We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation bliss”
Review of Oaks Lagoons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Lagoons
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2014

A great spot, we were 3rd floor up, not swim up but I preferred that security anyway. A friend and I spent a relaxing 5 nights swimming, hired bikes for a bargain from the reception and rode along the beach, went next door to eat, and catch a shuttle to town. Walked around the corner a bit to a cocktail bar and to shops. Great location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeistyKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thanks for staying with us Kel and submitting a review. Pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our bicycles to explore Port Douglas. Who needs a car when you can get the wind in your face. With the CBD only 15 minutes by bike away, chaining up to a lamp post at some cosy café is a great way to get into the holiday mode. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 934 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

A friend and I bought a Groupon voucher to Oaks Lagoon. I stayed herea few years ago with my young family and loved it. This time however, the rooms had a very damp smell that was rather unpleasant. Barbara, at the front desk, gave us a choice of two other rooms which was great as we found one that smelt less. The lifts STUNK!!! My asthma played up due to the dampness. Guess we got the worst rooms being part of a promotion deal. Not bad if u get a fresh smelling room. If u get a deal, guess u can't expect to get the best room.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayzie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Hi Gaye, thanks for the feedback and for staying with us again and I am sorry the rooms had a damp smell. We no not leave air-conditioners on in vacant rooms as the cost of electricity makes this prohibitive. During periods where we have a lot of rain as we have had this season, this can happen but usually once the room is opened up or the air-conditioning system is turned on, they return to normal. Just one of the joys of a tropical environment that you don’t get in more southern climates. As a strata title property we have to distribute bookings evenly throughout the resort so there is no ‘better rooms’ for guest who pay a higher rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Can't get passed the dirty sheets on the bed it was the worst! Shower floor mouldy! If i knew this was what we had to look out for the minute we walked in it wouldn't have been so bad and i would've asked for it to be cleaned but not realising until halfway through our 5 night stay, let us down! Overall nice apartment, roomy, 3 aircons, great kitchen, tv's etc but not a fan of a dirty room - no excuse!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank BundeePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

I am sorry you did not find the cleaning issues until half way through your stay, however for the benefit of others who may be reading this review, please always feel comfortable to bring these matters to our attention. If something has been over looked, we have no hesitation in rectifying any problem for our guests. Our aim is to ensure you have a great holiday and that doesn’t mean putting up with something that is not right for the duration of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had 8 nights at the Oaks Port Douglas and would most definitely recommend to a family wanting to travel to the area. We had a 2 bedroom swim out which was fabulous and though our kids are older and constant supervision not necessary for a young it would allow a lot more freedom. The kitchen was basic with a mirowave / convection oven but there are BBQ and we have a number of meals next door so we felt we had the best of both worlds. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing seemed to be a problem. I have noticed some criticism from other in regards to noise from young families but that was certainly not the case when we were there, Once you shut your rooms for the night, turned on the air conditioning, climbed into our very comfortable beds you had thought we had the place to ourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kateoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thanks Kate for your review, it is appreciated. We are pleased you and the family enjoyed the 2 bedroom swim out apartment and your time in Port Douglas. The BBQ area is very popular with our guests, not only because of the great BBQ’s , but as we provide other equipment like a kettle, toaster and also a microwave, which is great to do some peas, beans or oth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which had a full kitchen, laundry, living area, balcony spa.
All amenities were clean the only remark is that the walls could use a paint due to lots of wear and tear.
The pool was lovely and the staff very helpful.
We will definetely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regional1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We very much appreciated your business and the time you have taken to submit a review of the property. In some of the rooms we do find with the paint does leave a shine where we have cleaned. We will address this when we next repaint the rooms with a better quality wash & wear paint. We look forward to having you back with us again at some time in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My Husband and I set off on a short break adventure to Port Douglas with very high expectations. The unit we had was a 1 bedroom deluxe swim out. The unit itself was clean and tidy when we arrived. We were initially happy with our location. After 2 days of our holiday we realised we were on the no-sun side of the resort, Yes there is such a thing. We were on the right hand side of the resort looking from the front and a ground floor unit as all swim-outs are. The sun bathed the opposite side and the pool and verandahs on that side looked very inviting, unfortunately our verandah and pool never had any direct sunlight therefore, the pool was freezing and unusable. The main bedroom of our unit faced directly onto the carpark area and as such created privacy issues and the stairs that ran above to the side of our unit were lit until 5am every morning. Even with the blinds closed this was irritating!
The lounge in the Living area was the most uncomfortable thing I have ever experienced. There was no Hair-dryer, no Pay TV and no TV in the bedroom which are basic inclusions at most hotels. I have stayed at Oaks in Port Stephens and these are standard inclusions. Very poor amenities in the kitchen as well, no oven just a convection microwave??
The best thing about this resort was that the Remada was located next door and we were able to enjoy their restaurant and facilities.
Very poor experience, will not recommend or return unfortunately.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the sunny side as the shaded side definately impacts your stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twinsmake7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

I am sorry your stay didn’t meet your expectations. I am pleased to advise since your visit we have commenced a program of heating our pools on the side that gets ‘less sun’ with the first one now heated for the coming winter period. Being in the tropics heating of pools is not something that has been mainstream, but with the long wet season this year they haven’t had as much sun as usual. Whilst we do have full blinds in the apartment bedrooms, light does filter in around the edges. The hotel rooms do have full blackout curtains in those rooms. I cannot comment on the privacy issues for your bedroom when there are blinds that close.
Also, we do have Foxtel on the TV’s and there is sticker with instructions on the TV’s explaining how to access these. Alternatively a call to reception would have resolved this quickly. Hair Dryers are also provided; if yours was missing I do apologies it must have been missed by housekeeping. The convention microwave, is a normal convention oven, but also has the ability to microwave food as well. Thank you for taking time to leave this feedback, whilst not what we like to hear, it is only through monitoring and acting on feedback that we can maintain the standards we strive to achieve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Only stayed one night and the room was clean and comfortable. We had a studio room with a spa on the balcony. Unfortunately the free WIFI was only 30 minutes per day and quite expensive to buy.....our only hotel to do this is 3 weeks of travelling!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank icehouse45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and your review. I note your comments about the internet costs after the 30 minutes daily free access. This free access is only new for us having previously been a charge only option. Interestingly, we have had a lot more comments since we began offer the first 30 minutes free. I am pleased the room met your expectations and I see you had a lovely dinner at Nautilus. It’s a great spot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.3 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
542 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
734 reviews
0 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 42 in Port Douglas
943 reviews
2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lagoons

Address: 2 Langley Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $75 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Lagoons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 minutes stroll to Four Mile Beach, the new Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas is a relaxed getaway which aims to please with its friendly service, relaxed ambiance and unique ‘lagoon’ lifestyle. There are six lagoon-style pools, from which guests can swim to their apartment balconies, as well as barbeque facilities within a lush landscaped setting to make the most of the tropical breezes. At the Oaks Lagoons, accommodation styles vary, from hotel rooms with large corner spas, to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments complete with gourmet kitchen and laundry facilities. There are also rooms with the ‘swim out’ option or apartments with their own private plunge pool and spa. All rooms offer air conditioning, king beds, broadband connectivity and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oaks Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas
Oaks Lagoons Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing