We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Douglas Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Port Douglas Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We couldn't have been happier, the apartments are located in the perfect position for Port Douglas - on the corner of Macrossan & Davidson Streets. They are well designed featuring a private, tropical patio & an open plan interior, all very homely & comfortable. The hosts were very friendly & made us feel extremely welcome upon check in & leaving. We wouldn't hesitate to return, this is now our preferred place to stay for a short visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ggirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, it is fantastic to hear that we could offer you just what you needed with your accommodation and location, we are more than pleased that your stay with us was an excellent one, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Karenne & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    26
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
88
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here while in port Douglas for our wedding. Room was clean and bed very comfortable. Underground parking was convenient and location put us in easy access to where we needed to go.

The only problem we encountered was the lack of toilet paper, if someone's booked in for three days one roll probably isn't enough :(

Room Tip: Upstairs keeps you away from footpath traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad our accommodation suited your needs for your wedding. Sorry about the toilet paper this was an over sight by myself there should have been two rolls, which is part of the welcome pack.
Regards David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent 5 nights here last week & desperately didn't want to leave (despite the weather having been a little bit temperamental during our stay). These are apartments are fresh, modern with everything that you could possibly need although walking up & down to the 2nd floor certainly gave me a workout. If you don't like stairs request ground or at most 1st floor. We didn't spend a huge amount of our day in the apartment cos we were out & about sightseeing everyday. Didn't really notice the noise as others have mentioned either. We had a car for the first 2 days due to driving up from Airlie Beach but one doesn't need a car to get around from these apartments cos it's walking distance to everything. Four mile beach is 100m down the road & we loved walking along it around 5pm every night even though it was blowing a gale....the water was warm!!! Next time we'd come back just to relax & chill out. Thanks to Karenne & Dave, hosts extrordinaire (ex Melburnians of course) for an awesome stay in paradise. Luc & Heather

Room Tip: If you don't like or do stairs request ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherNMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi Luc & Heather
Thank you for your wonderful review Karenne and I would love to have you guys back, as for hosts
extraordinaire thanks we appreciated it, as we try to do our best with all our guests.
Regards David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved our 4 day getaway from Sydney. It was a touch windy, but still nice and sunny. Dave & Karenne were great hosts, very helpful and didn’t mind a chat.

Our apartment (103 on ground floor) was great. Nice décor and furnishings. I prefer to have a self-contained apartment and this had all you need to whip up a meal. The bed and bathroom were ok. A nice veranda with a sun lounge outside to enjoy watching the world pass by. On the other side was a communal BBQ and big day bed / lounge which I loved laying back reading a book with a beer.

Pool was nice and clean, although I never managed to work out how to turn the spa on.

A good location for us as it was walking distance to everything pretty much, but not in the middle of the main street. Despite other reviewers comments on noise, I never noticed it at all.
I enjoyed the couples only factor. Hard to find fault and I would definitely stay here again (sooner rather than later I hope).

Room Tip: I liked being on the ground floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Campbelltown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Micheal
Thanks for your great review, one of the bonuses with our job is meeting and chatting with interesting people, it was our pleasure to have you stay at our apartments.
A short, sharp press of the button was all that was needed to get the spa bubbling away :) and thanks for leaving the room so clean - you guys are welcome back any time, Karenne and I really appreciated it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Relocted here following a rapid exit from poor accommodation a few metres further down the street. An excellent choice. Very helpful hosts and a perfect location for the beach and the shops/bars. Clean, modern and very well equipped. Would return in a flash.

Room Tip: All seemed ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERTBARGOED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi Robert
Thanks for your review.
Hope you have your tickets booked for 2017 in New Zealand go Wallabies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just spent a night here with a friend from Melbourne , who has not been to Port Douglas before. Apartment very spacious & modern. Super comfy bed ( I'm very fussy , due to back problems!) Location just perfect for beach, shopping, restaurants. Free onsite parking is terrific also Downside, the constant traffic noise due to being on the corner of Davidson & Macrossan Streets. Not the place to go if you want quiet time by the pool or in your room. I really don't think I could stay here for an extended period because of that. Also, you need to be fit as the only way to the upper levels is by the stairs - not great when lugging suitcases etc. David was most helpful with carrying bags, however.
We had a wander through the shops after checkout and David very kindly allowed us to leave some things in the fridge. A nice touch, thank you:-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuppence61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. During August, our peak month over high season, traffic on the roads increases more than other months. You were also here over the weekend, where Port Douglas hosts the iconic Sunday Markets, fine dining and all of the regular tours to the Reef and Rainforest, that bring many tourists and locals such as yourself into the village. The plus to being located on a corner gives guests views to the Daintree or Flagstaff Hill if you are on the upper floors, and the 4 units on the ground floor have the tropical garden setting. Which ever room you are in you are spared looking out into another resort or the back of shops and restaurants.

Dave & Karenne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

An excellent location on the corner of Macrossan and Davidson streets. Rooms are well designed and very comfortable. Hosts were very pleasant and helpful.
The only downside is that our apartment faced on to Davidson Street which has a lot of traffic noise when on the balcony or with the door open. Also being charged for a third roll of toilet paper after 7 days was a bit petty.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gazza0844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank for taking the time to review our property. We are a "self catering" holiday apartment business, and we supply guests a generous STARTER pack on arrival. You would have had to buy your toilet paper, among other necessities from somewhere - we appreciate you helping our business, and yes our location is excellent however; we are also on the corner at the quieter end of Macrossan St and consequently subject to some traffic noise during the day.

Dave & Karenne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 58 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#12 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balboa Holiday Apartments
Balboa Holiday Apartments
#16 of 58 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Verandahs Boutique Apartments
Verandahs Boutique Apartments
#11 of 58 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macrossan House Boutique Apartments
0.0 mi away
Coral Sea Villas Port Douglas
Coral Sea Villas Port Douglas
#19 of 58 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Apartments

Property: Port Douglas Apartments
Address: 63 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Douglas Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quite end of Macrossan st with only 100m to 4 mile beach and 50m to some of Port's best shopping and restaurants, there should be no need to hire a car.Our rooms are modern with a full size kitchen, separate bedroom and ensuite style bathroom, each apartment has it's own private balcony or patio with garden or Macrossan street views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Port Douglas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 16 Port Douglas Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing