We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a romantic weekend getaway!”
Review of QT Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
QT Port Douglas
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for a romantic weekend getaway!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice in the last few months, enjoying a local's special. Both times we stayed in a 1 bedroom villa, which was spacious and clean. Flat screen tv in lounge and bedroom with a good selection of pay tv channels which we enjoyed as we were there just to relax for a couple of days as Cairns locals.
The bed was AMAZING! I wished I could take it home! Beautifully fragranced bathroom products, I loved them. I only wish there was a bath.
The kitchen was well equipped although we didn't cook, but it's nice to know it's there.
The pool and grounds are beautiful, although the pool is not very deep anywhere.
They make delicious cocktails, I had a margarita both times we stayed.
The restaurant BAZAAR was interesting. We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast, well worth it, great selection of dishes.
We did eat at the restaurant one night, but we found it a bit confusing, no labels on any of the food. I would much prefer a la carte. Would not have dinner there again.
Did not like the staff uniform, way too casual, skirts extremely short. I think staff should be more professionally dressed.
Checkout of 11am is also good.
We absolutely loved the place and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi MissTGreen,

So awesome to have a shout out from local return guests!

Thanks for the wonderful notes on the resort. We are so delighted that you have loved both of your stays, and that our Bazaar experience and trusty cocktail menu (yum) lived up to your expectations.

We would love to take care of you again next time you get a chance to duck across for a cheeky weekender.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    380
    197
    93
    43
See reviews for
289
557
43
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our overnight stay to celebrate a Birthday was made extra special by the outstanding Team at QT. All of the staff were fabulous, it really does show that they enjoy working at the Resort.
The Resort decor and gardens are just gorgeous. The pool is wonderful...love the day beds! We didn't get a chance to dine in Bazaar for Dinner, but will certainly do so next time. Breakfast selection was 'tip top' as were the drinks at the Bar.
The Resort rooms are just lovely, very modern and comfortable...didn't want to leave! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi Sandra M,

Sounds like an absolutely perfect birthday celebration! Cocktails, sunshine, great food, and what I'm sure was wonderful company.

Thanks for the beautiful notes on the resort and our staff. We adore hearing these wonderful reviews and really appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you loved it.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have just returned from Port Douglas staying at QT for a week. What a great hotel, its very funky and new it has a great vibe. If you are going to stay in Port Douglas i definitely recommend this place. Beds in the room are amazing, so soft! You must do breakfast and dinner at Bazzar at least once its amazing!!! The food is fantastic!!! My only compliant would be the service in the restaurant, the girls are a bit young and dont have enough experience, several times during the night we returned to our seat with no cutlery on the table and water not filled up, they need to work on that. Besides from that i have to say the stay at QT was fantastic i would stay here again. I recommend it to anyone going to Port Douglas. Thanks for a great stay QT!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi Nadz14,

What a fab review! Sounds like you had an excellent stay, and that we might need to do a bit more intensive training on our wait staff in Bazaar. The food offering is so wonderful we don't want anything to make it less than perfect for our diners so we will check this out and action right away.

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know that you loved your stay. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a brilliant concept for a hotel. The food is delicious, cocktail menu is extensive, and the facilities very quirky.

i would defiantly recommend the spa if you have time/money, we did the $275 2 hour treatment which was divine and we were treated to macaroons and tea afterwards.

The beds in the rooms are the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in and moulded to your body.

Only downside is the lack of "dressing table mirror" in the bedroom.

Everything else was perfect. Friendly staff and a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainbowspritie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi Rainbowspritie,

Fun profile name, and fun review! I bet you were an absolute delight to take care of and you buzzed around the resort like a little ray of sunshine.

So glad to see a review on here for spaQ. It really is such a magnificent spa, and I completely agree with you on taking the time to indulge if you have a chance. It's the perfect way to unwind on holidays.

We would love to see you again, and are delighted that you intend to return.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My title says it all. The food was tacky and the uniforms of the wait staff made you wonder if you were dining at Hooters, The pool was beautiful. The chef on morning duty was extremely accommodating and made delicious pancakes. The rooms were cheaply dressed up to convince you that you are staying in a modern and quirky resort.

Room Tip: great resort if you're a bunch of quirky young singles. We are a family of four with young chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellernotatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi travellernotatourist,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review. We will take your notes on the uniforms etc under advisement (though I've got to say, we love them so I don't think they will be going anywhere anytime soon).

Sounds like you loved the Bazaar breakfast which is great.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Great resort, clean, modern decor with quirky touches throughout. Beautiful, lush gardens with friendly helpful staff who immediately helped with any queries we had. Travelled as a family of 4 (incl 18 and 20 yr old young men). Stayed in a two bedroom garden view villa which was very comfortable, especially the beds! One downside is the dining option is a bit limiting - either the Bazaar experience $65 pp or light meals (ie pizza, burgers), however when there are 4 adults to pay for dinner an option to order individual restaurant meals rather than all you can eat would be good. We stayed for 7 nights and self catered a couple of nights and went into town for dining on other nights. We enjoyed breakfast in the Bazaar restaurant, beautiful setting. We had a car which was great, otherwise you would need to catch a bus (which comes regularly) at a cost of $5 each way. Great facilities - pools, gym, the boys enjoyed the pool table and table tennis. Overall, an enjoyable experience and nice resort.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi Michele D,

What a great family holiday! So awesome that your boys are still holidaying with you at 18 & 20 years old. I would too if my folks were heading off to Port Douglas!

Thanks for the lovely notes on your stay and the amenities. Wonderful that you loved Bazaar breakfast and we will look into what we can do for a bespoke menu for diners not looking to have the full Bazaar experience. I know that this is on offer in our Estilo Lounge Bar so perhaps a cross over could happen?

Thanks again and we would love to see you next time you are in Port Douglas.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, WI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

One of our favorite hotels durning our families( 2 adults and 2- 12 year olds) 2 week stay in Australia! I had arranged pickup thru the hotel prior to our arrival in Cains. There was another couple that was also picked up in the van. The driver was great and even gave us a little tour of Port Douglas. We were able to check in early to our two bedroom unit. It was 2 separate units connected by an inside door. It was very large, clean and cool. The breakfast was outstanding! We enjoyed many items that were cooked to order. The chef was very friendly and we enjoyed seeing him every morning during our 4 day stay. The desk staff was very helpful in confirming our tours. It was my birthday and they set us a bottle of Champagne, which was really enjoyed. The grounds and pool were very nice! Only draw back was this resort is a ways from town and there are very few taxis. There is a shuttle bus that comes frequently but the charge is $5 per person each way. We love QT and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momqtpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi momqtpie,

Happy belated birthday and happy family holiday to you! What an awesome international getaway. I hope you got to enjoy some great time on the reef while you are in town.

Sounds like we hit all the right marks for a wonderful stay, and glad our location wasn't too much of an obstacle for yourself and your brood.

We really hope that next time you hop over the pond you make it back to us!

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.5 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
776 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
935 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Port Douglas

Property: QT Port Douglas
Address: 87-109 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rydges)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#22 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The next instalment in the QT Resorts series, QT Port Douglas, will be ready to bed on May the 12th, 2012.QT Resorts were launched by QT Port Douglas' gorgeous sister resort, QT Gold Coast, and this second coastal paradise will also include signature concepts such as the Bazaar Marketplace dining option that has quickly become the number one rated culinary experience on the Gold Coast. All guest rooms have been given a facelift with new QT beds, 42" flat screen TVs, and hand-sourced stylish fabrics and finishes. You will see in this resort the thread of designer decor that lifts QT Resorts to a new level of sophistication. The addition of 100 sun loungers by the pool can also be seen, forming the perfect vantage point from which to sip the day away. QT Port Douglas has a new open bar area, Estilo, which will be the place where you whet your lips before you dine in Bazaar, and to keep you swimwear ready, we also have begun an update on our gym and leisure offerings. From June until September, you can take in the balmy nights in front of a custom cinematic experience, Moonlight Cinema, designed especially for our guests. This sun kissed resort is a must for a lover of designer hotels and resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your QT Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Sabaya Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing