We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beaches Port Douglas
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were at first a bit surprised to see a small reception place, almost like a shop. However, later realized that this was their central control point of several of their properties. We were earlier reserved at terraces, but the staff was very nice ( Lesley), to offer us the lower floor at the Beaches Apartments. Direct access to pool, big rooms, nice dining kitchen and living room areas. We had an excellent stay. Very friendly and helpful staff. Location is awesome. The Cafe next to the reception makes great breakfast and snacks and a fish restaurant right opposite is delicious food. Beach is across the street and is visible from upper floors. Macrossan Street is a short walk and is the main street. The only thing that was missed dearly in today's world of connectivity is - Internet. There is no internet in the apartments or terraces. That's pitiful. One has to walk with laptop ipad to the reception and take a chair outside to have access. Thats not comfortable. Hopefully this review will get to someone who can get the internet service installed. Over all - will certainly visit again and recommend to friends and family. Thanks very much - Lesley.

Room Tip: Ground level have direct access to the pool. Pool is very well maintained and very enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HardeepSethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    38
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
68
44
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

One of the best points about Beaches is that the apartments are a great size,plenty of room especially in the living area. Personally I like being on the bottom level so that I have direct access to the pool, however if you prefer to look out to the ocean you maybe better on the upper levels.
Pool area works well and being across the road from the beach is great.
Close to shops and dinner if you prefer walking to driving.
Have to mention that the apartment was looking a bit tired. Will be nice when the new bathrooms are put in. No wifi can be an inconvenience.
However as mentioned by others this old not stop me staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4747092016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Beaches is directly across from the beach and is a very short stroll to Macrossan Street shops.
We stayed in a ground floor unit. I would highly recommend these for families with kids and for the elderly. There are no lifts to 1st & 2nd Floors. Ground floor units have direct access to pool area. The inside of the unit was of a good quality and the beds comfortable. The patio area is large enought for a 6 seater outdoor setting and two sun lounges. The pool is adequate & looks smaller than how it feels when your in the water. The pool temperature was very very hot & at first it bothered me.....until i went to the beach for a swim and it was the same temperature!
I have stayed at many other places before in Port Douglas. When returning next time I will stay at Beaches again purely based on location & comfortable. It you are after the newer / glossier resorts with huge pools you need to stay further out of town towards Oaks Lagoons.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you're travelling with kids. No lifts to higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAK1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My son and I stayed at the Beaches for a week during the Total eclipse of the sun event. The apartment was spacious, convenient location, and right across from the beach. We rented a car and bikes for the week. The inconvenience was no wifi. We had to go to an Internet cafe. If you run out of toilet paper there is an extra charge. No maid service, some staff minimally helpful, but not all. The furniture was dumpy. That said I would still recommend this Port Douglas location as the price point was reasonable unlike most other lodgings in the area. There is a lovely little cafe on location serving breakfast and lunch which was very convenient. If one however is expecting an all around good value for lodging, activities, and service, I would recommend visiting a different country altogether.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bateau Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife & I stayed at Beaches for a week at the end of October for our 20th anniversary. It is at one of the best locations in Port Douglas, across the road from 4 mile beach at the flags, and is at the end of the main street, which means you can walk to all the shops etc. Beaches itself is excellent, a beautiful pool (very warm), great views, very helpful & friendly staff. I was told today by one of the owners that they will be getting new bathrooms followed be kitchen reno's. We would highly recommend Beaches for families or couples.
Paul & Jennie

Room Tip: Ground floor has direct access to the pool. 1st and 2nd floor have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Fantastic holiday, situated only about 30 metres from the sandy beach, and overlooking the ocean, One of the great places to stay in Port Douglas. Well equipped accommodation and helpful staff. A short easy walk into town

Room Tip: Choose an upper room for a better view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was a great spot to stay. Nice and roomy apartment. Mostly loved the view from our balcony, the beach and the pool. It was a great location as we didn't need a car because we could walk to everything. Helpful staff that made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: A unit with beach views make it a special trip. Maybe downstairs if you have a pram.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tashie0522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Mowbray By The Sea
Mowbray By The Sea
#18 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachfront Terraces
Beachfront Terraces
#37 of 44 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reflections of Port Douglas
Reflections of Port Douglas
#27 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#24 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 819 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Port Douglas

Property: Beaches Port Douglas
Address: 19 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beaches Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaches Port Douglas is the ideal holiday getaway for couples and families. Each self contained apartment provides large living areas and spacious bedrooms with stunning views out to the Coral Sea. Each apartment has its own laundry with washer & dryer and pool towels are provided in each apartment. The property offers a selection of two and three bedroom apartments with private balconies or terraces. The property is perfectly located on The Esplanade close to restaurants, cafes, boutique shopping and across from the famous Four Mile Beach. Beaches Port Douglas offers a complimentary barbeque area, large resort-style swimming pool, undercover car parking and tour desk services. Free Wi-Fi access is available throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Beaches Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing