We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
Nearby Hotels
The Port Douglas Outrigger(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$172
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thala Beach Nature Reserve(Oak Beach)(Great Value!)
$263
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise Links Resort(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$108
$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$210
$182
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Peninsula Boutique Hotel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$293
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peppers Beach Club(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$236
$215
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Martinique on Macrossan(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Resort Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$128
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,030 results
Traveler rating
736
220
42
23
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
736
220
42
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool deck roomthe main streetstudio roomno children policysmall gymbbq areaour honeymoondaily servicepool accesstop floorstayed for nightsafter hourspeace and quietmacrossan stclose to townthe great barrier reefrelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
561 - 566 of 1,030 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for a short break last week and we couldn't fault the Shantara team on anything! We were amazed with how beautiful the place was, and kept so nice and clean. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and offered there assistance on any bookings or help we required. My partner also had a massage from Jane in the day spa who he mentioned was very friendly & professional. Only a couple of minutes walk to the beach, main street and marina. Pool was great as well! Will be going back

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloe_Shipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We made a last minute decision to pop up to Port Douglas to see some family members and had been keen to check out Shantara for awhile. We arrived at 7pm unfortunately after the gates were locked for the night. There was a plaque on the wall with an intercom instructing you to call for assistance which we did with no answer. I then hopped online to find out that their website advises that someone is on call at all times and to call their phone number, which I did. Again no answer but an automated system said for immediate assistance to press 1 which I did and again no answer although was able to leave a voicemail. At this point we were starting to panic about where we would stay! I happened to see another guest inside the gates walking past reception and called out to him to see if he could let us in. He discovered an envelope on the desk with our names on it and our room keys inside. I have no idea how we would have gotten this if he hadnt walked past given no one was answering the intercom or phone!! We never even had our voicemail returned that night to see if we had got in okay. When I mentioned it the next day the woman on the desk didnt appear to actually care.

Apart from that its a lovely hotel with two pools and free parking. We were surprised that there was no room servicing for our 3 day stay however.

Great location, nicely appointed rooms, plenty of hot water, towels etc. Just not so great on communication!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rara1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for your review and recommending Shantara.

I do apologies for your initial experience on arriving at Shantara. We have many Guests that check in after Reception closes without any trouble.

As much as we try very hard to reach each Guest before they arrive it is difficult at times to make contact with a Guest that has either booked through a third party, being an on line Agent or Travel consultant. We obviously knew that you were arriving and had prepared a Welcome Letter for you, however had we been informed of your contact number/email address we would of advised you with a gate code to access into Reception after hours.

I can totally understand that this would have been a concern to you at the time. The following morning the Shantara Staff did apologies to you and also went on to explain that she had another Guest arrive 10 minutes after yourself which these Guests had been able to talk to the Night Manger and access was given without any problems.

Again I do sincerely apologies that you were not assisted on the night of your arrival, I can’t make up any excuses as to why your call was not answered or what went wrong !

As Shantara is not a 24 hour Hotel, we do recommend to anyone coming to stay at Shantara and arriving after hours to please email or call us for the gate access code. Our contact details are on the Shantara website located on the top of this page under the heading name.
Than you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great place to stay. Clean and welcoming, great location (only 5 minutes to the main street with restaurants our favorites Zinc, Salsa and Nautilus all had amazing food and service and a few minutes to the beach) No children allowed which makes it so relaxing and no screaming around the pool. Staff are all brilliant and recommended the best tours, so thank you all for a wonderful stay and we hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tira_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed earlier in August and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The whole site is maintained very well and our room was spacious and very well decorated. The wifi was good value and the pools provided good relaxation. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment on the second floor and loved every minute. It was great to be so well located and the kitchen was very well equipped. Finally, this is a quiet location providing chilling out opportunities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The Shantara staff were accommodating before and during our stay. The rates were flexible and great value for such a nice hotel. The room, while not enormous, was really nice: modern, well cooled, very clean and generally isolated from street noise. Great access on foot to everything in town without being in the midst of the bustle. We would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteSavvides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews