We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to heat the pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Need to heat the pool”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

New, clean, comfortable units inside but the pool is such a feature of this resort and yet and it was absolutely bloody freezing. Everyone who swam in it shrieked upon entering. It was just unusable and such a shame. Even my hardy son who never feels the cold could barely use the pool. The resort is also a long way from town, you will need to hire a car (which is expensive), so factor this in to your cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    99
    34
    17
    9
See reviews for
145
59
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in July 2013 in a 2 bedroom (2 queen beds & 1 roll away), swimout (Apartment 45) as a family of 5. It is just off the main road, amongst beautifully manicured tropical gardens in a quiet street only 6 min drive to the township of Port Douglas. It's location is walking distance to the beach and there is a variety of restaurants within walking distance also. It was about 40 minute walk into the township, but having a car was convenient. (There is apparently local bikes you can hire and shuttle bus).

The spacious apartment is modern with all the amenities we needed, full kitchen, air-con, fans, laundry (although no dryer), TV in living and main bedroom. It was lovely sitting out on the large patio area with the full winter sun overlooking the expansive pool and rainforest in the background. Whilst the pool is a little cool at this time of year you soon get use to it especially when you are treated to 26 degrees every day.

I don't think I can complain about anything when you have such a lovely modern apartment at an affordable price but some minor practicalities which we did notice, but didn't deter us, were no handles on bathroom cabinets, night time security lights making our main room lighter, and toilet within the bathroom. All things you can live with.

I would definitely recommend this accommodation to families.

Room Tip: If it's within your budget and you're a family of 5 or more perhaps go the 3 bedroom so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanWells68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberwell, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

recently stayed at the Pool Resort, in a second level two bedroom apartment. The rooms are quiet minimalist pretty much just a couch, two queen bed's and two TV's. All units are fully self contained with a laundry and a kitchen. Second floor units have and a large balcony whilst ground floor units have a swim up patio with outdoor setting. The pool is very impressive and never overcrowded. Second floor units look across to the mountains. about a 10 minute drive to port Douglas. This is a great palce to stay if your ok with eating in. only issue we had was with the washer/dryer as it took about 6 hours to dry cloths. overall very good and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay , the pool was very big and beautiful . The rooms were clean , modern and cool . The staff were friendly and helpful . Our washing machine broke down and the staff were straight on to it , we had the keys to the room next door to wash our clothes and our machine was fixed the next day .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

On our recent 14 day stay in Palm Cove and Port Douglas we stayed at 3 places and this was our favourite the only disappointment was we didn't stay at Pool long enough.

We had a massive 3 bedroom swim up apartment where your large patio area opens out to the pool. On arrival at pool we were so impressed we decided to stay longer but were unable to change our flights.

Huge pantry and kitchen completely fitted with everything you could want, our own private BBQ was placed on our patio. Comfortable beds, towels provided and Denise couldn't be more helpful on reception with anything we needed or tourism advice. Undercover parking was provided and the apartment and resort were exceptionally clean.

Pool was a spacious quiet and relaxing resort we will definitely visit again.

Pool toys for the kids are a good idea to keep them busy and inflatable Li Lo's are handy if you can't get a sun lounger.

Room Tip: Swim ups great for the kids you can see them from your chair. Other guests swim by too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed at Pool Port Douglas in July and found the experience a little dissapointing. While the accomodation is in good location and the pool I the resort was great, unfortunately the little things let the resort down. The cleanliness of the rooms was a little disappointing, the blinds in the main living area had food stains on them, floors were dirty, there was hair on the floor when we arrived and there is an element of mould starting to build in the bathroom. My other complaint is the general maintenance of the rooms and the resort. Both the taps in our room were loose to the point that one of the taps completely broke. All be it management corrected the broken tap but to me a four star resort should not have loose taps in their rooms. The sliding door in our main living area that lead to the balcony area was extremely difficult to open, the kids could not slide the door at all, my wife also had troubles, when I reported this to management I was told the door needs new rollers and they are on order. The maintenance man put some WD40 on the door but this did not really assist. There were also weeds in cracks in the concrete around the pool area and small attention to detail that let the resort down. I would however like to give a shout out to Denise at reception, she booked our tours and was very knowledgeable on the areas of Port Douglas, Denise was very helpful and polite. Overall, I would head back to Port Douglas, but I would consider other accommodation before I re booked at Pool Port Douglas.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig0673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Ladies at the reception were awesome, thoroughly enjoyed the tours they helped to book us into. Kids loved jumping into the pool straight out the back door.

All white walls and floor tiles show up less than adequate cleaning and maintenance. Main blind giving access to the back door broke due to poor maintenance. One towel rack for a family of four. Seamless cabinet design is no good for tall people, you either bang your head every time you lean over the kitchen sink or get a sore back and neck keeping your head low. Awfully uncomfortable lounge for winding down on at night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bsstrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.2 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
774 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#20 of 43 in Port Douglas
1,206 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#22 of 43 in Port Douglas
1,368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pool Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pool Resort Port Douglas

Property: Pool Resort Port Douglas
Address: 19 - 37 St Crispins Ave, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pool Resort Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pool Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pool Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Pool Hotel Port Douglas
Pool Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing