We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Promises little Follow through”
Review of QT Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
QT Port Douglas
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel about a year ago and loved it.
We are very disappointed this time.
The first time was great but it seems the quality of service and attention to detail has changed a lot.
We were promised a "dream bed", however this was not what we received (having slept in dream beds many time, we feel confident in saying this).
The buffet breakfast was not nearly to the standard we have come to expect from QT, which is very disappointing.
We had to call reception twice on the friday night and request that the music be turned down at the bar, as we had a 1 year old sleeping and it was waking her.
When checking out, the staff did not even enquire as to our stay. It didn't seem like it mattered to them.
It didn't seem worthwhile to complain at the time, as most staff there seemed not interested in talking to you anyhow.
Overall, very disappointing guys, and as we are Cairns locals this review should be taken very seriously.
We now travel to Port Douglas often and QT was definitely our place of choice prior to this stay. Not anymore.

Room Tip: If you get a room near the reception and you want a good nights sleep ask to change!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lyleandbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear past QT Port Douglas guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,268)
There are newer reviews for QT Port Douglas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,048 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Staff were amazing. Very friendly, welcoming resort. Room was spacious and clean. Lovely large shower. Good gym. Enjoyed being 3 km from the town centre. Would definitely stay here again.
Only negative was that it took 10 mins to walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debhelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

QT Resort is definitely a place I would stay again, the rooms were marvellous as were the facilities. The trendy and "younger" vibe that it gives off is commendable. The styling of the room is beautiful and the idea that you can buy items that can be found in the room is quirky. The only downfall is the exterior of the rooms, it gives off a "jail" type of vibe and there were countless spiderwebs and ant infestations spotted.

Overall, however, a very memorable and ideal resort in an ideal location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristianG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This resort blends funky and 5 star very well. As soon as you walk into the reception area, you know you are in for a different experience. Considering that we spent most days out of the resort, we enjoyed coming back and relaxing in the lounge booths outside the bar on dusk, then onto the superb dining experience in the restaurant and then back to either our room or a quiet drink at the bar. Other days were spent in the pool and playing tennis. As something different, they have the moonlight cinema which is simply fantastic. To top it off, on the night we needed to simply relax in our room, we were amazed at the quality of the room service food - sounds strange to make this part of the review, but certainly worth the mention. Great resort and we look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear gorgeous QT Port Douglas guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good points- quirky, great food reasonably priced with a priority card, good facilities such as the pool, tennis courts and gym, kids enjoyed the table tennis and pool table.
Rhys was very helpful with our messy check-in and the communication issues between reception and the cleaners.
The beds were extremely comfortable. The kids loved the outdoor cinema but you can visit the cinema if you're staying elsewhere. Also you have to hire your chairs on arrival at the cinema which we didn't expect. Plenty of clean towels.

Not so good- late check in despite early arrival, the staff are predominantly very young backpackers apart from management, so service was often slow when ordering drinks and food. Most of the bar staff struggled with the meal ordering system. the servicing of the rooms was inconsistent and at $468 per night I expected clean rooms.
The biggest issue for us was the room size, we booked a 2 bedroom villa, we got 2 hotel rooms, the cooking facilities were very basic, no toaster, no oven, no dishwasher, minimal cutlery, crockery and glasses. These rooms shouldn't be marketed as villas as cooking and washing up in a tiny kitchenette was impossible unless you made baked beans. No BBQ's on site. No one answered my email regarding check in prior to our arrival. The TV reception had to rebooted 3 times.

During our 14 days in Port Douglas and Palm Cove we stayed at Mantra Amphora, QT Port Douglas and 'Pool' Port Douglas with 4 adults and 2 children, I wouldn't hesitate to book Mantra or Pool again but QT was disappointing and way overpriced. There was more emphasis on the 'trendy' look of the hotel and not enough emphasis on efficiency, cleanliness and what people actually need in a catering villa which is not a pineapple corer, when there are only 5 forks in the draw.

QT is probably better suited to young couples and for a short stay of 2 to 3 nights.

Would we book again? Probably not.

Room Tip: Book a short stay think twice if you have children and need to prepare food.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear past QT Port Douglas guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

What brought me to this resort was a stay at the QT Gold Coast and I wasn't disappointed. From the time I checked in, the staff here were friendly, efficient and helpful. The main reception area is really open-planned with the restaurant, bar and some beautiful pools close by. I even thought the gym was pretty well equipped.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a very nice hotel near Port Douglas. It is a little way away from the town but there is a (pay for) shuttle bus. The rooms are very nice and large .The gardens, pool and spa are beautiful. Wifi is free. The restaurant is good as is the food though a little expensive. There is a bar and lounge, pool and spa. A good point from which to explore this beautiful country.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.5 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
837 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
499 reviews
1.6 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#12 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,554 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Port Douglas

Address: 87-109 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rydges)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#22 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $135 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The next instalment in the QT Resorts series, QT Port Douglas, will be ready to bed on May the 12th, 2012.QT Resorts were launched by QT Port Douglas' gorgeous sister resort, QT Gold Coast, and this second coastal paradise will also include signature concepts such as the Bazaar Marketplace dining option that has quickly become the number one rated culinary experience on the Gold Coast. All guest rooms have been given a facelift with new QT beds, 42" flat screen TVs, and hand-sourced stylish fabrics and finishes. You will see in this resort the thread of designer decor that lifts QT Resorts to a new level of sophistication. The addition of 100 sun loungers by the pool can also be seen, forming the perfect vantage point from which to sip the day away. QT Port Douglas has a new open bar area, Estilo, which will be the place where you whet your lips before you dine in Bazaar, and to keep you swimwear ready, we also have begun an update on our gym and leisure offerings. From June until September, you can take in the balmy nights in front of a custom cinematic experience, Moonlight Cinema, designed especially for our guests. This sun kissed resort is a must for a lover of designer hotels and resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your QT Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Sabaya Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing