We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, fabulous apartment, good pool and outdoor bbq area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartments at The White House Port Douglas
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great location, fabulous apartment, good pool and outdoor bbq area”
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Stayed here to celebrate my 40th birthday with family from the UK and my boyfriend. The apartment was perfect. Spread across two floors with the upstairs having a bedroom and a seperate lounge area. The apartment had 3 balconys, a great kitchen and lounge area a big family bathroom as well as a second bathroom upstairs. Really we could not fault the place at all, it was lovely. The location is excellent, just across from the surf lifesavers (a park in between so no noise) and was literally 2 minutes to the beach. Its also about 2 minutes from Macrosson Street. It was quiet with no noise at all. Not only was it a great location the lady who manages the apartments went out of her way to help us, as it was my 40th birthday my daughter and family bought a surprise cake and decorations and the manager let them store them in the empty apartment next door. Without a doubt I would stay here again, loved it. Very well furnished, very comfortable and an extremely modern kitchen.

Room Tip: for a large group the 2 storey apartments are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giggle_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    17
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
26
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed here for eight nights (on the strength of the reviews on Trip Advisor) and what a good decision that was. For a vewy good price we had a one-bedroom apartment with a balcony, fully-fitted kitchen with stove, microwave, dishwasher, etc., Austar TV, DVD player, washer & dryer. And an undercover car parking space.

The White House has its own small swimming pool which we never used, because Four Mile Beach is only a couple of minutes stroll away, and it's hardly any more to Macrossan Street and its shops, bars and resuarants.

The owner, Margaret, was really helpful from the outset, happy to take the time to tell us about the local area and to answer any queries, and gave us her number in case we had any more. She booked tours and excursions for us - at no additional cost - and also told us about special offers we wouldn't have found out about anywhere else.

If I was returning to Port Douglas I would try and stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We stayed at the White House apartments for just 4 days and wish it could have been for longer. This is a charming, colonial-style building minutes from the spectacular 4-Mile Beach, and less than 10 mins walk from the main area of Port Douglas.
On arrival our host, Margaret, told us that due to pressure of bookings, she was obliged to upgrade us from a 2-bed to a 3-bed penthouse apartment! It was a 2-level unit with a large kitchen/living area, comfortable bedrooms and big bathrooms. We had two balconies.
Margaret's advice on trips was excellent; we had been planning a trip to the reef and had two options under consideration; she recommended one and we found it perfect for what we wanted; and she booked the trip for us. She had a wide array of brochures and was very knowledgable on the many attractions and trips in the area.
Other reviewers have suggested the place was "tired" and I would agree: a few coats of paint and an in-depth cleaning would do wonders for this place.
Most European hotels & apartments view wireless internet access in the same category as hot water, electricity, pillows - essential and free! Why do Ozzie accomodations charge so much for what is now an important part of the overall package? The type of internet access in the White House was probably the best we found on our 3-week trip: JIMOGO was offered at 7.50 dollars per hour, but it allows users to log on and off so 7.50 might last you for days if you're use is intermittent, for example, just checking emails for a few minutes each day. But is should be free!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulTheMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I have 4 children 7, 6, 5, & 1. We were in Port Douglas for 10 days and had a great time. The accommodation was a little tired but good. The location was outstanding. My major problem was that my children were constantly told to be quite. I have 4 boys and yes they do play but I did not consider them to be over the top. The manager Margret would tell the children to be quite when it was not needed and not infront of me or my wife. We rented a three bedroom apartment for the family so I am not quite sure what she expected. I would not recomend this to families who have young children that want to play on there holidays. I visited several other accommodation options for next year and they had happy families making some noise and enjoying themselves. I have booked there. The only other point I would tell other travellers is that the pool is quite disappointing as it is squashed into a corner and has next to no sunlight.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank byrnefamily82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

great location being close to the beach , shops and restaurants . However , we found the caretaker / manager very lame in her approach to the problem of our fridge continously leaking water onto the tiled kitchen floor and making the situation very slippery and dangerous, particularly with young children. Twice we reported it and her solution was 2 beach towels! and a "so sorry, we dont have time to fix it as the rooms are always booked out " As a result of this leak there was existing mould on the seal of the fridge . We also had a faulty clothes dryer and the reponse was as lazy as our fridge issue .We clearly would have expected an immediate solution for these problems .Instead we felt let down. As there are many other apartments nearby , I would be taking the family elsewhere on our next holiday to Port Douglas .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed for 8 nights, 4 adults in a 2 room apartment. The place was clean, spacious and well appointed. Breakfasts on the (2) balconies was just perfect. The apartments are very close to the beach and just a few minutes walk to town. It was very quiet and relaxing. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Family with 2 young teenagers and an eight year old - stayed for over a week in July in one of The White House apartments. The owner, Margaret, was more than accommodating with all of us, so helpful and so informative about the area with tips on where to go and what to do.
The apartment was very comfortable, extremely clean and a top location. Spacious balconies with perfect outlook across to the park and beach. We all enjoyed the very private positioning also on all the balconies, they're lovely and secluded - not looking into other hotels/apartments from any angle.
Location's perfect for kids - easy walk distance to Macrossan Street to explore or across to the beach, great for bike riding around too - everything within easy access.
None of us wanted to leave, we all had the best time :) and will definitely be back !!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangosx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches Port Douglas
Beaches Port Douglas
#32 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mowbray By The Sea
Mowbray By The Sea
#24 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Terraces
Beachfront Terraces
#37 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balboa Holiday Apartments
Balboa Holiday Apartments
#11 of 55 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments at The White House Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments at The White House Port Douglas

Property: Apartments at The White House Port Douglas
Address: 19 Garrick St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments at The White House Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, a delightful example of "Queenslander" architecture, nestles amid tropical gardens enhanced by myriads of colourful butterflies and birds, beautifully positioned opposite a park leading directly onto famous Four Mile Beach. Only 9 large, airy apartments – 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms, each with full kitchen & laundry & breezy balconies looking over the park onto the beach, around the corner from the main shopping and restaurant precinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apartments at The White House Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing