apartments contain all amenities needed and the furniture is very modern and comfortable. The location is great within a few minutes walking distant from Marcossan Street. The Spa is also highly recommendable. We were all very pleased with our stay and will definitely recommend Shantara.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My wife and I traveled around Australia for 20 days in December 2013. Port Douglas was the first stop of this amazing trip, exploring this country.

We chose Shantara for a number or reasons: the location, the fact that it was for adults only, the positive reviews from both TripAdvisor and a friend of mine who stayed there for her honeymoon. In addition, we took advantage of a free night deal when booking for 4 nights, which made this accommodation even more appealing.

We needed a few days of pure relax and quiet to unwind from work and to recover after the long flight, and Shantara provided the perfect environment for that.
The resort is lovely, very quiet and intimate. The room (a studio room with pool deck) was clean and spacious and the fact that it features a kitchenette made it feel homey.

The location is also very perfect: the resort is only a mere five minute walk to the 4-mile beach, and to the lovely Port Douglas city center, where you can find cute cafes and delicious restaurants.

Last but not least, the service was outstanding, going above and beyond their duty. In fact, the day we left, once we got to the airport in Cairns, we realized that we forgot as backpack in the room. We called the front desk and they took care of it shipping it to a friend of mine in Sydney, where we were spending the last days of our trip.
For this reason, I want to publicly thank Jess for her help on this.

Room Tip: - You have 2 pool towels available for your stay. If you want to replace them, you need to pay $5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife & I stayed here for 2 weeks over Christmas & New Years for our honeymoon, I've read a couple people complain about the cleaning of the rooms, towel use & Wifi limits of 400mb BOO HOO you're on holidays at a KID FREE RESORT!!! What else do you want?? We stayed for 2 weeks Arriving on a Sunday in a studio pool view room 14B & twice had our room cleaned on the following Friday & then the following Wednesday at no extra charge, meaning towels, linen, tea coffees etc were replaced, So that was more than adequate & they leave a note under your door the day before to remind you that they will be doing this & asking what time is suitable for you, as for only getting 2 pool towels you're in the tropics they're dry within 5 minutes of using them if you leave them out on the balcony with clotheshorse provided, also a decent size bar fridge, mircowave oven, toaster, kettle, LED TV with 7 Foxtel Channels & all free to air channels, only downside I could think of was the water pressure from the shower, but hey you can understand at a multiroom resort, it's never going to be like your pressure at home, It's a fantastic location 5 minutes walk from Town Centre & the beach, friendly helpful staff, We booked all our tours at the front desk & on the majority of the tours the cost was added to our accomodation bill that you pay when you leave, 2 heated pools, BBQ area, Secure underground parking, I must say be careful when leaving or entering the driveway as there's a bike track for cyclists & with the majority of them being tourists some of them don't have traffic awareness & don't stop at the driveway at all, so just keep that in mind as a precaution, also the Day Spa this is a must Jane is an excellent therapist & is a great way to end your stay with a massage from an expert. We will definately stay here again, Love that it's KID FREE!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StevieG420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My partner and I stayed 6 nights at Shantara in January. We stayed in a pool deck room, 3B. Overall, the cleanliness of the property and our room was great. The bathroom was well maintained as were the facilities in our room. The location of the hotel was also great, being only a short walk to the Main Street, shops and restaurants. Shantara also provide underground secure parking which was great for us with a rental car. There were, however, several things we weren't too happy with. Firstly, our pool deck had to be shared with another suit, and was very small, meaning we had to take turns or miss out on sitting out by the pool should the other couple beat us to it. I don't see the point of paying extra money for a pool deck if you're not able to make use of it. Secondly, there was no free wifi, as is usually the case at other five star resorts. Thirdly, we mistakenly believed the room would be serviced on a daily basis, however this is an extra charge of $50 per day. For this price we could have stayed across the road at Peppers and had our room serviced daily and enjoyed a private pool deck. We decided not to pay this charge and clean our room ourselves, however they don't provide a vacuum etc. to aid with this. It is classed as a self-catering apartment, however, our room was far too small to live up to this title. We had a small kitchenette with only a microwave, sink and fridge, thus making cooking quite difficult. Finally, they provide you with two pool towels, but if you require more, will charge you $5 a towel! I've never heard of a five star resort doing this.
Overall, it felt like this resort was trying to squeeze as much extra money as possible out of us which was disappointing. Be careful about what type of room you book and don't end up with one similar to ours! I believe there is far better value for money elsewhere.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank jahanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Jahanner,

Thank you for having stayed and recognizing the housekeeping and maintenance of the property and that overall you found everything to be great.

In regards to the 3 items you have pointed out, I will clarify this for all TripAdvisor Readers.

We don’t hide the fact that the pool deck for the studio (or 1 bedroom pool deck) that you booked is shared we detail this on our web site (each pool deck has 2 sun lounges to use) , which I assume you viewed the Shantara web site before making your booking and read the description ! The size of the room is also explained on 3rd party web sites and on the Shantara web site.

We do offer our Guests FREE wifi and it did state this on the 3rd party web site that you booked on, please ask for WIFI if we have mistakenly missed to let you know we can give you a password.

Again the 3rd party web site that you chose to book with and the Shantara web site offers 2 rates with daily service or without daily service. On check in if you have booked without daily service you are given the option to have this service at $25per day on any day that you choose and either once in your stay or every day of your stay, this option was explained .

If you are looking for something larger I would recommend the Apartments that have the large living area plus the full kitchen.

We cater for all budgets and offer our Guests the best service and value for money.

The differentiation of Shantara is that the property is an Adults only holiday apartment accommodation and our Guests know that when they are at Shantara they will have a relaxing and tranquil holiday with a pleasantly presented room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Shantara is a gorgeous boutique resort located 5 mins walk from everything in Port Douglas. The ambience is gorgeous (child free) and chilled out, the staff were so accomodating and friendly, and the apartment was immaculate. Pool and BBQ area were also fantastic. Couldnt rate more highly, great place for a couple to go and stay. We travel a lot and walking into Shantara was like breathing out, and time to relax.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lhopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,064 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#7 of 42 in Port Douglas
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
773 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#10 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,728 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantara Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $120 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shantara Resort Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools - heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. All rooms and external area are Non-Smoking. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Shantara Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing