We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location and immaculate unit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mowbray By The Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mowbray By The Sea
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location and immaculate unit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just loved our unit on the top floor. Immaculately clean and really well equipped including pool towels.These apartments are in a great location. Just a few minutes walk to the shops and the beach is practically at the door. Make sure you try the restaurant at the beach - great food

Room Tip: Ask for a lower level unit if you have little kids - there are a lot of stairs to the top floor with...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ferg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    18
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
71
24
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne, vic
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We absolutely loved the Mowbray by the Sea. Fantastic location situated between Macrossan Street and the beach - walking distance from both. Didn't need a vehicle. Macrossan Street is the main street and banking, supermarkets, restaurants, bars, etc. all within a 10 - 15 min walk of the apartment. The apartments are well appointed and Lorna and her husband who manage the property could have not been more helpful. They recommended some great tours. Beautiful pool, BBQ and entertaining facilities. Apart from the well sized apartment there's also a private balcony. Very quiet location and highly recommend it. A great little breakfast place a quick walk down the road on the corner near the beach which is very handy as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey06_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our family of four stayed for 9 nights on the third floor. The apartments are very well-appointed with a great kitchen and a comfortable family rooms, with TV and Sky. Main bedroom consisted of queen bed and second bedroom had two single beds, each bedroom with its own bathroom. Plenty of storage space and great balconies with outdoor settings and lounge chairs. Air-conditioning and quiet ceiling fans more than adequate. The location is great... a 5 minute walk to the main strip for restaurants and shopping and just near the main four mile beach. Surf Life Saving Club nearby had a great restaurant with a very menu cooked by a five-star chef. Awesome 25m pool which had a great barbeque area, although we didn't use it. Owners were lovely and very helpful for recommending stuff to do. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our family of seven rented two two bedroom apartments located on the first floor next to each other for seven nights in May. They were well appointed apartments with great kitchens, comfortable family rooms with dining tables in each apartment. Main bedroom consisted of queen bed and second bedroom had two single beds, each bedroom with its own bathroom. Plenty of storage space and great balconies with outdoor settings and lounge chairs. Good airconditioning and quiet ceiling fans. The best part about this accomodation was the location. We were a 5 minute walk to the shopping strip and just opposite the Surf Life Saving Club and patrolled four mile beach. Next door was Beaches cafe which made good home style breakfasts and lunches and the Surf Life Saving Club also had a great cafe/restaurant with a very innovative tasty menu. Our family loved the pool which had a nice wide ledge suitable for toddlers to swim in and a great barbeque which we used a few times. But you do need to be cautious of the white tiles when wet that lined the coridoors connecting the floors and some walkways. I would highly recommend this apartment block.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Mowbray. Went up with our two children (3 & 6) the accommodation was clean, spacious and an awesome pool for kids and adults alike. Kitchen was good, nice size fridge and washer/dryer supplied. All essential with kids. Thank you to great staff (well done Lucille (I think that was your name!), it was your first week and you were so helpful). The location is great, walking distance to beach and main street/supermarket. We will be back and there is nowhere else we will stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed here a couple of years ago but really enjoyed our stay. Had a 2 bedroom apartment which was really quite spacious.The swimming pool was great as it is heated. It's a two minute walk to the fantastic 4 mile beach and reception hired out beach chairs for a reasonable price. They also booked our trips to the Great Barrier reef etc. It was about 10 mins to walk into the town for something to eat and supermarkets. Really lovely atmosphere in the whole of Port Douglas. It is one of my favourite places ever.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We have just returned from a delightful 5 day stay at Mowbray By The Sea in Port Douglas. The apartments are spacious and have everything that you need; full size stove and 'fridge, dishwasher, great airconditioning and huge balconies where we enjoyed breakfast each morning while watching the birds. Very private, good pool and spa and though we did not use it there was a barbecue area poolside.
The location is terrific, just minutes to the beach and main street and in a very quiet area.
Clean, quiet, relaxing.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments have direct access to garden and street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
#13 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
2.7 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowbray By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowbray By The Sea

Property: Mowbray By The Sea
Address: 40 Mowbray Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mowbray By The Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mowbray by the Sea offers sophisticated beachside accommodation only metres from Four Mile Beach and a short stroll from Macrossan Street's boutique shopping, cafes and award winning restaurants. The property offers modern and spacious two bedroom, two bathroom apartments. The apartments are fully equipped with kitchen and private laundry facilities. Mowbray by the Sea's quiet location makes it a pleasure to relax on the extra large balconies overlooking the parklands. The property also boasts a 25 metre heated pool, poolside BBQ and complimentary secure undercover carparking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Mowbray By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 16 Mowbray By The Sea Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing