We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out”

Daintree Discovery Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Daintree Discovery Tours lets you experience this area rather than just looking. From Mossman Gorge, to Cape Tribulation. Daintree River and the stunning Cassowary Falls. We are the only tour that can get you to this beautiful waterfall (travelling along bush tracks in our soft top Land Rover!). Small groups, exclusive sites with both half and full day tours available.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
265 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We opted for the full day's tour and our guide for the day was Ron who was excellent.

There were only 6 on the tour in a Mercedes for 8 so it was very comfortable as were the other vehicles used to transfer us to various parts of the tour.

The day was very well planned out with enough time at each place without at any time getting boring.

Ron did a great job keeping us informed with lots of interesting information and the odd smattering of the Aussie dry humour which we love.

Ron also looked after us well with food and drink, taking us to one lovely location not open to the masses.

The river was very high so not many crocs in evidence but we did see one young one basking on a log. There was an element of 'If only you'd been here yesterday. We saw a giant croc take down a cow!' but that's the pot luck of these kinds of tours.

The walks are all very safe on well made paths but the mosquitos are a nuisance even with the spray provided. Still it is a tropical rainforest so worth it and it's only for a short spell.

The visit to the waterfall and a swim capped off a great day out.

Helpful?
1 Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    996
    129
    18
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“This is what really happens on the trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were picked up at our hotel by Garry with two 'r's' and told we needed two things, a sense of humour and our swimming gear, then after a forty minute ride in a minibus we were at the river cruise with the aim to see crocodiles, unfortunately non were awake at 8.30 am, nevertheless it was a nice ride up and down then river for forty minutes.

Next, 'morning tea', terribly English, scones, cream, jam and tea, etc.

Then, as per their literature, '4WD driving in our soft-top ex Army Landrover and then swimming, fish & turtle feeding at the beautiful Cassowry Falls'.

In reality this was a trip over mud tracks in a beaten up Landrover, fortunately not soft-top so that the hoards of mosquitoes were left outside.

Then out of the vehicle and told we were going swimming in a lovely private waterfall before going home.

In reality we struggled over wet slippery rocks to then be told to dive into the water as that was the only way in, fine for us, but not for a family from Melbourne who were not such confident swimmers. Garry had us swimming around the pool, diving from rocks etc, then he exited the water to get fish food which he threw into the water in front of the family who were clearly uncomfortable with the fish (possibly eels, yes we all saw them) splashing around eating in front of them. But to Garry's hilarity he continued to distress them with continued fish/eel feeding.

What they should tell you:
Bring an enormous sense of humour
Bring an enormous amount of mosquito repellant
Bring swimming shoes
Enjoy swimming in a small pool filled with fish/eels

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Champagne1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant-Knight, Owner at Daintree Discovery Tours, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thankyou Champagne1811 for your review. It's good to see that people take in all the tour, I am very sorry though that you didn't enjoy your experience.

The crocodiles do wake up before 8:30, especially as the sun comes up before 6am at the moment! Sometimes though, as the water temperature is quite warm at the moment, they don't come out and sit on the banks. Thankfully we have now had a little bit of rain, so the water would have cooled off a bit now making the crocodiles more eager to come out of the water. I am glad that you did enjoy your river cruise nonetheless.

As far as morning tea goes, it is hard to beat those "terribly English scones jam and cream." Trust me, we are a big fan of them here in Australia and so make no apologies for having them. In fact, I look forward to them when I am personally taking the tour!

The soft top Land Rover is back! It was getting a good service while you were here so we were using our backup vehicle, a Toyota Troop carrier. Not open top like the Landy, but a good mode of transport to get to the falls. And of course, it has the zebra stripes! The tracks traverse through a cattle property, through some rainforest, cattle paddocks and through a couple of creeks. Definitely need the 4wd, especially after some rain!

The waterfall itself is beautiful, and away from the crowds. You can walk in, but the quickest way in is to jump. All good fun, but if anyone likes to take it slowly, that is always an option. There are quite a few fish in the waterhole. Not to the extent that you bump into them though. In fact, until we throw the fish food in, you wouldn't know that they are there. I will however speak to Garry, and make sure that he doesn't upset people with having too many fish around them. We have not had any complaints from the Melbourne family though.

So do have a sense of humour.
We supply mosquito repellent if needed. (They come and go) Here is a good point though. Wear light colours if you frequently get bitten, mossies prefer dark colours!
We will guide you over the rocks.
Enjoy swimming in a pool that is about 50 meters long by about the same wide with a totally natural beautiful waterfall coming into it and being such a natural and healthy environment, swim with the local wildlife, but without the fear of crocodiles!
Nothing could be better.

Cheers,
Grant Knight
Daintree Discovery Tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our driver Gary is very knowledgeable on everything and is very friendly. He seems to know everything! He is very passionate on what he does - and you can hear the joy in his voice. The skipper on the daintree river is very knowledgeable and passionate as well.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant-Knight, Owner at Daintree Discovery Tours, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review Shirley.

I'm very glad that you enjoyed your time out with us. Garry is very passionate about this area, and always wants to make sure that people get the most out of their experience. Most people really enjoy their time with him.

So thank you once again,
Grant Knight
Daintree Discovery Tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great tour - would recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was a great 1/2 day tour to the waterfall and swimming hole and river cruise. We only saw 1 crocodile which was a little disappointing but better than seeing none.

The guide Grant was fantastic and it was well organised with a good morning tea.

Not sure about the wildlife swimming in the lagoon because couldn't see the bottom of the lagoon but Grant assured us it was safe! Thanks for a great tour of the Daintree.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TraceyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant-Knight, Owner at Daintree Discovery Tours, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review Tracey.

Great to hear that you enjoyed yourself, and liked that wonderful morning tea! It has rained a bit now, so the waterhole will get quite clear. Nothing to worry about in there. It is totally safe and just a glorious place to go swimming.

Cheers,
Grant Knight
Daintree Discovery Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Half day tour - small group, great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

What a great tour! Comfortable in the van without the crowds.Kim , our tour guide, is so knowledgeable on the flora and fauna of area. A flit of colour through a crowded rainforest was followed on cue by the bird species and all it's relevant particulars. The walks are informative and interesting. The river cruise quiet and eco-friendly..we spotted a baby crocodile and some frogs and birds. At the Mossman gorge,the scenery is spectacular and it was cool to get in the water and Kim took some great pics for us!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SuperU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant-Knight, Owner at Daintree Discovery Tours, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thanks for the review SuperU.

Kim is a great guide, who likes to talk, a lot! So he will fill you with all sorts of information. He is a great photographer as well, and always willing to click off a few shots for people. So glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Cheers,
Grant Knight
Daintree Discovery Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daintree Discovery Tours also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Daintree Discovery Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing