We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic night to remember!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flames of the Forest

Flames of the Forest
Book In Advance
More Info
$146.68*
and up
Cairns Flames of the Forest Dining Experience
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Flames of the Forest transports you into a world beyond your imagination so relaxing and uplifting you will never want to leave. A completely intimate, natural experience set within the candle lit rainforest under a black silk canopy highlighted by crystal and budlight chandeliers, Flames of the Forest will create an unforgettable memory at an extraordinary venue. Tuesday and Thursday nights feature two local Aboriginal brothers sharing their remarkable culture with you during the evening. The performance features a cultural background, story telling, didgeridoo playing and song. The rainforest is the natural, authentic backdrop for this spiritual and mystical culture, a performance unique to Flames of the Forest, where you will learn about their timeless oral traditions. Saturday night is for the romantic at heart in this magical place. This intimate evening features a six course tropical tasting menu and quality Australian wines whilst being serenaded by our solo acoustic guitarist. Perfect for honeymooners, small wedding receptions and those seeking a unique dining experience, Flames of the Forest is truly food for the soul.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A fantastic night to remember!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was a fantastic evening. We chose the Saturday evening for couples menu as it was our 29th wedding anniversary. A magical evening with an amazing Australian themed menu that we have never had before. I enjoyed the brilliant flow of food and wine served at the table. The entertainment was brilliant also. The atmosphere was very special for a special occasion. I thought long and hard about spending the money for this event but it was worth every cent. The only downside was that the evening had to end! The table service was the best. Even witnessed a wedding proposal which really topped the evening.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank penml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, Director of Sales at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear penml,

What a lovely review! The magical nature of the forest has certainly made an impact on you which is wonderful - it obviously also inspired a proposal of marriage too! We are delighted you decided to join us and that your experience was everything you had hoped for - magical and romantic with a unique menu and great flow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    51
    22
    10
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent night to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Last night I had the pleasure of eating at the Flames of the Forest Dining Experience. Having visited many fine restaurants along the eastern coast of Australia, including Florentino's and Bob's Steak and Chop house in Melbourne this would have to be some of the best. Dave the chef served up Carppaccio of Kangaroo Loin, Smoked Crocodile rillette and Salsa Verde, Home Made Spanner Crab Tortellini, Pan seared Coral Trout in a lemon myrtle beurre blanc, Port braised beef cheek and completed with a Black sappote pave with and orange blossom cream.

The texture of the Crocodile was sensational and the Tortellini was as good as many Italian Chefs, for those venturing to the Far North of our country please check out Flames of the Forest for the ultimate memorable dining experience.

I forgot to mention the waiting staff, we couldn't fault the waiting staff for their professionalism and great service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, Director of Sales at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Dave N,

WOW! Thank you for your lovely review of your evening at Flames. I have passed on your comments to our Chef David who will be delighted to read you enjoyed his wonderful menu.

Our amazing staff have been with us for many, many years and we always get an abundance of positive comments on their level of professionalism and friendliness.

We hope to see you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

A fantastic evening, great food and wonderful company. We had an amazing time, the story telling was wonderful and so was the aboriginal greeting, truly a wonderful experience that we would love to do again if we get to visit Cairns again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, Director of Sales at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Jill S,

Delighted you enjoyed the Indigenous story telling - it is very beautiful and a wonderful way to learn about Aboriginal culture. We do hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dud of the Forest”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Grossly over-priced for the poor quality and quantity of the food and the lack of real entertainment. The linens were dirty and the chandeliers over the tables were dirty, yuck. Way more bang for the buck to stay in town and eat at a place with live music,
It's just a gimmick in the woods.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Truk1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, Director of Sales at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Truk1298,

We have been waiting for your post given your recent emails had advised you would be placing a negative review if we did not provide you with a refund!

We are disappointed you did not enjoy your evening with us, however we delivered what we said we would and unfortunately you did not like it. We cannot give refunds based on personal taste – we are not aware of a company who does!

However, we do take on board all comments received from reviews and action them. In the case of your review, it is hard to respond to as it contains no constructive criticism and little specifics. You felt the venue was dirty – we can assure you our linens are laundered and crockery and cutlery sparkling, but we need to remember the venue is actually outdoors!. The evening you travelled we had a fabulous singer / guitarist as per our marketing for a Saturday night. If you had wanted more of a dinner and show, our Cultural Experience operates Tuesday, Thursday and Friday nights – it is a great shame for you that you booked the incorrect evening.

As with all music, art, culture, movies, books and food – it all comes down to subjective taste and our staff on the night advised you had had a lovely time. It has saddened us you felt it necessary to post a negative review simply based on misinformation given to you by your travel agent relating to the entertainment inclusion the night you travelled and our decision not to refund you based on that misinformation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Evening Magic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

A 'Must Visit' ! Eerie to have the bus driver turn all lights out on arrival and watch the flames snake across the road into the darkness.

Beautiful meal. Visited on a Thursday night, only 26 visitors that night. It was more food that we could possibly eat but a wonderful range for the tastebuds!

If going, make sure that you attend when there is an indigenous presentation as this really sets the mood for the evening.

When booking, I was told the Saturday nights are for lovers!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ValdaM902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, Director of Sales at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear ValdaM902,

Delighted you feel Flames is on the Must Visit list! We do hope you get to come back and visit us again next time you are in Cairns - perhaps on the Saturday night??!! The arrival won't be as mysterious next time, however we make small changes every year to keep everyone on their toes! I have also passed your comments about the great food on to our Chef and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flames of the Forest also viewed

 

Been to Flames of the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing