We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Group Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pool Resort Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Group Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Came here as a party of 4 adults - 2 couples.

The place was perfect for us - particularly as one party was on a tight budget. The self catering aspect with a decent kitchen and proper utensils really helped keep overall costs down.

The management was really friendly and helpful.

Even when the accommodation was busy you could always find a spot to swim by yourself and away from others.

Yes, it is located out of town, but that also makes it quite quiet and homely in some ways.

To all those complaining that there is no restaurant or it is too far out of town - do you actually do any research before booking into a place? It makes the location clear and states that it is self catering. Enough said.

Room Tip: Get one of the mountain view rooms with the lap pool out the front. Really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steelchanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    97
    33
    17
    9
See reviews for
138
58
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Pool Apartments, Port Douglas. The staff and management could not have been more helpful. We enquired about cruises to the reef and not only did they provide a full range of options but they booked for us and made the whole experience pain free and easy to organise. The pools were fantastic for our teenage kids. The rooms were clean, spacious and functional.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SNEDS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buninyong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

I was very much looking forward to staying at Pool but found it a disappointment. The pool itself is superb, but very cold in July. The rooms are nice but probably a bit too modern in design in that they are not practical. The kids slept in a queen size bed together as expected and enjoyed the novelty but that's where the fun ended for them. Can't ride scooters or skateboards around, not much to do and a clinical hospital feel about the place. For a place called Pool there was nowhere to dry towels or clothes so the rooms that had fences and gates onto the pool looked like a Chinese laundry. Didn't like the filmy feel on the tiles throughout the rooms. We'll find somewhere else in Port Douglas next time.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were at the for ten days. We were disappointed as it is not quite how it is advertised They say there is BBQ on site so we took to mean in a communal area. This is not so you need to pay an extra cost and hire them. We were a family of 5 and book as a family of five and were squeezed into a 2 bedroom apartment where there was two double beds and two kids in one and a rollaway squeezed into that room as well. All for a extra cost which we found out at the end of our stay. The kitchens are not well equiped no sharp knives for cooking apart from a Bread knife no dishes to be used in the oven, one large pot one small pot and small frying pan. Makes cooking very hard. Smokers are not separated so when we were eating out on the patio (the only table in the apartment) we be smoked out by the neighbour overall not an enjoyable. experience we loved port douglas but would not go back to the resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Read97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

But now for the ups. You get a great apartment, beautiful pool, wonderful views from the apartment, very helpful staff, clean and fresh and it was quiet which was exactly what we were after . We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We spent four days at the Pool resort last week and we could not fault the place when we asked if we could up grade they found a room for us no worries and the staff they were always willing to help with anything from tours to where to eat. After reading some of the reviews about the resort and then having gone and stayed we where more than happy the pool was beautiful we swam everyday and it was clean at all times, the only thing was that we had to come home after four days of beautiful weather from being in lovely 27degrees to a very cold 7 dergress that was a shock to the system, but over all i recomend the Pool Resort we would stay there again thats for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redbelly007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I find some of the reviews a little harsh. We had the most wonderful stay at Pool resort. 8 nights in a lovely apartment with everything we needed and more. The staff were wonderful and our room was serviced after 4 days, the middle of our stay. The pool was fantastic and always very clean. We walked to the beach every day (5 mins to beach) Wonderful views of the mountain ranges from the balcony. Ants were around but no problem as we kept the benches clean and washed dishes in the dishwasher provided. Yes you need a car as the resort is out of town but with so much to explore in the area and the high cost of organized trips the car certainly saved us a fortune in the long run, we explored the Daintree Village, Mossman Gorge, Kuranda Markets and Cape Tribulation.
We stay in Port Douglas every year and The Pool Resort will be the top of our list when we return next year.

Room Tip: Pick up a Port Douglas Passport from the Tourist Info in the centre of town it has some great money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MelbourneGill27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.4 mi away
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
#35 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.5 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pool Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pool Resort Port Douglas

Property: Pool Resort Port Douglas
Address: 19 - 37 St Crispins Ave, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pool Resort Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Pool Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pool Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Pool Hotel Port Douglas
Pool Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing