We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday”
Review of QT Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
QT Port Douglas
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Great resort, clean, modern decor with quirky touches throughout. Beautiful, lush gardens with friendly helpful staff who immediately helped with any queries we had. Travelled as a family of 4 (incl 18 and 20 yr old young men). Stayed in a two bedroom garden view villa which was very comfortable, especially the beds! One downside is the dining option is a bit limiting - either the Bazaar experience $65 pp or light meals (ie pizza, burgers), however when there are 4 adults to pay for dinner an option to order individual restaurant meals rather than all you can eat would be good. We stayed for 7 nights and self catered a couple of nights and went into town for dining on other nights. We enjoyed breakfast in the Bazaar restaurant, beautiful setting. We had a car which was great, otherwise you would need to catch a bus (which comes regularly) at a cost of $5 each way. Great facilities - pools, gym, the boys enjoyed the pool table and table tennis. Overall, an enjoyable experience and nice resort.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi Michele D,

What a great family holiday! So awesome that your boys are still holidaying with you at 18 & 20 years old. I would too if my folks were heading off to Port Douglas!

Thanks for the lovely notes on your stay and the amenities. Wonderful that you loved Bazaar breakfast and we will look into what we can do for a bespoke menu for diners not looking to have the full Bazaar experience. I know that this is on offer in our Estilo Lounge Bar so perhaps a cross over could happen?

Thanks again and we would love to see you next time you are in Port Douglas.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    389
    200
    94
    43
See reviews for
296
564
43
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, WI
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

One of our favorite hotels durning our families( 2 adults and 2- 12 year olds) 2 week stay in Australia! I had arranged pickup thru the hotel prior to our arrival in Cains. There was another couple that was also picked up in the van. The driver was great and even gave us a little tour of Port Douglas. We were able to check in early to our two bedroom unit. It was 2 separate units connected by an inside door. It was very large, clean and cool. The breakfast was outstanding! We enjoyed many items that were cooked to order. The chef was very friendly and we enjoyed seeing him every morning during our 4 day stay. The desk staff was very helpful in confirming our tours. It was my birthday and they set us a bottle of Champagne, which was really enjoyed. The grounds and pool were very nice! Only draw back was this resort is a ways from town and there are very few taxis. There is a shuttle bus that comes frequently but the charge is $5 per person each way. We love QT and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momqtpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi momqtpie,

Happy belated birthday and happy family holiday to you! What an awesome international getaway. I hope you got to enjoy some great time on the reef while you are in town.

Sounds like we hit all the right marks for a wonderful stay, and glad our location wasn't too much of an obstacle for yourself and your brood.

We really hope that next time you hop over the pond you make it back to us!

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This resort is fantastic! Quirky staff uniforms, furnishings and little touches here and there all make for a great first impression. Our room had a lovely garden view (a very green and lush tropical garden - thumbs up to the gardening team) with fun décor and the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in! Everything was clean and modern - as you would expect from a resort of this calibre. A highlight was definitely our dining experiences - both breakfast and dinner - what a great concept! Amazing food, amazing presentation and amazing atmosphere. Thank you to all the wonderful staff at QT. We loved every minute of our stay. We will definitely be back - especially now that the Spa has opened!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NgaireL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Port Douglas guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great spot however the star rating is a little misleading. We stayed over Christmas and were slightly disappointed. Jugs of Cocktails being made at the pool bar were being tasted by the staff with a straw, then shaking the excess from the straw back into the drinks . Toiletries not replaced for the entire week. Floors not cleaned daily and the worse was breakfasts. Due to being cooked fresh, they were unable to keep food up to the guests. Boxing Day I lined up for 30 min before deciding to eat elsewhere.
Concerns were expresses to management who explained that it is hard to get staff to work over Christmas. Defiantly not 4.5 star rating. There are other great hotels in Port to consider until QT can iron out there problems.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris-Bj-brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear past QT Port Douglas guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed over easter for five nights. We stayed in a one bdr garden view apartment. We went overseas for our honeymoon last year which was really amazing but had that not been possible we would have been more than happy to honeymoon here .

The staff were really helpful and I found the resort accessible as I use a walking stick for mobility, so all the main areas were accessible by ramps and I was provided a ground floor apartment as requested. The kitchenette is really helpful as we were sick of eating out all the time from our last holiday. We got a good deal through using resort vouchers towards our accomodation and by joining priority rewards we got a great discount on food and beverages. The resort pool is lovely and there is a lap pool is you prefer to swim laps.

We really enjoyed dinner on our first night and enjoyed lovely food and service. We had breakfast on one morning and then self catered for the rest of our stay.

The only negative of our stay is that I have to agree with other reviewers that although the beds are made by a high quality brand, they are just way too soft. My husband had to sleep on the fold out due to back injury as this was more manageable than the main bed. Perhaps when it comes time to replace beds, which may unfortunately may be not in the near future, due to their recent refurbishment, they (Rydges chain) should choose beds that are medium to soft, not so soft that you sink in a crevice. We are staying at another rydges chain hotel in august so hoping they will be different, fingers crossed.

Other than that we had a lovely short break at QT that was excellent value for money due to our resort vouchers and priority rewards membership.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khcs20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi khj835,

Another gorgeous title that is music to our ears!

It is also great to hear that we were able to assist you with any additional needs you had for mobility and access during your stay. We love that you were comfy and happy.

Thanks for the notes on everything. I can imagine that a firm bed would absolutely be a requirement for you, so we will start looking into our options on this front.

We are delighted that you had a magnificent second honeymoon with us.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel because our stay should have been fantastic but there were many things that bothered us which is a real shame... There was very little staff around to help make our stay more pleasant and we felt we were not informed properly. Worse, we got a wrong information from staff on several occasions.
I would probably not go back I have to say...

The good:
- quirky modern hotel
- hotel grounds are beautiful with trees, ponds etc.
- very pleasant and beautiful pool
- food at the bar is delicious and can be served around the pool with great cocktails. fabulous thank you v much
- the Spa massages are fab (but expensive mind you!)
- free Wifi but only in common areas
- breakfast is good (not included in hotel price)
the less good:
- we had called and had been told that Wifi was $15/day but this has apparently now changed but nobody bothered telling us. This information would have been on the map given upon arrival but we didnt get one... the information in the room indicated that Wifi was with a fee.
- we were told the Spa was opening in a month when that's what we'd come for! but in the end we realized the Spa had just opened so we ran for a massage but again we weren't too happy with the bad communication.
- we had booked a room for 3 persons and we had specifically called to ask if the sofa bed was a real bed which the answer was yes but it is NOT possible for an adult to sleep three nights (or even one frankly) on this sofa bed. Our friend ended up not sleeping on night 1 and got the staff to bring another bed up for day 2 and 3.
- the two single beds: had apparently new mattresses which seemed a bit soft to us but admittingly were fine in the end but the divans squeaked like crazy and although we told reception twice nothing was done to change this. HORRIBLE!!!
- the restaurant: we paid $65/head to eat (without wine) and they started closing up the restaurant before we had finished eating and no, it was not late.... REALLY?!
- our room was not cleaned on day 1 because we hadnt put the "gone fishing" sign... who knew?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_Dana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi L_Dana,

Thanks so much for a comprehensive review. We are going to comb through this at the property and make sure we are ticking off all of the boxes to assist you in feeling comfy in coming back to stay.

We really do value your feedback, and it helps us to make sure we are at the height of perfection for our much loved guests.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in early April 2013

Simply brilliant, the staff are their best assets, really helpful and welcoming without being in your face,

The restaurant, the Bazaar, is fantastic, great concept, nothing too much trouble and the gluten free food on offer is simply the best, especially the GF homemade pizzas

If you are going to stay in port Douglas make QT your first choice

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room away from the pool area, as they are really quite private
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi Edward N,

A brilliant review from our friends across the way. Fab notes on the staff, and absolutely appreciated. We do love them and are so glad that you did too.

How awesome is the homemade pizza?! My husband and I are a bit addicted I must say.

We would love to take care of you next time you are in Aus, and really hope you choose QT.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.5 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
796 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
946 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Port Douglas

Property: QT Port Douglas
Address: 87-109 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rydges)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#22 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The next instalment in the QT Resorts series, QT Port Douglas, will be ready to bed on May the 12th, 2012.QT Resorts were launched by QT Port Douglas' gorgeous sister resort, QT Gold Coast, and this second coastal paradise will also include signature concepts such as the Bazaar Marketplace dining option that has quickly become the number one rated culinary experience on the Gold Coast. All guest rooms have been given a facelift with new QT beds, 42" flat screen TVs, and hand-sourced stylish fabrics and finishes. You will see in this resort the thread of designer decor that lifts QT Resorts to a new level of sophistication. The addition of 100 sun loungers by the pool can also be seen, forming the perfect vantage point from which to sip the day away. QT Port Douglas has a new open bar area, Estilo, which will be the place where you whet your lips before you dine in Bazaar, and to keep you swimwear ready, we also have begun an update on our gym and leisure offerings. From June until September, you can take in the balmy nights in front of a custom cinematic experience, Moonlight Cinema, designed especially for our guests. This sun kissed resort is a must for a lover of designer hotels and resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your QT Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Sabaya Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing