We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location/Relaxing Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights and found the accommodation to be very clean and tidy, the location was in the centre of the main street, making it easy to walk everywhere in the town. The hosts were very friendly and happy to help out with any information on places to visit and bookings. they even through in an esky for us to borrow on one of our day trips. They made you feel very welcome. If we go back to Port Douglas we would not hesitate to stay again. Some neighbours were a bit noisy but thats the luck of the draw.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for an upstairs room as we were on the bottom level and the noise came from the room above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blanchos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 380 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is the third time I have stayed at Macrossan house and as always, it is amazing value for the price. The boutique apartments offer comfy sized bedroom, fully functional bathroom with shower, lovely little balcony, great living room (digi tv with austar) modern quiet aircon ( really quiet setting) and a great little galley kitchen with 2 hot plates, microwave, fridge, ample crockery, cutlery , spatulas etc, kettle, ironing board, good iron, hair dryer, washing up liquid, cloths and brushes all provided. there's even a plunge cafetiere in the cupboard. there is also a coin laundry in the basement if you need to wash your clothes!!!

The beds are always comfortable, good quality bedding, extra blankets etc, lockable safe in the room. It really feels like a home away from home. It's centrally located ( really!) and walking distance from everywhere spectacular in Port Douglas. The beaches at the end of the road in one direction and a wharf at the other end of the road. Pubs, restaurants, fab shopping are all at your fingertips ( including medical centre and chemists).

Trevor and Pip run it and two nicer and more accommodating people you cannot meet in the hospitality business. They ALWAYS are super cheery and will bend over backwards to facilitate a trouble free happy stay. I have NOTHING negative to say as yet again.... It's fabulous . Book ahead!!! It's an opportunity too good to miss.

Room Tip: I travel a lot and this is always one of my favourite places to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JL N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was our 8th trip to Port Douglas and we usually stay at 'boutique' hotels some way out of town. We have seen Macrossan House before as we have walked past and often said we should give it a try. We were really impressed on many levels! The location is fantasic and this allowed us to walk around town easily, plus saved us the cost of our usual car hire. The room was very clean and a good size, with a usable kitchen. We were pleasantly surprised, as the price was very keen and we were prepared for less. Importantly, Trevor and Pip were wonderful hosts who always had a smile and lots of local knowledge they were happy to share. It really makes a difference to have managers who are focused on good service and have a vested interest in repeat business. We'll be back! Howard & Julie

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Have just spent 12 days in Port Douglas at Macrossan House. Wonderful place to stay, positioned perfectly in town, clean, comfortable units with everything provided. Trevor was extremely helpful in suggesting things to do and booking them. Nothing was to much trouble and we would recommend this place to anyone of our friends. Peter and Robyn

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We just spent a night at Port Douglas to attend a wedding and wanted somewhere close to town and this place is perfectly positioned to everything.The rooms are comfortable and self contained and the whole complex was clean,tidy and quiet.The bed and pillows were very nice and l slept well .The parking area seemed pretty safe but is quite tight for parking. Our patio for Room 1 didnt give us much privacy as you look straight into another resort but it was very peaceful. We arrived early at 12.30 and were welcomed to the room at that time which was great.Nice peaceful self contained apartments right in the centre of town that are reasonably priced and allowed us a 1 night stay . Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulyjCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Macrossan House wasn't actually our first choice but due to not booking accommodation before we arrived in Port Douglas and arriving after 4pm on a Saturday we found that a fair few of the receptions in other places were closed, including the one we originally were looking at.

In saying that.... we are 100% glad that the reception was closed as we could not have been happier with the location and amenities Macrossan House supplied. Set back off the main street of Port Douglas & right beside the Coles shopping centre (and bottleshop) it couldn't have been any easier. We had a kitchenette, no oven, but there was a double electric hot plate that served us well for the nights we ate in. Bed was super comfy (queen size bed, not a zip together bed) and overall we found the apartment to be quite cosy and comfortable.

Trevor was fantastic, very helpful when it came to where to go and who to see. I would definitely recommend this place and would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: A word of warning - some hotels and resorts are too far from the main street to walk there comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We visited in early April, Easter weekend when Port Douglas is heaving and arrived late and tired. The apartment was splendid, roomy,quiet, cool on 1st floor and overlooked pool and had all we needed. We didn't cook; there are very good restaurants and Trevor was kind enough to recommend and arrange day-trips very efficiently. We would stay again and have recommended them already.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesandviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
759 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 57 in Port Douglas
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#3 of 57 in Port Douglas
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 57 in Port Douglas
1,359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coconut Grove Apartments
Coconut Grove Apartments
#4 of 57 in Port Douglas
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
#7 of 57 in Port Douglas
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments

Address: 19 Macrossan St | Queenslanld, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $80 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macrossan House Boutique Holiday Apartments Recipient of Tripadvisor's CERTIFICATE of EXCELLENCE award 2012,13, 14, 15 ,16 and inducted into Trip Advisor Hall of Fame 2015.Winner Best Boutique Accommodation Port Douglas 2012, 13, 14 and Finalist 2015. Stylish boutique style holiday apartment accommodation in the centre of the village of Port Douglas. 16 Fully self-contained 1 & 2 bedroom self contained apartments set back from the main street Macrossan Street for peace and quiet to ensure a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. Each super clean apartment is individually Air conditioned with Ceiling fans, Ensuite, Kitchen, Microwave, Hot plates, Fridge Freezer, Digital LCD TV, DVD & Foxtel, Private Balcony and Car park. Free Wireless Internet access from all apartments. HEATED Pool with In pool Spa area & BBQ area on site laundry.With a full onsite tour and information desk use our extensive local knowledge to get the very best from your stay in Port Douglas the Jewel of the Pacific Ring. Only a short stroll away: famous Port Douglas 4 Mile Beach, fabulous Marina Mirage, great award winning restaurants & cafes, boutique stores and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing