We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good option close to town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Good option close to town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Location is great - about 5 mins walk to the main central street. Complex is pleasant - very quiet, two pools. Small gym. No food options but they are self catered serviced apartments after all. Staff polite. WIFI at a cost.

Had a studio apartment - very clean, modern and functional but quite small so worth considering a 1 bed or larger.

In terms of Port Douglas itself - really liked it, lots going on in the centre, great restaraunts - Zinc being the stand apart one. Did a snorkelling tour with Wavelength which was awesome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    191
    35
    22
    7
See reviews for
35
722
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Shantara was the first hotel for me and my partner in north QLD. We love it. The location was good, within walking distance to the beach and restaurant, but really quiet for rest and sleep. The rooms were so so clean, we love it. Maybe management can consider cleaning of some of the air conditioning facility and fan, cuz people like me can sometimes have nasal allergy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OooPiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great location, great room, great amenities. Would definitely come back again. Two pools with bbq facilities and near new rooms, nice alfresco and convenient car parking. Close to both beach and town which makes everything cheaper and easier to walk to. Couldn't even hear the neighbours which is always a bonus !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xraybravo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Shantara in late November. The property was beautiful and really close to the beach and downtown area. Our room was pristinely clean and had a great patio and plenty of space. The front desk was really friendly and helped us with any questions we had. It was nice and quiet and felt private. They had BBQ's to use and two beautiful pools. The extra towels for the beach were awesome since we didn't want to take up the space in our suitcases. We didnt choose the service option, but we didnt have any problems with cleanliness or towels, we had everything we needed for the four nights we were there. We would stay there again without a doubt!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed 4 nights in beautiful Shantara Resort in Port Douglas.

The resort is very centrally located only a few minutes away from central Macrossan Street and does not allow children below 16, so it's very quiet and perfect for couples.

The one bedroom apartment is huge and great value if you stay 4 nights (one night is free). We had a pool view room on the second floor (vs. pool deck on the ground floor) and enjoyed it as it gave us more privacy even if we couldn't swim up to the room. The balcony is more private and our sense is that it is louder and less private on the pool deck rooms on the ground floor.

The front desk is very helpful in booking tours and making restaurant reservations for you. There is also laundry right outside every room (shared between 2 suites).

There is no reception after a certain hour but they make it very easy to check in after-hours. Very much an apartment (with kitchen, etc.) vs. a pure hotel but it was perfect for relaxing in Port Douglas. We would highly recommend this to any couple looking for a relaxing stay!

Room Tip: get a one bedroom suite, which is huge! pool view has better privacy than pool deck but can't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bssc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Shantara for 4 nights in November and we couldn't be happier :-)
We stayed in a pool access room 6b which suited us fine and was impeccably clean.
As we were on our last holiday before our firstborn arrived we really enjoyed the serenity of the shantara. We liked how peaceful and private it was too. Staff were lovely and when I locked my purse in their safe they were quick to sort it out. We didn't organise any tours though I believe they would be more than happy to help guests if needed.
Pool is amazing, I read a few reviews from unhappy guests because one pool isn't heated, but really?! It doesn't need to be! I'm from Melbourne and really feel the cold but I loved it :-)
Also made use of the gym and it has everything u could need, even a swissball so I got to continue my preggi-Pilates moves while away!
Location is perfect only 5 min walk into town or four mile beach.
Overall 10/10 I would definitely stay here again.... Though will have to find a babysitter hahaha enjoy!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drysy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were in a studio room for one week. It was unserviced which was fine for us. It was clean, modern, overlooking the pool. We had place to eat inside or on a balcony. There is a washing machine and dryer to share between every two rooms which was great. They give you extra towels for the beach too which was perfect.
Our favorite elements - location. It was probably less than a 5 minute walk to the beach and 5 minutes to the main center of town (where the restaurants are). The staff at Shantara booked outings for us and our second favorite thing is how helpful the staff were at helping us figure out what to do in the area and help with selection of outings.
No complaints.
Internet costs money - $5 for an hour which expires in 24 hours.
The Wildlife Habitat in Port Douglas is a must. We did snorkeling with Calypso and Wavelength - both were good. The aboriginal tour in the Mosman Gorge was also really great.
We stayed in Shantara in October 2012.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Seefdeacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#7 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantara Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Property: Shantara Resort Port Douglas
Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools - heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. All rooms and external area are Non-Smoking. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Shantara Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing