We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“room 313” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beaches Port Douglas to your Saves list
Beaches Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“room 313”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

we stayed here at the last minute, just went by pictures on the internet room 313 was in need of some renovation, especially the kitchen, also needing new dining chairs which was mentioned to us on arrival at the property that they had been ordered. bathrooms were old but clean,beds and lounge not comfortable and terrible pillows, also had family staying in room 320 they had a better kitchen but said the same about the beds, fridge not very cold.pool too hot. not enough bins around the premises. on the plus side the location was excellent but the place was definitely in need of renovation. i recommend booking a renovated room!

Room Tip: pick a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    35
    21
    4
    6
See reviews for
65
40
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was my third stay at Beaches and it is just perfect, located across road the beach, all rooms with balconies. Rooms are clean and very well presented would recommend to all families and couples. Short walk to shops and cafes. Very friendly and helpful staff

Room Tip: top floor rooms have a view to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed here with my sister and her daughter and was upgraded to an ocean view room. The location is fantastic, right on the beach near the lifesaver tower and only a short stroll to the main street. Unfortunately the apartment was dated and we had an issue with cockroaches. We also requested two queen beds, but the second bedroom was just two single beds pushed together without any cover to stop you from falling in between. Swimming pool is small, but as you're so close to the beach this can be overlooked.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nata63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We found this apartment through a friend who stayed there. They gave us a website: beachaccommodationportdouglas.com.au The website was pretty basic but showed great pictures of what the apartment looked like. That, plus looking at the Tripadvisor reviews, really helped us in selecting where we wanted to stay. We stayed at Beaches over 10 years ago and new that the position of this complex is second to none. Apartment 306 is a ground floor apartment which, as seniors, we really liked (no stairs) and has been full fully renovated to a great standard. However, there were 2 small stairs leading from the dining area down to the lounge, but, that was OK. We stayed there for 10 nights and loved the position of this apartment. We ate in a fair bit and cooked a number of meals on the BBQ which is only a few steps from the front door. By the way, the butcher shop near The Coles Supermarket in town has the best selection of top quality meats that we have seen in a long time. Also, the coffee shop on the corner (which is only 50 metres away from the front door) has great coffee and serves huge breakfasts. A great way to start the day. On that subject, Sassi is a restaurant at the end of Macrossan Street and serves terrific pasta and italian wine. A great destination for an evening meal. Try the "squid ink" pasta. Absolutely fabulous. The apartment is a huge 2 bedder with 2 ultra modern bathrooms and a fabulous kitchen with stone bench tops. The furniture is very much in keeping with the style of the apartment and is great. The balcony is huge and very private. We reckon this is the best apartment in the complex. Other guests told us that their apartment was very dated and needed work. We showed them our apartment and they said they would stay in 306 next time for sure. My wife and I will return to this apartment when we next stay in beautiful Port Douglas as it is so close to the beach. We really enjoyed our stroll on the 4 mile beach every day. November 2013. Geoff B, Melbourne.

Room Tip: Specifically ask for apartment 306. It is the only fully renovated apartment in the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoffBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My two sisters and I spent a week in November at Apt 311. I had rung to request a ground floor which was provided. We had an excellent apartment at the northern end of the building with a lovely outdoor balcony overlooking the pool but with the tropical vegetation giving us privacy. We had direct access to the pool from our balcony gate. The location was excellent overlooking the beach. It was perfect for a walk and swim first thing before breakfast. We were next to the street but with the vegetation our spot was very private and quiet. It was also just a stroll round the corner to the main street and the shops and restaurants. The layout of the apartment gave us plenty of room to spread out with a lovely main bedroom and ensuite with a spa bath. The only issue with the layout was the odd entrance to the second bedroom having to go along the stairs leading to the sunken lounge area. The office service was pleasant, friendly and most helpful with suggestions and bookings for the wonderful trips that we took during the week. My sisters and I thoroughly recommend Beaches to all wanting to be close to the beach with lovely spacious apartments with all you could wish for. We would stay there again if we were lucky enough to be able to stay at Port Douglas again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Room 304 was situated on the ground floor with easy access to the swimming pool and spa, however we found the pool water warm and not very refreshing. The apartment itself was roomy, its a bit dated and needs upgrading especially the bathrooms. The kitchen was OK but a bit on the dark side, perhaps more lighting would help. Although the apartments are a bit expensive the location was perfect for us, across the road from the beach. Beaches cafe great for breakfast, lunch/brunch and the Port Douglas Surf Club a few steps away was excelledt for dinner - we had 3 evening meals there and afternoon drinks on a couple of occasions after walking 5-6klms along the beach. A nice gesture was a note in the hallway cupboard saying it was the property of the owners however you are welcome to use and replace. We stayed 7 nights (cost to us $ 3026.77 inluding credit card surcharge). Parking for our rental car was under cover and convenient. We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Port Douglas and hope to holiday there again. If we chose Beaches next time we would definitely ask for an apartment on the 2nd or 3rd floor. At this time we would like to thank the owners of Unit 304 for allowing us to stay in their apartment. Onthe fourth day we were treated to fresh towels and personal items (soap/shampoo/moisturiser etc)..
Carol & Peter Sexton

Room Tip: we booked and paid for an Ocean View Room and as our room # 304 was on the ground floor we only had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very impressed with this resort, we booked through Seascape Holidays and stayed in room 310 which was a ground floor room with direct access to the pool which was fantastic. The furniture was modern, very new looking and master en-suite had been beautifully renovated. Overall the entire unit was very well kept and had all the amenities you could want in a self contained unit. It was literally steps to the main beach and a very short walk into town. We made many trips to the local Shakes Gelati shop, yum! We would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank katesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Beachfront Terraces
Beachfront Terraces
#37 of 44 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mowbray By The Sea
Mowbray By The Sea
#18 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#22 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reflections of Port Douglas
Reflections of Port Douglas
#27 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#12 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Port Douglas

Property: Beaches Port Douglas
Address: 19 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beaches Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaches Port Douglas is the ideal holiday getaway for couples and families. Each apartment provides large living areas and spacious bedrooms, with stunning views out to the Coral Sea. The property is perfectly located on The Esplanade, close to restaurants, cafes, boutique shopping and the famous Four Mile Beach. Beaches Port Douglas offers a complimentary barbeque area, large resort-style swimming pool, undercover car parking, and tour desk services. Beaches Port Douglas features a selection of two and three bedroom apartments with private balconies and spa baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Beaches Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing