We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not wheelchair friendly at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Overall the accommodation is fine but if you need a disabled room, especially for wheelchair, it's ok but DON'T expect to be able to use any other facilities. The pool is totally inaccessible. The BBQ area is totally inaccessible. The laundry is a task and a half for any disabled person wheelchair or not. The fold out bed is incredibly uncomfortable with a solid bar right through the middle so if you want you or your kids to have a sore back just don't use it. The floor would be more comfortable. The only plus with this place is that it is right on the main street. Owners are nice but make sure you always do the right thing to keep them that way!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevelyan&Her, Owner at Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to place a review. Our wheel chair accessible apartment is very user friendly in fact we have folks in wheel chairs and with other disabilities come year after year because it so well set up.If we are contacted about the apartment we have a pdf file with images and information on the apartment we are more than happy to forward guests done by the local council Disabilities Officer. We do not hide the fact that there are stairs to the pool and BBQ area and it is a problem for some folks with a disability. This is some thing well tell any guest booking this apartment. The laundry is on the ground floor and accessible down the ramp at the front of the building. As always we are here to assist anyone to access any part of the building. With regards to the Rollaway bed they are not that comfortable we know and once again we tell any guest that contacts us direct that fact. We can supply more than one mattress if asked at the end of the day they are a cheaper option for the guest that wants 3 persons in a one bedroom apartment that is set up to sleep two rather than book two apartments. Regards, Trevor & Philippa Hurst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 380 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

In the middle of the high street but set back from the road so quiet. Underground parking for guests.
Within 100 yards 3 pubs & 7 other restaurants. Coles supermaket next door.
5 minutes walk to the Marins for boat trips.
Owners are very friendly & helpful & keen to arrange trips.
No maid service while we were there but very smart & clean.
Large living area with comfortable seats. Well equiped kitchen including microwave. No cooker but hot plate. Large shower/toilet. Introductory tea, coffee & bath kit.
Balcony close to next door.
Small pool & sun terrace

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glennmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Arrived to be met by a delightful and helpful Trevor and Pip. Simply a terrific self contained unit right on Macrossan St. Thoroughly recommended. And you really don't need a car as beach, hotels and shopping all within walking distance. Darryle Knowles and Angela Jones

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darryleknowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was yet again a return journey as this place was the best we have stayed in since visiting Port Douglas( 9 years now) Eventually you have to find the perfect spot. Quiet, relaxed, CENTRAL,perfect hosts feels like you're home with all the advantages & no pressure. I have nothing to say against Macrossan House apart from fact of becoming too popular & well known which may lead to lack of accommodation for us. Pool is perfect & clean - apartments likewise. Position could not be better, beds super comfy, large fridge great couches foxtel on tap. What more do you want?? Ever tried a self contained apartment within walking distance to everything you need,and the perfect hosts to organise every tour you could possibly want or need?? My advice is give it a go - you will not be disappointed - but not in Feb we want accommodation too

Room Tip: Sorry can't give you advice on "our" room But they are all good apart from garden apar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JUDY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We found the Macrossan House Appts purely by chance . They were just what we were looking for. Beautifully kitted out with everything we could need to cater for ourselves and with Trevs help and advice we enjoyed trips out to Cape Tribulation , the Great Barrier Reef and all the other spectacular areas of beauty that are so convenient to Port Douglas.We shall certainly be recommending the appts to friends who are wishing to travel to Australia and stay in N.Queensland. Thank you Trev and Pip we so enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliroo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We found the apartments by pure chance but were highly impressed. Very good for self-catering with good facilities. The pool area although small is lovely for a quick dip after a days sightseeing. The apartments were very clean and comfortable and excellent value for money. Very centrally located in Port Douglas and with free car parking.. Trev was very helpful in helping us plan day trips and was very knowledgeable about the local area. We would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend them.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very nice clean rooms, pool is fairly small and closed in but spotlessly clean. The great rooms and huge beds make more than up for it, too. Great self catered place in an excellent location. Been there twice now and happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fritz4777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
759 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 57 in Port Douglas
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#3 of 57 in Port Douglas
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 57 in Port Douglas
1,359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coconut Grove Apartments
Coconut Grove Apartments
#4 of 57 in Port Douglas
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
#7 of 57 in Port Douglas
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments

Address: 19 Macrossan St | Queenslanld, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $80 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macrossan House Boutique Holiday Apartments Recipient of Tripadvisor's CERTIFICATE of EXCELLENCE award 2012,13, 14, 15 ,16 and inducted into Trip Advisor Hall of Fame 2015.Winner Best Boutique Accommodation Port Douglas 2012, 13, 14 and Finalist 2015. Stylish boutique style holiday apartment accommodation in the centre of the village of Port Douglas. 16 Fully self-contained 1 & 2 bedroom self contained apartments set back from the main street Macrossan Street for peace and quiet to ensure a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. Each super clean apartment is individually Air conditioned with Ceiling fans, Ensuite, Kitchen, Microwave, Hot plates, Fridge Freezer, Digital LCD TV, DVD & Foxtel, Private Balcony and Car park. Free Wireless Internet access from all apartments. HEATED Pool with In pool Spa area & BBQ area on site laundry.With a full onsite tour and information desk use our extensive local knowledge to get the very best from your stay in Port Douglas the Jewel of the Pacific Ring. Only a short stroll away: famous Port Douglas 4 Mile Beach, fabulous Marina Mirage, great award winning restaurants & cafes, boutique stores and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing