We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Shantara resort is a wonderful place to stay- conveniently located, beautiful apartment and great amenities at the resort. We stayed for seven days over New Year and would thoroughly recommend Shantara Resort as THE place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Dyers265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 988 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

The first time we had been to Port Douglas and absolutely could not have chosen a better apartment!

brand new, modern, spacious, 2 separate outside living spaces, a deck with swim up pool and a private jacuzzi. We loved it!!

Very secluded spot and we were not disturbed at all. 7 days just wasn't enough and we didn't want to leave. such a great location, within minutes to everything. Out of all of the hundreds of other apartments in PD, we will definitely be going back to Shantara :)

Room Tip: ground floor apartments all have swim up balconies. We chose the corner "Shantara apartment&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights over New Years and the rooms were excellent - very clean and well kept. We didn't opt for housekeeping every day which wasn't really needed anyway, however they do give you a free mid-stay clean.

The ONLY thing I wasn't impressed with was the reception hours - they are only there from around 9am in the morning and left between 5 or 6pm (depending on the day) which was very annoying when I needed assistance with the Austar channels after those hours.

When you are out all day, it does make it hard to organise things when there is no one on reception - and for the price of the rooms, you would think there would be someone to assist at all hours of the day.

Other than that, I really enjoyed my stay there and we had an awesome time in Port Douglas in general.

Room Tip: Higher floors give you more privacy - we preferred this because we didn't want people to be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celiaharmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for your review and great to see that you enjoyed your time at Shantara. We appreciate your comments.

Upon check- in we give details to our Guests about the Reception times, as this is important for our Guests to know how to reach the Shantara Team after hours. The compendium in the rooms explain this also and the key card wallet that we had out has instructions on how to reach the Shantara Team.

We are contactable 24/7 as this is part of our onsite Management requirements.

Thanks again for having stayed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Shantara Resort & Spa for our short stay in Port Douglas. For couples looking for quiet, relaxing place to stay, within walking distance of restaurants, shopping and the marina, this is the place for you. The resort is exceptionally clean, the staff were very friendly, particularly their recommendations on the day tours was invaluable. We stayed in a studio apartment with direct pool access and I have to say, being able to just slip into the pool directly from our private deck for quiet swim after a long day out on a day tour was wonderful. We are hoping to visit Port Douglas again in the future and will definitely be staying at Shantara again. We highly recommend it. Kim & Mick

Room Tip: For short stays, the studio apartments with direct pool access are wonderful. For longer stays, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

When we are not overseas on holiday, then Port Douglas is our holiday destination favourite in Australia! We have stayed in Port Douglas multiple times over the years at various resorts, but Shantara is by far our best experience!
The location is superb, 5 minute walk to four mile beach and 5 minute walk to world class restaurants and cafes. No need for a car if you stay here, we caught the shuttle bus from Cairns airport ( Krystal Transport - very easy,convenient and cheap).
Shantara Resort is clean, luxurious, has friendly managers and our one bedroom apartment had everything we needed for a 7 night stay. Sometimes we ate in ( great BBQ facilities as well as fully equipped kitchen) and most nights we wandered into town to eat at the gorgeous alfresco dining experiences available, with Salsa still our favourite.
The beauty of staying here for us was also the peace and quite of dipping in the beautiful pool and floating around on a 'noodle' or sitting on a banana lounge with no kids screaming! This is an adult only resort, which is very appealing for us. We highly recommend this resort and we have already booked our next trip to Shantara for later on 2013!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Porters051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Late review, we stayed here in November 2011. Our best holiday ever without a doubt, and Shantara play big part of it. Stayed on ground level in room with access to pools, which was best decision. Loved the BBQ. Perfect location. Beautiful resort. Bliss having no kids too. No complaints at all with anything. If we ever go back to Port Douglas won't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToniandCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

we stayed for 6 nights for my honeymoon. It's very comfortable and well-equipped apartment like others comments.

But this is not a hotel like 24 hours front-desk, usually they only open the front office from 8 or 9 am to 5 or 6pm. In Port Douglas, most tours will be operated from 8 am to 4 pm, so you may not encounter the staffs if you book tours all the time during your stay. If you want to clean your room by hotel, you should pay additional costs around $25 per day.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant in this apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moredream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
989 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,573 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantara Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $123 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools - heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. All rooms and external area are Non-Smoking. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shantara Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing