We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Upper Caboolture, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartments”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Shantra Resort. The apartments are well equipped and very clean. Staff were also very helpful and friendly. Only negative would be there was no restaurant or bar. But otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    200
    37
    22
    8
See reviews for
36
756
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Modern clean and well equiped self-catering apartment. Staff very friendly. We chose a 1 bedroom apartment and enjoyed the space. The pool areas are gorgeous. Location was perfect as very close to the beach, marina and main road. We visited at low season and there was plenty of room around the pool however during high season I would recommend booking a pool deck room

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as a base to visit the GB Reef and the Rainforest, and we were not disappointed. We had a one bedroom with a pool view on the second floor. I loved that this property was adults only. It made it a very peaceful place to stay. The staff were very accomodating and the location was excellent. I definitely recommend staying here if you want peace and quiet.

Room Tip: choose a pool view on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

From the moment we approached the receptiopn desk I knew I had booked a great place. Friendly, super friendly I should say.. and helpful from checking us in to booking tours and suggesting places to see, eat and visit around town. Ten out of ten for service!
The resort is clean and friendly with great pools, yes pools. There is a fully equipped BBQ, with uttensils, sauces, butter etc. ready to use. Bug Spray, suntan lotion and cleaning aids are also provided.
The room, common area, pools, BBQ, gardens were all super clean, and I am picky.
The resort is within walking distance to town which is super handy for breakfast, dinner and shopping.
There are a few small add on charges, like room cleaning and washing powder but none of these are forced upon you so book at your leasure.
The bed was a little hard but with my back beds are a hit and miss.
Overall, book with confidence as I dont see where you could go wrong.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eastwood11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at Shantara for 8 nights in late Jan13, on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool. A few points to note:

The Good.
Very close to the main street of town (5 minute walk) and friendly staff. BBQ area was excellent. Aircon was pretty good, which was needed as it was very hot and humid outside (35+ degrees and humid).

The Not so Good.
Room was only cleaned once during our stay, which is fine, but it was not a great job, especially as it seemed nothing was done in the bathroom (and the cleaner purloined out beach towels, so we had to get replacements); 2 x Pools are ok only (a little small), but were not over chlorinated (note that the pool over the road at Peppers looked amazing). TV was not working in the gym & treadmill was not working for part of the time (they have 1 treadmill, 1 cross trainer, 2 bikes and some weights). Spa & Wellness centre was not available at all (in between operators). Our DVD was not working initially, but it was replaced (and it was a multi-zone, which was good). We also lost a couple of Foxtel channels later in our stay (FoxSports 3 and SkyNews, which was a bit frustrating).

We also made the error that this was also not a self catering room (which they have as well), but the fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle all worked well. The room was 'cosy', but adequate.

Overall loved Port Douglas, but Jan is too hot to go there again (and is normally at the start of the wet season, but it was largely fine when we were there).

Overall would recommend, but was by no means a 'perfect' venue. However provided pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToneLoc1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for having stayed and I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

For the inconsequential comments made on the gym, the treadmill is now repaired as we had to wait for a part to come out of Sydney, for the TV not working unfortunately the TV antenna is not traceable for the channels to work but a DVD/CD can be inserted if necessary to watch or listen to the TV. The Gym never has more than one or two people at a time, some people may be accustomed to to the big city gyms !. the Austar not working would have been due to heavy winds or rain, generally the Austar works always.

The 2 pools at Shantara are quiet as we have no children at the property making a Guests swim pleasurable.

The Day Spa is not Managed or operated by the Shantara Management and unfortunately the Owner of the day spa is finding it difficult to lease out. However other options are available upon request.

We would recommend to visit the Shantara web site for information on what the property offers and our services, this will ensure that a person is booking exactly what they require.

Port Douglas is a destination to explore the natural environment and beauty of the area. The Shantara Team do try to ensure that a Guests experience is comfortable and requests are met upon reason, not sure if there is any place that is “perfect” but as you say Shantara is “good value for money”. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013. Overall we had a lovely experience. The rooms are well-appointed, but not the most spacious. The resort overall is quiet and secluded. The staff is very helpful - when our day-long tour to Daintree was canceled due to inclement weather, the front desk was able to get us on a half-day trip with another tour company at the last minute, which was very appreciated! The location is perfect - just a short walk to Macrossan Street where all the restaurants and shopping are, which is great if you don't have a car. The only cons: the front desk hours are quite limited - 8 am to 5 or 6 pm, and you have to pay for wi-fi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gluckita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We picked this resort from other reviews and the fact it was an adults only resort. We were not disappointed, right from the immaculate apartment to the friendly and very helpful staff. We chose an apartment with a pool side entrance, two sliding doors one from bedroom and other from lounge, opening out onto outside living area, then pool. The apartment was large with plenty of room.

Only a few minutes walk to beach and town centre making it a perfect location without the need of transport. This resort is perfect if your looking for a quiet relaxing holiday.

Thanks Jess for being so helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantara Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Property: Shantara Resort Port Douglas
Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools - heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. All rooms and external area are Non-Smoking. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shantara Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing