We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Evening”

Flames of the Forest
Book In Advance
More Info
$152.56*
and up
Cairns Flames of the Forest Dining Experience
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Flames of the Forest transports you into a world beyond your imagination so relaxing and uplifting you will never want to leave. A completely intimate, natural experience set within the candle lit rainforest under a black silk canopy highlighted by crystal and budlight chandeliers, Flames of the Forest will create an unforgettable memory at an extraordinary venue. Tuesday and Thursday nights feature two local Aboriginal brothers sharing their remarkable culture with you during the evening. The performance features a cultural background, story telling, didgeridoo playing and song. The rainforest is the natural, authentic backdrop for this spiritual and mystical culture, a performance unique to Flames of the Forest, where you will learn about their timeless oral traditions. Saturday night is for the romantic at heart in this magical place. This intimate evening features a six course tropical tasting menu and quality Australian wines whilst being serenaded by our solo acoustic guitarist. Perfect for honeymooners, small wedding receptions and those seeking a unique dining experience, Flames of the Forest is truly food for the soul.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice Evening”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I consider myself a bit of a gourmand, and so I was really looking forward to this dinner during my stay in Port Douglas, even more so than the Aboriginal culture side of the evening (which I also enjoy immersing myself in). Despite the weather (raining) the staff were very accommodating and it didn't get in the way of the evening (except for the short walk from the bus to the gazebo, for which the staff provided umbrellas.) The food did not disappoint - There was plenty of food to share around with the ten people sat at each table, and each dish was absolutely delicious. I wouldn't recommend it for vegetarians! Kangaroo, Chicken, Wagyu beef, fish, prawns, as well as salad and then a pavlova for dessert...the only downside was I do feel it was slightly overpriced - I would have liked more Indigenous input (they only told one story). Overall can't fault the food or location, culture was great but would have liked more.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank estewart89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, General Manager at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear estewart89,

Thank you for providing such lovely feedback on our food and unique location - it is certainly different to dine in a forest! It is wonderful you enjoyed the menu - we do cater separately for vegetarians so if you have any friends wanting to visit us, fear not, our Chef does some sensational vegetarian meals!

We are delighted you enjoyed the indigenous content. Over the past few weeks we have been working with our cultural partners based on feedback such as yours which highlights the wish to hear more about this wonderful culture - it is great to read there is so much interest and desire to take home more knowledge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    52
    23
    10
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The most romantic, magical dinner ever!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere was breathtaking! Nothing I can say can capture how beautiful it was! The music was beautiful and the food/wine was delicious!

We didn't care for the dessert but we were so full by then that it didn't really matter.

My only complaint was that by the time they were done serving dinner they played one song and that was it - no timing for dancing :-(

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, General Manager at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Erica W,

It is fantastic you found Flames to be so beautiful - thank you for sharing your thoughts! We are delighted you enjoyed the food and our lovely guitarist Stu. Usually we have a little time at the end for those who want to get up and dance so I will check on our running times.

Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to see you in our part of the world again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent food, disappointing otherwise”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked the flames of the forest "experience" for our honeymoon and we are both so incredibly disappointed. We were looking for an interesting and informative dining experience. We wanted to actually learn something about the Aboriginal culture and history. Instead we got an empty gimmicky,10 minute story about the duckbilled platipus and a mediocre, but overpriced meal with 10 strangers (very nice people, but we were not looking for a mixer). If you are looking for a group dinner in a nice forest setting with a tiny bit of a show, go for it, but if you are looking for something with cultural substance, avoid.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, General Manager at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Phil R,

We are disappointed to read your experience did not meet your expectations, particularly when we can see so many people have such an incredible evening with us.

The platypus story is a very significant one to our Indigenous partners - a story that has come from the Dreamtime and been told by generations. The Indigenous content of the evening amounts to approximately one hour of the three hour experience and includes the initial welcome, didgeridoo playing, second welcome, storytelling with didgeridoo finished with Rob's beautiful singing accompanied by clapsticks and didge. The content provided is written by our indigenous partners and presented in a way which is culturally relevant and sensitive to them. There are many types of Indigenous experiences in our region - all of which are very different - in line with the many, many different clans traditions, practices and dress - so it is a shame ours was not what you were looking for.

The evening is a shared dining experience in line with the traditions of our partners and we do go to great lengths in our marketing to ensure our guests are aware they will be seated with others for the duration of the dinner. Our Rainforest Dining Experience on Saturday night offers private tables for two guests and is particularly popular with honeymoon couples.

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback for our review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Beautiful Evening”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Really enjoyed this evening and very unique in my travel experiences. The food, wine and entertainment were very good. Just wished there was more didgeridoo playing while we ate, would have been a nice touch and another story, but it was still a great night.

The transfers went well, just a very memorable evening, can highly recommend.

I would say, that it's not really an evening for kids, seems more of an adult affair.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, General Manager at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear DebbieBridge,

What lovely photos! It's not the easiest venue to photograph however your shots of our fantastic Indigenous partners are great!

Thank you for taking the time to add your thoughts to our evening - we do review the Indigenous content each year and will consider your ideas regarding the storytelling and didge playing.

Thanks again, delighted you had such a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Stunning location - overpriced”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Simply magical dining in the rainforest. What an experience!.

Food was ok but not great but not worth the price. It was recommended by resort staff. Was worth going to see what it was like. The story telling by the local brothers was too short and I was hoping for more. The coach service was great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sparktoflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, General Manager at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Summer1965,

Thank you for taking the time to review your evening at Flames. We are delighted you enjoyed the story telling aspect of the night, and will certainly take on board your feeling that this part of the night was a little too short. We want to make sure we get the balance right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flames of the Forest also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Flames of the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing