We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place I've Ever Stayed!”
Review of Oaks Lagoons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks Lagoons
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Place I've Ever Stayed!”
Reviewed January 20, 2010

After pouring through reviews on this website I decided to stay at Oaks Lagoons for our trip to Port Douglas. I was pleasently surprised by what I can only describe as an awesome place to stay!

Our trip started by flying into Cairns ans opting for the Oaks Lagoons transfer service for $33 per person. Great decision! The company who they used were there waiting for us with signboards, in uniform and was an easy uncomplicated way to get to the apartments.

After a 4am start and 9 hours in transit I was relieved when greeted by a very professional reception, who warmly checked us in, giving us maps and food options.
The hotel was very vell maintained, we were in a studio swim-out apartment which offered a king bed, bar fridge, sink, tea/coffee and a few plates, cups and cutlery. The room was clean, had air-con, fans and of course, a stunning pool!

There were 5 or 6 pools around the resort and they were all as warm as spa baths! Although we shared our pool with 6 other swim-out rooms which were mostly occupied, we had the pool to ourselves most the time as everyone was off doing different things through-out the day.

We had dinner once at Tree-Tops next door and were very impressed at the service and quality of food. Most the time we travelled into town to various places to eat and a few nights we bought meat and salad and made use of the BBQ facilities on-site.

Getting to and from town was an easy 10 minute drive on the shuttle bus visiting other resorts. The shuttle comes frequently and drops at different places around town picking up at the Tree-Tops next door.

We had mobile phone and internet reception from our room so was able to book all our tours ourselves.

Only negative is when a family is in the pool it can be very noisy in the rooms. There is a 7am-9pm curfew on the pools though and the gates get locked at night so we actually found it very quiet at night.

Over-all I loved the place and would go back again any day!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    309
    105
    40
    29
See reviews for
227
362
15
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney NSW
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed at the Oaks Lagoons over New Year 2009/10. Booked a deluxe 2 bed apt for 3 nights and a swim out for 6 nights. Lots of space, interconnecting room in the main apartment so our 6 year old could sleep in there - swim out has 'office' space next to master bedroom with fold out bed which was fine for that. Swim out patio area could have been cleaner, but it was ideal with kids and provided shade in hottest part of the day. Staff were friendly and helpful - especially Danielle on reception. Pools were lovely and usually pretty quiet. Our older kids came for a few nights and there was plenty of space for them too. Close enough to town and shuttle buses usually worked well. Great to have some satellite channels on the TV. My husband and I both used the onsite massage service. Thank you Oaks - we'll definately be back !

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeeperSydneyNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

first i was a bit like will i like it when i walked in oaks lagoons because im so used to bigger places and using more pools. then after the first day i feel in love with this place. the easy access to the pool as we had a swim out and with kids it was a bonus as they would get up in the morning and be swimming and we could sleep in. the place is 5 star rated from us we will be returning here 100%. the rooms were so modern and clean, so spacious, and comfortable, do not listen to anybody about the avoid this 1, this is the no 1 place to stay. we felt like we were in melrose place it was so private, and the week we stayed their was no one there so all the lagoons were ours that was a bonus. danielle in the reception was fantastic, great help with everything we needed she was the best, thank you danielle for everything if u read this. the bowen massage was amazing will be getting it again when we return, its a must do if u stay at the lagoons. all i can say is that we love the oaks lagoons and yes we will be back thank you for a fantastic 14 day holiday christmas and new year 2010 to danielle and the oaks lagoons.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday20072008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We have stayed at The Oaks Lagoons twice. Our first stay was good and knowing we would be back a few months later we booked a swim-up room, which looked amazing. Our second stay was nowhere near as good as the first, and consquently we will not be back for a third. On our first stay our room was serviced each day, including having beds made and rubbish removed; this time however, beds were not made and the bins piled up. When we enquired with reception we were informed that our room was "semi-serviced" only. Then when we ran out of toilet paper and asked the staff for more she came back with a box of tissues and said she couldn't find us any toilet paper...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calypso578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Our stay was great, we booked a 2 bedroom apartment not knowing that it was actually just a one bedroom apartment with a hotel room right next door, so the hotel room went unused. we just used the study for a bedroom for our daughter which was perfect. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, the only thing lacking for us with a young child is that there was no bath. We had a swimout room which was great, wish the weather was better, we would have swam a lot more. The barbeque facilities were FABULOUS, everything was provided and it was a great social environment we met some lovely people. I went and had an amazing massage at the massage centre on the 2nd floor, I highly recommend doing that. The only downside to our trip was buying a calling card in town and not knowing that Cairns was not a local call and finding out when checking out that we had a huge phone bill, I'm glad we only stayed 2 nights and didn't have time to make more calls!!! Overall we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjbrown2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

We stayed in a two bedroom swim out apartment. Both bedrooms were of a good size as where the two bathrooms. One of the bedrooms led out to the swimming pool as did the sitting room. You can open the gate between the two patios, though they are still quite separate.

There was a TV in the lounge and also one of the bedrooms. There was also a DVD player in the lounge. Both bedrooms and the lounge had an air-conditioner and also a ceiling fan. There was also a ceiling fan in the study off of the main bedroom.

It was wonderful being able to step out of our room and straight into the swimming pool. The pool was nice and warm and has a seat running along the length of it so that you can sit in the water. I enjoy sitting in the pool and reading my book at the end of each day.

The BBQ area is set up well with 3 BBQs and plenty of seats and tables.

There is a supermarket just down the road which is open until 9pm.

We enjoyed our stay at the Oaks Lagoons and found the girls on reception to be very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank summernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Great place to stay. We had swim out 2 bedroom apartment - very roomy and had everything we needed. Beds were so comfortable and air conditioning in each room which was great. Having the pool right outside your door was fantastic. Would recommend to anyone. We certainly would go back there.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hickshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.9 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#17 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lagoons

Property: Oaks Lagoons
Address: 2 Langley Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Lagoons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 minutes stroll to Four Mile Beach, the new Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas is a relaxed getaway which aims to please with its friendly service, relaxed ambiance and unique ‘lagoon’ lifestyle. There are six lagoon-style pools, from which guests can swim to their apartment balconies, as well as barbeque facilities within a lush landscaped setting to make the most of the tropical breezes. At the Oaks Lagoons, accommodation styles vary, from hotel rooms with large corner spas, to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments complete with gourmet kitchen and laundry facilities. There are also rooms with the ‘swim out’ option or apartments with their own private plunge pool and spa. All rooms offer air conditioning, king beds, broadband connectivity and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas
Oaks Lagoons Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing