We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”
Review of QT Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
QT Port Douglas
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A great resort with great, happy and helpful staff. Had a good party atmosphere with lots of younger couples. The whole place has a really nice feel to it. The restaurant especially was awesome! The chef will cook you up whatever you want. Also the breakfast buffet is one of the best I've ever had. Def come here if you are under forty! A few families with kids though also looked to be having fun.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loverofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear loverofred,

Sounds like the resort was really pumping when you were in house! It's great to hear that the party vibe is up and happening at QT. With so many great places to eat and drink, it's hard not to have a good time while you are with us.

Thanks for all the wonderful notes on the resort and we would love to take care of you again.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,270)
There are newer reviews for QT Port Douglas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,219 - 1,225 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of a work conference. I am not sure of the rate payed so it is hard to judge value. The place is recently renovated and they have done a good job. Modern and funky design with plenty of color.

Not a great room but good enough for what I think this hotel is aiming at, you can tell it is a renovation rather than a new build as there is a few compromises. There is a nice pool, great bar area and a good fitness centre with a lap pool separate from the main pool. The service level was very good, always friendly and happy to help. While we were here for a conference I think this resort is really aimed at young singles or young couples without children, and it would suit that market well. We did not eat dinner in the resteraunt but it was recommended to us a few times, we did have breakfast here and it was very good!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Mark D,

Your profile picture is beautiful! Very romantic and QT is just the place for loved up couples.

Hope you had a wonderful conference, and that you get to come and stay with us for a relaxing getaway when you get the chance.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Freshly renovated rooms with funky but tasteful decor. Bed wasn't amazing but was OK for one night - two singles joined to make a king . Friendly staff who were very helpful at check in. Very happy overall.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Petarrr,

Short and sweet review, just like your stay! Thanks for letting us know you had a great time, and I hope you get to spend some more time with us in te near future.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Had a lovely evening in the plantation setting. Perfect start to our holiday with the setting getting us right into holiday mode - warm weather, sunny skies, cold beer in a tropical setting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Sally M,

We are delighted to have been a part of your holiday, and hope you had a beautiful time on the rest of your trip.

Hope you get to come back and enjoy us again.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have just experienced a first class getaway at QT Port Douglas. Upon arrival and just after checkin in we were greeted by Andrew the GM. His friendly and warm nature made us feel welcome, he gave us a small tour of the resort and mentioned what was on offer at the various facilities and restaurants. Noticing that we had a 9 month old he immediately arranged a cot to be sent to the room. The staff here are very friendly and are always willing to assist and help out.What impressed us was the dinner at Bazzar, an interactive dinning experience that enabled you to mingle and chat with the chefs as they cooked your food, nothing was too hard as they catered for our 2year old with ease. It's a great culinary experience with an abundance of delicious foods from around the globe.
If you are in need of a relaxing getaway this is the place to be. We had a two bedroom modern boutique apartment that backed onto bush land which was extremely quiet, wildlife at night and a wandering peacock made it exciting at night.

While dining at breakfast the garden maintenance guy lead our son and other kids to the pond area and encouraged them to feed the fish with some pellets he had in his bucket. Not only did he take a personal interest he came to our table and said as it was his day off tomorrow he would miss out on this time with the kids, he wished us all the very best for our stay.

Overall exceptional service from all the staff, housekeeping, garden maintenance, reception, waitstaff and management. A credit to the whole team at QT for a 5 star holiday

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3005 very quiet yet close to the pool
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank In2Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Palmerzone,

'Exceptional' is one of my absolute favourite words. I can't recall another review I have ever responded to that has had this in the title, so thankyou for making my day!

Andrew is, without exception, one of the most delightful people I have ever had the pleasure to meet, and his personality and attitude extends right through the property. It's always wonderful working for a wonderful person, and this hotel shines because of it!

Thanks so much for your kind words, and we will extend it through to the team.

We hope to take care of you again.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

QT Port Douglas, the newest hotspot and already so much hype, but did it live up to it? Absolutely! I heard its hip, quirky, not your average hotel, and certainly not like any of the other tired and old hotels in Port Douglas, and whoever spread these rumours were 110% right. QT is full of colour, the staff are all smiles, and the General Manager actually walks through the property and talks to those who are staying there. I saw him do his rounds every morning! One evening when we were drinking all the drinks in the swim up pool bar he even served us the Cafe Patron we asked for!! Now thats a General Manager! I stayed at QT with friends, we wanted to snorkel, eat gorgeous food, and have fun! The kind of fun you see on TV commericals and read about on facebook posts! And QT delivered all of this with a serve of surprise!!! Without giving away all their tricks, its the little things that set QT part from every other hotel in Port Douglas (and yes we visited friends who were staying at the Sheraton). and when we returned to QT we just high fived each other, knowing that QT was a far better choice. In a sentence: I will never stay anywhere else in Port Douglas. In a word: happiness.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank notkansasanymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear notkansasanymore,

What an awesome review! You sound like a writer! I'm not even going to try and compete in the wordsmith department, so all I will say is - thankyou.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights at QT Port Douglas and had a really enjoyable stay. We felt welcome from start to finish and the staff were friendly and courteous at all times. The room was what we expected but we did have to request an extra blanket which was provided promptly. We had dinner at the restaurant on two nights and really enjoyed ourselves both times with the buffet style concept perfect and where you could order steaks and fish as well. Breakfast was a treat with plenty on offer and my wife really enjoyed the eggs benedict, which you had to order. One small critique I had was that I couldn't find an egg cup when having a boiled egg but I didn't ask either so may have just not seen them. Overall a great place to stay, and for couples, better to do so out of school holidays when it is a bit less busy.

Room Tip: Empat wing was a good location as you are away from any noise of the bar and restaurant
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RocketMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear RocketMelbourne,

School holidays! It certainly is a time best suited for travelling with families, unless you are empty-nesters of course and are missing the sound of screeching kiddies in the pool!

Thanks for the lovely notes on our staff. We really appreciate it and will absolutely pass it on.

Please come again next time you are in town.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.5 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
839 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#25 of 42 in Port Douglas
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
500 reviews
1.6 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#12 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,558 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Port Douglas

Address: 87-109 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rydges)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#22 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $136 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The next instalment in the QT Resorts series, QT Port Douglas, will be ready to bed on May the 12th, 2012.QT Resorts were launched by QT Port Douglas' gorgeous sister resort, QT Gold Coast, and this second coastal paradise will also include signature concepts such as the Bazaar Marketplace dining option that has quickly become the number one rated culinary experience on the Gold Coast. All guest rooms have been given a facelift with new QT beds, 42" flat screen TVs, and hand-sourced stylish fabrics and finishes. You will see in this resort the thread of designer decor that lifts QT Resorts to a new level of sophistication. The addition of 100 sun loungers by the pool can also be seen, forming the perfect vantage point from which to sip the day away. QT Port Douglas has a new open bar area, Estilo, which will be the place where you whet your lips before you dine in Bazaar, and to keep you swimwear ready, we also have begun an update on our gym and leisure offerings. From June until September, you can take in the balmy nights in front of a custom cinematic experience, Moonlight Cinema, designed especially for our guests. This sun kissed resort is a must for a lover of designer hotels and resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your QT Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Sabaya Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing