We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of QT Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
QT Port Douglas
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed at QT recently on a trip organized by my work. The hotel was lovely and really enjoyed my stay. I found the staff to be organized and helpful. I locked myself out of my room at one stage and the young chaps on the desk were very helpful and funny. When arriving the room was cooled and ready to go which was a nice touch considering it was really hot and humid outside! The room itself was incredible spacious and very clean and organized. Bed was comfortable and towels were lovely. Pool area was well kept and large. I felt it had more of a holiday apartment feel than a 5 star hotel feel but overall really enjoyed my stay. Only thing that was a slightly annoyance was there was no plug in my room for the bath - not an issue just the bath looked great and I wanted to give it a go! Would have no hesitation in staying again and would happily recommend. I didn't get a chance to try breakfast but my colleagues said it was brilliant and I found the gym to be great too. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hey Keira R,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our resort. Delighted that you loved your stay and we hope to take care of you again soonest!

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    397
    207
    97
    44
See reviews for
302
573
43
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for only one night after coming off a snorkeling tour. The room.was lovely, comfortable and beautifully decorated. Or highlight was eating at Bazaar. It was a Monday so therefore quiet. The staff were so attentive. As were the chefs.

At checkout, there was only one girl on who also had to put through retail transactions, at 9:45 in the morning there should be more people on to attend to checkout.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katiec8805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Katiec8805,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our resort. Delighted that you loved your stay and we hope to take care of you again soonest!

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperance
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at QT a couple of weeks ago for a conference - but I wish I had been on holidays!! I was so envious of those people lounging around the pool, wandering back from the beach, or relaxing at the Spa. QT was a top conference venue - everything we needed. The food we had each day was amazing. Great breakfast spread and the best omelete I've ever had! Our lunches were perfect and we had some of the best salads ever! - Our conference dinner on the Friday night was perfect - I stayed with the 'make your own' caesar salad with prawns and oysters....heaven! Staff were great, friendly and happy to help. Highly recommended for a conference......or a holiday!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeEsperance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hey LeeEsperance,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our resort. Delighted that you loved your stay and we hope to take care of you again soonest (and this time when it's all play and no work!).

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Given the marketing and branding we were expecting QT to be a resort for adults and couples. Its not. It has been taken over by families with young kids who constantly yell and scream around the pool. It would also appear to be the place where locals go to hang out for the day with their kids on weekends - buying a couple of drinks and a pizza for the day.

On the flip side the restaurant dinner is amazing. The team of chefs work hard and well together but still have fun. Try the tasting plate. I may or may not have had three....

The gym and lap pool are great but once again the pool is taken over by school kids on week days.

In summary dont be fooled by the sell of the swim up bar and groovy adult website. Anyone but families with young kids will be annoyed by the creche like atmosphere.

Room Tip: Away from the pool and the screaming kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nowmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear past QT Port Douglas guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently and, for the most part, had a great time. However, there were a few caveats:
1. Despite being out for five-six hours on one day our room wasn't attended to and instead we had to grab fresh towels from the room service cart that night
2. Twice was our breakfast cut short or interrupted because of a lunch event which we had nothing to do with (but paid for later when the drunk attendees made a nuisince of themselves in the pool, amidst swimming families)
3. The pool was regularly filled with people who treated the place like it was Ibiza, making it impossible to relax in the water without someone standing on the bar, dancing like a loon and carrying on

Having said that, we have come to Port Douglas a number of times, and we must say the hotel is very good. The service in particular (at a front desk level at least) is great and the staff are quite knowledgable on the area and the activities on offer.

I must admit, the second two points may just be me being an old crank, but the first point regarding the room is not excusable. It was too late in the evening to call someone in to see to our room and instead we just had to wait another night. Fine if you were staying at a lesser hotel, but you expect better from the QT.

All in all, I'd recommend it, but perhaps only if you're under 25 or tolerant of the young at heart.

Room Tip: Get a garden room, pool is too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gr8_white_pool_snob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here in July with our 3 children.
pros
The location was good and the staff were extremely friendly.
good buffet
Cons
sadly though the hotel is let down by the poor cleanliness of the rooms.
Lack of food choices - especially for the kid - after 4 days we were all bored of the food
The pool was FREEZING
You have to pay for a shuttle into the town

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngmumof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear past QT Port Douglas guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We complained about the water on the floor the next day.
Would never stay here again due to the cleaniness of the room.
Was disgusted would have a shower then by the time I got into bed my feet were black.
Spoke with the Manager on leaving the Resort and he pulled us aside on an outside table where we told him all the problems we had had, he showed little care at all.
Was suppose to communicate to us after he had gathered all his facts and we have heard nothing.
On leaving the Resort we managed to bump into the Maintainance Man we told him of our problems and he said that that room was not to be used until the problem of the leaking shower was sorted but obviously no one cared as that was the room they gave us.
There was also a bug on the floor on the 10 August and it was still there on the 12 August.
Shows you how much vacuum cleaning there was done in the unit!!!!!!!!
This was suppose to be a memorable 65th Birthday celebration.

Room Tip: Dont go into Room Number 5002 should be condemed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimking8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hey KimKing8,

From what I can see it boils down to a bug being on the floor and water on the floor of the bathroom. Many apologies for these inconveniences and it's so unfortunate that these details marred your stay.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.5 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
812 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
487 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
686 reviews
1.6 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Port Douglas

Property: QT Port Douglas
Address: 87-109 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rydges)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#22 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The next instalment in the QT Resorts series, QT Port Douglas, will be ready to bed on May the 12th, 2012.QT Resorts were launched by QT Port Douglas' gorgeous sister resort, QT Gold Coast, and this second coastal paradise will also include signature concepts such as the Bazaar Marketplace dining option that has quickly become the number one rated culinary experience on the Gold Coast. All guest rooms have been given a facelift with new QT beds, 42" flat screen TVs, and hand-sourced stylish fabrics and finishes. You will see in this resort the thread of designer decor that lifts QT Resorts to a new level of sophistication. The addition of 100 sun loungers by the pool can also be seen, forming the perfect vantage point from which to sip the day away. QT Port Douglas has a new open bar area, Estilo, which will be the place where you whet your lips before you dine in Bazaar, and to keep you swimwear ready, we also have begun an update on our gym and leisure offerings. From June until September, you can take in the balmy nights in front of a custom cinematic experience, Moonlight Cinema, designed especially for our guests. This sun kissed resort is a must for a lover of designer hotels and resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your QT Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Sabaya Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing