We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartments in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port Douglas Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great apartments in great location”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

These apartments really are lovely. Located close to the centre of Port Douglas, only 100m from the beach at the quiet end of the "main" street. Apartments are for adults only, and are recently redecorated and refurnished. All appear to have an outside terrace or balcony facing the road with a table and chair set. Furniture and decoration is nice and contemporary. The apartments are very clean and well air conditioned. Some of the appliances in the kitchen are older style but perfectly serviceable.

There is a nice shared area with the use of a BBQ and a comfortable outside seating area. There is also a small swimming pool. Washing machines and dryers are also provided in a separate laundry room. Complimentary wifi is provided and works well in the outside areas and was ok in our apartment that was close to reception.

The owner managers are extremely friendly and helpful.

Overall I would definitely recommend this accommodation for couples looking not to blow the budget on a high end resort but looking for some quiet, comfortable accommodation in a good location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASTOKYO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Manager at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thankyou for your review, we are pleased your stay with us was enjoyable.

Dave & Karenne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    29
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
107
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Echuca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband & I are looking forward to our 3rd stay in April 2013. After reading negative reviews, we felt compelled to respond. If you are looking for value for money in a great location, you can't go past Port Douglas Apartments. The rooms are an adequate size for 2, are clean, comfortable and we have recommended them to everyone. I describe them as "not flash, but not daggy either".
It is true the pool is not resort style and we generally only used it on the way back from the beach which is only a 2 minute walk. The laundry facilities are great, free to use and when we were there last, there was detergent available. If we had any queries, David & Karenne we happy to help.
Foodworks is 1min walk away if you are desperate for anything, & Safeway 5 mins.
After reading reviews researching other holidays, I'm convinced there are a lot of whingers who don't want to pay but want all the luxuries. If you are looking for resort style accomodation, then stay elsewhere and pay the resort style price.
We had friends stay last year, & they also have recommended it to their friends. Our only concern is that because it ticks all the boxes, it will become that popular that we won't be able to get in!

Room Tip: We prefer the upper level on the north side, but you do need to walk up 2 flights of stairs. (Helps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Manager at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thankyou for your lovely review, much appreciated.

Dave & Karenne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Rated four star lucky to be 2.5. Has not been updated since it was built thirty years ago. No phones in rooms. Four storeys from car park and no lift. Management staff great. Advertised as smoking but only smoking on balconies. If you are looking for a bit of luxury look elsewhere. If you are a smoker and looking for a bed walking distance from everything then this is it. Unfortunately smokers are second class citizens.

Room Tip: Close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Manager at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
It's unfortunate you did not find our accommodation to your liking however a few items must be clarified: the building has a 4 star rating and has been officially accredited by AAA Tourism, as well we were assessed (and your room in particular) soon after your departure by AAA Tourism for 2013/14 and we have kept our 4 star rating. The building is 14 years old and was upgraded in 2008 . I have checked our listing on Expedia - who you booked through - and we do not have smoking rooms listed. Your request for a smoking room could not be honoured - the policy of this hotel states that smoking is allowed only on the balconies with the balcony doors closed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Thank u we had a great time hope to see u again. Best place to stay good price .the owns r great people .close to the shops and food .the beach is 2mins walk from here .David and partner r good to help with all things thank u

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks Penny hope you see you guys back up here soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We thought the Port Douglas apartments were very well priced, and we weren't expecting much. We were very pleasantly surprised. A great location (on Macrossan Street, close to shops, restaurants and a supermarket and about 2 minutes to the beach), nice rooms, especially the lounge area. The hosts were friendly and helpful, making recommendations and arranging bookings for us. We had a lovely week there.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntandKateandOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks for the great review, it is our aim to make our guests' stay as pleasant as possible with the hope of seeing you all again in beautiful Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed for a few nights here in November 2012. There was a change of management/owners in September 2012.

When we arrived, we were told that our booking was not on their system. Considering that we booked and paid for the apartment through Jetstar.com.au in April 2012 at $200/night, that came to us as a BIG shock. We were told to provide the reception with a copy of the booking (which we had, luckily) and to come back in at least 1/2 hour while they sorted it out. They did offer to store our luggage, but given the fact that we didn't know which room we were going to be in, we declined.

We came back over an hour later and was told that apparently, there was something wrong with their backend (it sounded suspiciously to me like that they didn't check the backend for bookings made through Qantas and Jetstar when they should have).

Anyway, we were shown to our room. They did turn on the air-conditioning for our arrival, which was a nice touch. However, I was disappointed to find that when I checked the bathroom toiletries, they only gave us one bar of soap for a few days stay. So, if you need soap for the basin (to wash your hands) and the shower, you don't have enough bars of soap. Further, when you read the fine print document in the room, they charge you for requests for extra bars of soap (they also said on the fine print that if you needed extra towels, you would be charged). I did complain and got an extra bar of soap for free.

The apartments have two storeys (ground, first & second). We were on the ground floor. There is no lift, so you have to walk up flights of stairs if you are on the first or second floor.

Some other observations:

1. The location of the apartments is great. Central to everything - beach and shops. I cannot deny this and this was the best part
2. There is no washing machine in the apartment. There is a separate communal laundry room with 3 washing machines & 3 clothes dryers on the ground floor. There was no additional fee required to use the washing machines (top loaders) or dryers. You have to bring your own washing powder - there is no dispensing machine for you to purchase washing powder. I thought that this was good (not being actually inside the apartment).
3. There is a car park underneath the apartments. The entrance to the carpark is on Macrossan Street. If you had a big car (I was driving a 4 wheel drive), the spaces weren't exactly generously long (narrowly adequate would be my comment). If there are a lot of cars in the carpark, it's not that easy to manoeuvre to back your car into a carparking spot (so you are facing out with your bonnet to the front). In which case, you may want to consider parking on Davidson Street, outside the main reception
4. The windows/doors on the ground floor were double glazed (at the least). Even though you are smack bang on the corner of Davidson & Macrossan Street, you can't hear the traffic.
5. On the ground floor apartments, the bathroom window faces onto the corridor. Unless you are in room 106, people who walk past your apartment (from the upstairs apartments, as well as others walking past your apartment to leave the complex) can potentially see into your bathroom, as the height of the bathroom windows are not high, the bathroom windows, whilst having a flyscreen, have to be left up/open because there are no fans for the "mist" from the shower and the flyscreen is not a one way view flyscreen. Particularly if you want to use the toilet (though it is equally applicable when using the shower)
6. There are spare umbrellas left for the guests to use, should it rain
7. There is a water fountain machine next to the door to the laundry
8. Before you go to your room, please make sure that you ask the reception how to turn off the fan in the room
9. If you are old or you have short legs, you do notice that there is a bit of a step which you have to step over to get out of the shower (which is a shower/bath)
10. The barbeque was pretty well equipped - one of the best that I have seen and they provide you pretty much with everything that you need
11. There is an alarm clock and safe in the room. The only "pity" was that if you want to put the alarm clock at the top of the bedside drawer to see it, there are sides on the bedside drawer which hinder your view of the time if you are lying on the bed and trying to look at the alarm clock
12. The rooms were very clean and well maintained, but they weren't serviced every day
13. I checked the torch that was provided in the room. I don't think that ours worked, somehow. It was good that you had a torch, but if it doesn't work, then maybe, it would not be any use.
14. There is no flyscreen on the balcony door or the front door on the ground floor
15. The managers were overall reasonably helpful and attentive
16. Beds and pillows were comfortable - beds on the medium to hard side and pillows were on the soft side
17. The kitchen was reasonably equipped. No oven, but they do have a proper electric cooktop

I think that it would have been nice if they had fly spray in the room. We had a few mosquitoes in our room (unfortunately, I got bitten). A few of the other places I had stayed at during my trip had fly spray in the room to kill flies and mosquitoes.

I did not use the pool, so cannot comment on how good it was/was not. Looked clean. I also did not have a laptop, so I could not check the wi-fi connection. You had to get a code to access the wi-fi in your room from the reception, but it was free.

I liked the location of the apartment very much and it was very clean. But I am not so sure whether $200/night is great value for money when it is really essentially a one bedroom apartment roomy enough for 2 people. (the rooms, whilst big /roomy enough for 2 people weren't extremely generous). At $150/night, it could be said that it may be more value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetstarneon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your most comprehensive review, as your booking was made with the previous management, Latitude16, the delay in accepting your booking involved checking with the previous manager to see if this was in fact a legitimate booking, as we never received any information that we had a listing with Jetstar. I have since updated our contact information with Jetstar to avoid this happening again.
Our apartments are all self catering - we provide a basic starter pack for you - the compendium in the apartment does offer these basic items for sale should you require more, as is policy with most accommodation businesses - we also have a Food Works supermarket very close by for anything else you may need .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

These apartments are at the 'quiet' end of Macrossan Street and a short walk to 4 Mile Beach and to restaurants/bars etc. A Brumby's bakery is across the road, which is very handy too! There's a couple of supermarkets a short walk away, if you want to self-cater (which we did one night). There is also a small pool in the complex, and a nice BBQ area, plus a communal lounge area with daybeds and the daily newspapers - nice touch.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment (and have stayed in the same apartment on a previous visit coincidentally). The furnishings have been updated since our last visit. Modern and tasteful. We booked via wotif.com and the rate was $150/night in early October 2012.

The 1 bed apartments are a good size, with the bonus of a balcony with 'plantation shutters' so it's really an extra dining room / area with privacy or shade depending on your preference/time of day.

We'd definitely stay there again in the future for the location and good value. You can pretty much check-in and then leave the car in the u'ground carpark for the rest of your stay, if you're just hanging around the main town / beach / doing tours etc. You can walk to everywhere in town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrisvegasDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your review next time you come back I hope you are pleasantly surprised again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 55 in Port Douglas
1,318 reviews
2.9 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.0 mi away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Apartments

Property: Port Douglas Apartments
Address: 63 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Douglas Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quite end of Macrossan st with only 100m to 4 mile beach and 50m to some of Port's best shopping and restaurants, there should be no need to hire a car.Our rooms are modern with a full size kitchen, separate bedroom and ensuite style bathroom, each apartment has it's own private balcony or patio with garden or Macrossan street views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Douglas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 16 Port Douglas Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing