We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of QT Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
QT Port Douglas
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I really don't like resort hotels as they either try to be too cool or treat guests like idiots with dreadful buffets and poor service. The QT has totally redefined my view of what a resort hotel can deliver. The rooms were great, the service was faultless and charming, the pools fantastic and the food delicious. This is what a holiday hotel should be about and the QT delivers on everything.

I visited with son in June while following the Lions' tour and we had five days in Port Douglas to get some sun. The hotel is located a little way out of the town, but you can take a lovely walk along the beach to reach it. The rooms are large and set out across a wide area so there is a feeling of space about the place with the bar and restaurant in the centre by the plunge pool (there is also an excellent lap pool over by the tennis courts that took me two days to find) . And while the web site seemed to show a buffet style restaurant, which is pretty much my nemesis, it turned out to be a clever combination of fresh cooked meats and fish with buffet for the rest which worked very well.

This is a great hotel and I would rate it as one of the best, if not the best, that I have ever stayed in. Just wish I was heading back to Australia soon so that I could stay there again.....

Room Tip: Take the walk to town via the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian_Tanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    368
    186
    90
    42
See reviews for
278
531
43
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Grove
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have just come back from five days at the QT with my extended family as my cousin got married in Port Douglas. It was super trendy (but at the same time my mum and dad did not feel uncomfortable as it was not too trendy!). Fit out of the rooms, bar and pool are bang on trend at the moment and the staff were very friendly and accommodating.
I did however run in a slight problem with the manager; my husband and myself had a two bedroom apartment with my brother and sister in law but they had to leave early due a family urgency. I asked the manager to change me to a single room (as I could not cover the $405 per night bill). He told me that they were fully booked out and couldn't help. I found this hard to believe as there are a LOT of rooms there.
Other than that the cocktails were yum, pool snacks delicious (especially the "Sliders") and breakfast great.
A bit out of town but if you had a full bank account you probably wouldn't want to leave. I hope to go back there one day.

Room Tip: pool side would be awesome - others I don't think that you could go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynleyOceanGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Port Douglas guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Visually this place is beautiful! We stayed in the 1 bedroom villa which had a separate bedroom to the living room/kitchen. Free wifi. Kitchen had a mini stove, microwave, fridge and all crockery. Restaurants had delicious food (especially the breakfast), great coffee and the pool area was beautifully laid out with cabana beds! Hotel is a 5 minute drive to the main strip of restaurants if you want to venture out to eat. The outdoor cinema was showing on the hotel grounds which was an excellent surprise. A couple of things that bugged us: having to sleep on a King Zip bed (2 king single beds zipped together to make a king bed) and they had the old room service menu in our room so every time we tried to order room service, we were told "we no longer have that item on our menu, you must have the old menu in your room. It's a bit hard to read out the new menu to you"... so we had to head over to the restaurant and order our room service. Very annoying.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom villas are great for longer stays as they have a kitchen with fridge, stove and microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very clean, lovely rooms with a tropical feel, overlooking rain forest gardens. staff very friendly and helpful, and one of the best breakfasts I have ever had, from smoothies, to home made banana bread with chocolate pudding, with lovely presentation

Room Tip: Can either look at rain forest, or the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dexter006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

My dream has always been to visit Australia and this summer I did! We went to Port Douglas and decided to stay at QT! When we arrived words cannot describe how gorgeous this place is and how hospitable the people are. Probably the nicest staff ever. We were treated like family! The lobby is absolutely gorgeous with a modern appeal! It's a very open airy hotel with a tropical cool feel! With a pretty sitting area in the lobby and a little store where you can buy knock knacks. As you walk on there is the bar Estilo and next to that is a little recreation area where you can play pools no table tennis! To the right is the hotel restaurant Bazaar where you can have breakfast and dinner! Past that is the picturesque pool area with a swim up bar and a cool lounge in the middle of the pool and surrounding the pool!
When we arrived we had the pleasure of meeting Tim who took our luggage to our room! He was very courteous and gave us a lot of information about the area! If anything he would be the ultimate hotel concierge! His hotel uniform was also awesome with red suspenders and a bow tie! Tim was super helpful and made our stay the best it could be! When we got to our room it was AMAZING!!! Two bedrooms and two bath with three gorgeous balconies with awesome views! The kitchen was well equipped with everything you could need and also had a spacious dining table with six chairs! The living room was in the same room with a huge couch, chair and TV! Each room also had a flat screen! In the master bathroom there was a washer and dryer which came in handy! The decor was gorgeous with a very chic feel! If you want you can purchase the furniture if you want from the hotel! Beside the room being absolutely amazing, I just can't stress how nice the staff was attending to our needs! Very friendly and would make time to talk to you if they saw you in the lobby! Staff members who were especially awesome were: Tim, Laura and Rhys! We had breakfast and dinner at QT and it was delicious the barbecue pizza was a hit and so was the steak! The breakfast buffet was also very delicious and there were soo many options to choose from! Our stay at QT could not have been any better! Everything went smoothly and better than I could have imagined!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RissaaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel pool is excellent, the bar is great and it certainly is a very cool hotel to be in. So if you have booked a holiday here you will probably have a great time, so don't worry!

However couple of very frustrating points.

Firstly the walls in the room are paper thin so of you have noisy neighbours as we did, it meant we couldn't sleep. We complained but its not a nice experience to have to complain about your neighbours on your holiday.

The second annoying thing is that frequently the staff are letting their mates use the pool. When you're paying 250 bucks for a hotel it's quite frustrating to see people strolling in, chatting to the staff and taking the seats with umbrellas. Some of the backpackers coming in didn't know the staff but a lot appeared too. We tried to do the same thing at the pulman for a change and we were asked if we were staying their straight away!

Add to that , that the backpacker mates appear to get free cocktails when you're paying 15 bucks, it's pretty frustrating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed at QT for a long weekend recently after seeing such great reviews. When I arrived I was not disappointed, check in was a delight- I was greeted with everybody smiling and a wonderful young lad on the desk who talked us through everything we would need to know about the resort and surrounds. The room was a fair size, standard decor which can seem a little medical but facing the pool which was a bonus for us. We ate breakfast at the bazaar restaurant, which was ok. The food was just ok so we only ate there on our first morning, the staff at breakfast also seem very over run with maybe little direction. Spent most days by the pool which was fantastic; huge pool with lots of loungers and a great swim up pool bar with amazing cocktails! Food took a very long time to arrive with us, and what was served was not worth the wait! It didn't seem to just be at the pool that food took forever, we ate at the the bar too, same food menu an same waits. We waited about 45 minutes for a pizza!!! The lovely staff however both at the pool bar and main bar were very apologetic and the manager lady offered us both a complimentary drink, which we were so happy with as it was such a nice place to relax and not move a muscle- there are gorgeous girls waiting the tables in cute tennis style outfits. The bar has djs playing at the weekend too!!! the food seemed to be the only downside there but the service off the staff definitely out weighed the problems. We ate at bazaar once, and once was enough. The food was great but we couldn't eat there more than one night as it was the same food again the next night. The staff were good, service dropped when it seemed they were packing up, so we were left with empty drinks so getting up to order drinks at the bar, rude chefs when asking for things cooked to order which is what the concept is about right? And someone stood on the desk seeming to not do much all night as the other staff ran around! For for the rest of the stay we ventured to town or spent the evening at the bar. Great to have two on site eateries but with 4 chefs out the front off the restaurant and huge waits on food for the bar! Overall we loved our stay and that would be down to all the smiling helpful staff, some in particular but couldn't remember their names!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzy_tebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Port Douglas

Property: QT Port Douglas
Address: 87-109 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rydges)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#22 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The next instalment in the QT Resorts series, QT Port Douglas, will be ready to bed on May the 12th, 2012.QT Resorts were launched by QT Port Douglas' gorgeous sister resort, QT Gold Coast, and this second coastal paradise will also include signature concepts such as the Bazaar Marketplace dining option that has quickly become the number one rated culinary experience on the Gold Coast. All guest rooms have been given a facelift with new QT beds, 42" flat screen TVs, and hand-sourced stylish fabrics and finishes. You will see in this resort the thread of designer decor that lifts QT Resorts to a new level of sophistication. The addition of 100 sun loungers by the pool can also be seen, forming the perfect vantage point from which to sip the day away. QT Port Douglas has a new open bar area, Estilo, which will be the place where you whet your lips before you dine in Bazaar, and to keep you swimwear ready, we also have begun an update on our gym and leisure offerings. From June until September, you can take in the balmy nights in front of a custom cinematic experience, Moonlight Cinema, designed especially for our guests. This sun kissed resort is a must for a lover of designer hotels and resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your QT Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Sabaya Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing