We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect combination of adventure, nature and nurture for young ones.”

Daintree Discovery Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Daintree Discovery Tours lets you experience this area rather than just looking. From Mossman Gorge, to Cape Tribulation. Daintree River and the stunning Cassowary Falls. We are the only tour that can get you to this beautiful waterfall (travelling along bush tracks in our soft top Land Rover!). Small groups, exclusive sites with both half and full day tours available.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect combination of adventure, nature and nurture for young ones.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was my 6 year old's 1st adventure and introduction to the rainforest . I could not have asked for more! Our guide,Garry, was so accommodating to her needs. He set up new experiences for her that she embraced with full and active participation. This tour, 1/2 day Cassowary Falls, was the perfect mix of adventure, nature and nurture.
I hope you enjoy it as much as we did! The creek crossings in the 4WD were a real highlight.
Michelle Leon

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichelleChantal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,003
    129
    18
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would recommend this daintree tour!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had the best day with this company. Only 6 guests on the tour. Fabulous vehicle. Our guide Kim was absolutely fantastic, incredibly knowledgable about a very broad range of topics, and lovely to be with. We went to mossman gorge, headed up towards cape tribulation, went to a couple of beaches, had several trips into the rainforest, spotted a cassowary with his 3 chicks, visited a spectacular watering hole with waterfall and enjoyed a peaceful cruise down the daintree river. It is a packed day but it doesn't feel rushed. I would highly recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This tour is great way to see the Daintree and sourrounding area.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Daintree Discovery tour was a great day trip with lots of interesting information and great sights. Our driver,Kim,was fantastic being well organized so we could pack everything in but not be rushed. We also really loved the swim in the waterhole. Well done.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abbey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best tour on our holiday”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I could not rate this tour high enough! We booked the Daintree and Cassowary Falls tour on the recommendation of a tourist shop. Not sure what our expectations were but this tour certainly exceeded them!! Our tour guide was Garry who was exceptionally friendly and went well out of his way to make sure we enjoyed the tour (and get the best photos!!). He really wanted to impart his knowledge of the area but was never dry and boring. Both guides were really passionate about the Daintree and made the tour really informative and entertaining.

My friend and I just wanted to see the Dainetree rainforest but this was the best tour we could have chosen to really 'experience' the rainforest. Cassowary Falls was amazing and the 4WDriving made this tour something else!!

This was definitely the highlight of our trip and I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a bit of an adventure!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kita14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant-Knight, Owner at Daintree Discovery Tours, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review, and an awesome one at that! We always reckon that the rainforest is the best part up here. But like you say to really experience it by getting into secluded areas and ticking off those "bucket list" items is something else again.

The Land Rover ride and swimming at the falls really is something that most people never get to do. So thanks again for sharing your experience and letting others know how special it really is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An excellent taste of the daintree in a half day tour, perfect for families!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, our tour guide Garry was excellent, funny and very knowledgeable! Was a fun half day for us and the 2 kids (3 & 7). We did the morning tour with a cruise along the daintree river to spot crocs and a 4wd trip to cassowary falls for a swim. It was picturesque and so much fun. Next time when the kids are a bit older I'd like to do a full day tour and experience more of the daintree. The trip was perfect for our needs and I'd fully recommend it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamsFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant-Knight, Owner at Daintree Discovery Tours, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you Williams family for your fantastic review. We're really happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves so much with Garry. We look forward to taking you out again in the future to show you more that this wonderful area has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daintree Discovery Tours also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Daintree Discovery Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing