We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely go back”
Review of QT Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
QT Port Douglas
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in June. We had booked a resort room but we actually ended up getting a 1 bed apartment (unexpected upgrade!!!) and it was really spacious and comfortable. It has recently been refurbished and everything looks really new and fresh. We had a huge king size bed which was really comfy, 2 balconies and a generous living/dining area.
We found the staff really pleasant and friendly. The pool area is nice for relaxing and the pool bar is a nice feature. The hotel bar is cool and trendy (only negative was that the cocktails were a bit pricy!!!). We didn't eat in the restaraunt but it was busy every night so can only assume it is really good. The only other negative is that there was no free shuttle into to town - it was $7 return each night. All in all I think QT is really good value - we paid $570 for nights (with the 4th night free) and thought it was great value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DugCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear DugCork,

What a great review! Thanks so much for sharing your stay with us. I think that your review covers off all of the best points of a wonderful hotel stay and we hit the mark on all of them which is great!

Please try Bazaar Marketplace next time you are at the property. It is a really awesome dining experience and you won't be disappointed!

Thanks so much again.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
There are newer reviews for QT Port Douglas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,241 - 1,247 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

a little out of the main township but that is not a bad thing - recently refurbished - everything has a clean, fresh look. The rooms are very good, quite simple, lots of white, but with random splashes of colour, texture and shape which works really well. Comfy king size bed. I would have really liked an armchair or comfy chair to sit on - the only chair in the room was at the desk. FANTASTIC breakfast, lovely grounds and friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mousey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear mousey84,

Another wonderful review from a Sydneysider! Thanks so much for taking the time to share with us. Sounds like the decor, staff, and dining really hit the spot. Sitting chairs are a part of the renovation so next time you come they will be there!

We would love to take care of you again.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at the QT on 18 June on their two night opening special in a garden view villa. On the whole, QT is excellent. It's priced at the upper end for accommodation in Port Douglas. We paid $260 per night which included all breakfasts, one dinner for two and 2 welcome cocktails. First the good things:
1. The staff are first rate. I could not fault them. Well trained, unfailingly polite, very helpful and knowledgeable. We ate at both their restaurants and at all times, they were brilliant. Sara on the front desk was also excellent as was the porter on check in which I didn't catch his name. The thing that struck me was that they seemed quite busy because some minor renovations were still occurring and the staff seemed busy doing odd jobs as well as providing service in the public areas but they all seemed genuinely happy to be working there which added to the atmosphere of the place. North Queensland is known for having less than good service standards but the staff at QT are the best i've experienced in the region.

2. The food at the hotel is amazing. Bazzaar is a destination experience on its own. We chose to stay at the hotel because of the restaurant, and it didn't disappoint. The food is brilliant, both at dinner and breakfast. I think it's the best hotel restaurant in North Queensland and well priced for what you get. Estilo was also excellent, we ate a lunch and dinner there during our stay and it was very good. Again, the service matched the food - excellent.
3. The pool area and internal garden areas look great. We didn't swim in the pool as it was a little cold but looked very inviting. Gardens surrounding the outside of the hotel and the carpark areas do need to be cleaned up a bit however. It did look a little shabby on the outside so the first impression was a bit underwhelming.
4. We missed the moonlight cinema experience due to it not being started when we were there but we saw it being set up. It looks like it will be a good addition to hotel.
5. The rooms were very well spruced up, everything was shiny and new and you could buy the pieces in the rooms if you chose which I thought was a good idea. We were allocated a ground floor garden villa (3009) with a big grassed area right outside - perfect for a crawling toddler to play on. The QT Bed was awesome. Had a great night sleep both nights - very comfy!

A few minor things:
1. We thought there would be a washing machine in the 1 bedroom villas as they were advertised as alternatives to other Port Douglas self contained apartments. There wasn't one but there was a guest laundry which we used and it was fine, just a little inconvenient as it only takes $1 coins to operate the machines. The kitchenette in the villa was very basic. You couldn't really prepare a meal in it. If you're staying for a while with children, upgrading to the two bedroom would be the pick.
2. The corridor areas in the apartment blocks are all white brick and concrete and looked a little sterile. I think they'll be spruced up a bit as the final renos continue.

If you're travelling to Port Douglas, this is a place worth checking into. Be mindful that it's a little way out from the centre of Port but is no issue if you have a car to get around. Make sure you eat at the restaurants in the hotel at least once, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor room if you have lots of luggage. There are no lifts in the unit blocks.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HomeNQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear HomeNQ,

Woweee! What a review! Thanks so much for taking the time to share this with us, and the wider Trip Advisor community. We appreciate every effort taken to write this down for us :)

I will share all your wonderful notes on the staff with the team, They love to hear that they are hitting the mark in terms of service. We will also take all of your points on improvements into consideration as we role out the last of the renovations. I don't think we will have the space to put a washing machine in the rooms, but we may be able to sort out a change machine to make it a lot easier to use the laundry?

I'll get straight onto it!

Thanks again and we hope you visit soon.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed at the QT Port Douglas for 5 nights with my husband and 2 year old daughter. The hotel decor is vibrant and staff are young and friendly. As they have recently refurbished, everything in our room was brand new which was really luxurious! Bed was comfortable, the port-a-cot was new and "made up" every day.

We stayed in a one bedroom villa apartment. We loved our garden view - it was private and quiet.

Some of a few things we found curious, which we've put down to the hotel being new:
- no porter on arrival, making it interesting bringing our luggage up 3 flights of stairs
- the "kitchen facilities" do not include a toaster
- the "deluxe bathroom amenities" do not include conditioner (we were told the shampoo was a 2-in-1, but the shampoo instructions referred to conditioner) or shower caps
- one afternoon, half the power-points in our room didn't work (including the microwave, fridge, TV, DVD player and lamp). It took more than an hour for maintenance to come and check what was going on
- the pool is open from 7am, but on the 2 mornings we went there (around 8 or 9am), there were no pool towels.
- kids club not operational

Even so, we had a really relaxing trip, and because the hotel was so empty, it felt like we öwned the place".

If you have a young family, recommend hiring a car as the beach isn't a very walkable distance, and town (where restaurants are very family friendly - many opening from 5pm), is a few km away.

Room Tip: Rooms with a garden view neans it will be peaceful and quiet. If you have young children, recommend...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Li5ianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Li5ianne,

Thanks so much for your excellent, comprehensive review of our hotel. You are absolutely right. You are staying in a time when we are still learning about any wiring issues from the renovation, and training our staff on exactly where they need to be and when. Thanks so much for being patient and understanding this.

Thanks also for your notes on how you feel we can improve the room to make it better for families. This is such an important market for us and we want to make sure that you have everything you need.

We would love to take care of you again when you are next visiting from Sydney.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days and it was, frankly, fabulous. There was a wide variety of all kinds of food at both breakfast and dinner, smorgasboard style but restauarant quality food, well-priced, you can eat as much or as little as you want. They will cook you a tasting plate, steak or grilled fish, as much fresh seafood as you want, as well as other choices. Staff very attentive and kind everywhere. We stayed in a newly renovated apartment, it had a little laundry, nice bathroom, overlooking the pool, everything fresh and clean. Would go back there in a flash

Room Tip: pool view room good, small apartment if you are staying a few days
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsdubbya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear mrsdubbya,

'Kind' is such a wonderful word to hear about our staff. There's something really special about finding people who not only choose hospitality as their profession, but also who have that extra special love and care that they put in to their job.

The team at QT Port Douglas are a really kind bunch, I completely agree. It's such a gentle resort and really gives you the opportunity to chill right out.

Thanks for the awesome notes on Bazaar Marketplace. It's such an awesome place to eat!

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Rooms nice, well serviced. Gym new, very enthusiastic guy - ? Jeremy - running it. Reception staff good, enthusiastic - Katja -? Spelling - especially so. All young but very competent. Easy transport in/out of town. Nice bar, restaurant v good range of food. Everyone goes out of their way to be helpful. Less expensive than some nearby mega resorts.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chitake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear chitake,

Yay for the QT staff! It's so important to have the right mix of experience and entusiasm in a team when you are launching a new brand and we think that the QT Port Douglas staff are incredibly welcoming and kind.

We will give Jeremy and Katja a big hug from you!

Please come again soon.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We happened to stumble across this place as next door to our resort. As soon as you walk in there the staff we so attentive and after 5 minutes talking to the bar manager we were convinced to try the Bazaar restaurant dining experience. Well it happens to be the most amazing dining experience, service we have ever had. We dined with our 3 children and the food was amazing. It is an "interactive dining" experience whereby there is food such as seafood and salads layed out but then you can also ask the chef to cook you something unique. If you are a Rydges member you get 20% of the bill which is great. If you go to Port Douglas my family recommend this place, we were the only family with small kids but it did not make a difference. The staff are the best I have ever experienced!! Looking forward to another dinner tonight!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank anotherholiday y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear notherholiday y,

Yay! Another Bazaar Marketplace review! It is such a wonderful concept and really pushes the boundaries of what you expect dining to be in a hotel.

With so much effort invested in delivering the perfect designer hotel experience, we knew that the dining options had to be of the very best standard to meet the needs of our hotel guests.

Thanks for reinforcing that the investment was well worth it!

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.5 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
837 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#23 of 42 in Port Douglas
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#28 of 42 in Port Douglas
498 reviews
1.6 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#12 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,552 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Port Douglas

Address: 87-109 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rydges)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#22 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $134 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The next instalment in the QT Resorts series, QT Port Douglas, will be ready to bed on May the 12th, 2012.QT Resorts were launched by QT Port Douglas' gorgeous sister resort, QT Gold Coast, and this second coastal paradise will also include signature concepts such as the Bazaar Marketplace dining option that has quickly become the number one rated culinary experience on the Gold Coast. All guest rooms have been given a facelift with new QT beds, 42" flat screen TVs, and hand-sourced stylish fabrics and finishes. You will see in this resort the thread of designer decor that lifts QT Resorts to a new level of sophistication. The addition of 100 sun loungers by the pool can also be seen, forming the perfect vantage point from which to sip the day away. QT Port Douglas has a new open bar area, Estilo, which will be the place where you whet your lips before you dine in Bazaar, and to keep you swimwear ready, we also have begun an update on our gym and leisure offerings. From June until September, you can take in the balmy nights in front of a custom cinematic experience, Moonlight Cinema, designed especially for our guests. This sun kissed resort is a must for a lover of designer hotels and resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your QT Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Sabaya Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing