We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of QT Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
QT Port Douglas
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Firstly, being a Rydges priority guest member makes an already great hotel even better, 20% of all drinks and food bills (except breakfast) and also a discount on the daily room rate is a great way to start your Holiday.

Very trendy interior design and a great vibe are what make this hotel stand out from the others we saw in the area. It has a great energy about it, from check-in to check-out. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and well decorated.

The pool area was awesome, maybe not as quiet or calm as some travellers may be looking for but by no means can I say anything negative about it. It's big, and there's a pool bar where you can order food and drinks.

As mentioned, cool decor, great vibe (day & night) and great accom all surrounded by tropical gardens and great staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NolanM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear NolanM79,

Another fantastic review! We are really cooking with gas on here since the resort was transformed into a QT hotel.

I'm hearing you about the PGR membership! That rewards card is a little gift from heaven for people on holidays. It can really make a big difference over the course of your stay.

I'm getting a sense that the pool is a little rowdy when the sun is shining! I'm trying to picture whether it's full of fun-time party people at the pool bar, or little kids playing marco polo. Maybe a bit of both!

We would love to see you back at the property as soon as you can, and thanks so much for taking the time to let us know that you loved your stay.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    368
    186
    90
    42
See reviews for
278
531
43
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I just spent 2 weeks at QT. I loved it! Came as part of a conference then stayed on for holidays.

They are trying to be a different product to the other hotels and its working, Im sure there will be people that dont like it but if you want quirky, different, comfortable and friendly this is for you.

I don't usually like hanging around hotels, however this hotel has a really nice chilled out vibe which makes it a pleasure to be there. I actually preferred to stay in the hotel bar for a drink, its very appealing as a venue.

In detail:

The 2 bedroom apartment works well, but if you only have 1 child a one bedroom is quite spacious. The bathrooms are great as are the amenities. There seem to be washing machines/dryers in the 1 bed apts but this is not obvious on the website.

Prefer garden view rooms, the pool view rooms get the noise from the bar.

The breakfast is really different and excellent.

The bazzar restaurant is also a good concept and excellent.

The food in the Estilo bar is also great.

The staff are to be commended for their excellent attention to detail and friendliness all while in a "chilled out" and casual sort of way.

I liked sitting around the pool however I don't like the fact there is only a very small deep area and its right in front of the swim up bar.

Re people's comments on Kids or no kids. It depends on when you come to the hotel. During our conference there was practically no one around the pool making it stunning for any couples etc., (but there were always lots of people in the bar). Right after during the school holidays, the pool was of course full of kids (including my own). If you dont want kids, dont travel during school holidays - pretty simple really.

Room Tip: get a garden view room not on the ground floor - avoids bar noise at night and also any possibility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffybinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear fluffybinks,

Holy toledo batman! 87 reviews! You are a mega TripAdvisor reviewer! I can't even begin to tell you how chuffed we are that you gave our property 5 out of 5. That's a really awesome moment for us as a new hotel. Thanks so much.

it's a very comprehensive review which is awesome, and I'll extract all the parts that are relevant to each department at the resort and pass them on to make sure they know that their work is hitting the spot.

Thanks so much again for the review, we really appreciate it and hope to see you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful resort feel atmosphere with nice rooms and amazing staff!! We stayed in the one bedroom villa which had the most comfortable beds!! Would recommend to stay even if only in port Douglas for the weekend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freckals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Freckals,

What a short, sharp, and super review! Thanks for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your time with us.

We love that you loved us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

It's a great spot but apart from the spa, there are no kid free zones. So expect the one and only pool complex to be overrun with kids. As a couple looking for a relaxing tranquil spot, it doesn't work. We wouldn't return unless there was some ability to chill in an adults only area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Professional_Taster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Prefessional_Taster,

Thanks kindly for letting us know about your stay. Sounds like everything was perfect except for some highly level exposure to other peoples rugrats.

We are going to put our thinking caps on to get a chill out zone happening. Hope to see you again soonest,

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Had a lovely stay here, the staff a super friendly and really seem to enjoy working here. Everyone is young, cheerful and professional and any problem is looked at with a 'best outcome, minimum time' attitude which was great.

There were not too many kids (which i liked sorry - was on my own trying to chill) and is best suited to couples, not much happening here for the solo traveller unless you're wanting to head into port.

The restaurant is DELICIOUS!! A unique buffet style dinner without the buffet feel or quality, they cook things fresh and there is an amazing cheese and anti-pasto station.

Breakfast is great also, do yummy vege shots and a good selection of freshly cooked food.

Gym has a 25m lap pool which i loved and a little cardio equipment area and they do yoga 2 nights a week.

I unfortunately had to move to the ramada down the road as QT didnt have any further availability (booked last minute) and i was very sorry (ramada in port douglas is RUBBISH - absolute dive and terrible staff and food) but have been coming back to use the gym and to eat.

The BF arrives today so we'll go for cocktails (cocktail bar super cool at night!) and then dinner (yummy!).

Will definitely stay again (and this is all with a problem checking out too! But it was resolved quickly and professionally and as with the rest of my stay, nothing is too much trouble)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinna_Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Corinna_Bella,

Another 5 out of 5! QT is really hitting the mark for the TripAdvisor crew. We've got a real mix of reviews on here about there being too many kids, and then being virtually kid free! Sounds like we are getting a really broad mix of travellers which is awesome. Wonder how we can make sure like stays with like. It's a toughie!

It's awesome that you had such a wonderful stay that even a little clerical hiccup couldn't ruin it. Fabulous. I hope you had an excellent time when your man got to town, and that you choose to stay with us next time you are in town.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent three days at QT Port Douglas and we were so happy we chose this hotel. A reincarnation of a tired Rydges, the designers have invoked a Miami/ Palms Springs-y sort of vibe that really works for the location. You can tell most of the money and effort went into renovating the common areas, with the rooms having just cheap and cheerful facelifts, but this has worked fine and we were very happy with our room, which had a separate bedroom as well as a kitchenette.

The staff were all absolutely awesome and very friendly and helpful. We thought the food in Estilo left a bit to be desired, but looking around, everyone else was loving it, so maybe we were in a minority!

The food in Bazaar was also pretty good, although the chefs out the front looked a little harried by all the orders, and unless you're planning on seriously stuffing yourself, I'm not convinced it's value for money. That said, the seafood spread was pretty impressive and the atmosphere was lovely.

Getting around is easy - the shuttle into town is only a couple of minutes, costs $4 per person and runs pretty frequently. There is also a cute little beach right across the road, perfect for morning jogs or sunset strolls.

Only disappointment was the fact that free wifi was not available throughout the resort. Considering the property is geared towards the 20 - 35 year old market, I thought this was a small oversight. When I keep in mind that the room rate was very reasonable ( just under aud200 per night) I can happily overlook the wifi thing.

Overall, super impressed and I strongly suspect we'll be back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hnic86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear hnic86,

Another excellent review! How fantastic. You've hit all our brand marks right on the head and it's so great that our work is translating to an awesome experience.

We are hearing you on the wifi thing. It's such an enormous task to dig all of the existing cabling up from underneath the property, and we are looking at other options, so far it's a pretty tough nut to crack!

Hope to see you again with us soon.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I wrote a review for my trip to the Sabaya in November 2010 with my wife so this is my second review of the same hotel.
At that time I wrote "perfectly satisfactory" meaning it was pretty good but not outstanding.
This trip was with my two little boys and since it's become QT it really has moved from pretty good to really excellent.
The rooms have been refurbed and we found our two bedroom apartment spacious and just perfect for our little family (except the beds weren't awesome and the showerheads were a bit tight on the pressure).
The pool was awesome (as it was a couple of years back).
The restaurant was really awesome; I've been to the one on the Gold Coast too and just think this is a ripping model.
The staff were fantastic. (How awesome are the skirts on the hot bar staff and waitresses?)
So hats off to you QT, you've turned a "reasonable" resort into a really, really great one. I suspect the 22 out of 48 hotels rating on TripAdvisor is a legacy of it being Sabaya and that it's probably much better than that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear PAC74,

You're absolutely right about the Sabaya hangover on our TripAdvisor ranking! We are working everyday to improve that though so hopefully we will climb up the ladder quickly,

So much work went into turning the property into something that matched the QT brand, and with each review on here I see that all the effort was well and truly worth it.

How great is Bazaar!? Such a great place to eat. I just love it in there. The open style dining of the Bazaar at QT Port Douglas adds a whole new level to it I think.

We would love to take care of you again soon.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Port Douglas

Property: QT Port Douglas
Address: 87-109 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rydges)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#22 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The next instalment in the QT Resorts series, QT Port Douglas, will be ready to bed on May the 12th, 2012.QT Resorts were launched by QT Port Douglas' gorgeous sister resort, QT Gold Coast, and this second coastal paradise will also include signature concepts such as the Bazaar Marketplace dining option that has quickly become the number one rated culinary experience on the Gold Coast. All guest rooms have been given a facelift with new QT beds, 42" flat screen TVs, and hand-sourced stylish fabrics and finishes. You will see in this resort the thread of designer decor that lifts QT Resorts to a new level of sophistication. The addition of 100 sun loungers by the pool can also be seen, forming the perfect vantage point from which to sip the day away. QT Port Douglas has a new open bar area, Estilo, which will be the place where you whet your lips before you dine in Bazaar, and to keep you swimwear ready, we also have begun an update on our gym and leisure offerings. From June until September, you can take in the balmy nights in front of a custom cinematic experience, Moonlight Cinema, designed especially for our guests. This sun kissed resort is a must for a lover of designer hotels and resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your QT Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Sabaya Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing