We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not what we expected”
Review of Oaks Lagoons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Lagoons
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok, but not what we expected”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

When we booked our honeymoon we were looking forward to being able to use a kitchen, unfortunately the word 'kitchenette' mislead us to believe it would be a proper size kitchen. We got half a sink and a microwave. We found that our room was not serviced properly as our soap and toilet paper was either taken or not replaced.

We enjoyed the excellent air conditioning each afternoon as we returned from our adventures, however they needed more regular servicing.
The BBQ area was a good size but we again found a lack of paper towel and the bins to not be cleaned out regularly enough.

The beds were very comfortable and the shower was a great size.
For the price of this room you may as well pay an extra 30 dollars and get an apartment that has a kitchen. We stayed in a hotel spa.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Congratulations on tying the knot! We use the term kitchenette to identify it is not a full kitchen. We do offer crockery, cutlery and glassware for 2 people as well as the 120Ltr refrigerator. I am pleased though you took advantage of the BBQ facilities and as feedback I have address the points raised about the bins and paper towels with our cleaning staff. As you may have been advised by reception, additional room servicing can be arranged a day prior, it is just not included in the nightly rate. This gives our guests a choice rather than making them pay for something they may not want. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hope we can so something special for your for your 1st anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    322
    114
    42
    29
See reviews for
242
380
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at the oaks. The first thing to note is that the apartments are owned by individuals and are managed by oaks so decor, state of repair etc is variable.

On our last visit everything was excellent - on this one both DVDs broke (one took 2 days to be replaced the other wasn't) and the microwave broke (which took 4 days to fix) and the shower screen was broken too.

That being said we were unlucky to get an apartment with owners who don't replace or repair. For what the oaks manage (the grounds/the pool etc) I couldn't find any fault. The pool was always clean, the gardens well kept, the reception staff friendly and the communal BBQ a god send. That being said I'm not sure we'd return - despite the staffs best efforts to resolve our issues as the apartment is just pot luck.

Room Tip: We booked on uk expedia where we paid almost half the price of the rack rate. Get a room with the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneywinelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for your feedback on your stay with us. I am sorry it took so long for your Microwave to be fixed; unfortunately we were at the mercy of the repair company. The DVD certainly took longer than it should as we were out of stock at the time. I have chased up our supplier on delivery times to us. I do hope you will give us the opportunity to stay with us again. It is only through constructive feedback such as yours that we can maintain the standards we strive for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We booked through travelstar a vacation package and this was the hotel. We really loved everything about it! It is close to the beach and it is a nice stroll along the beach to get into town. Or you can take the shuttle which we never seemed to wait for too long. yes you have to pay but it seemed like you had to pay alot for everything over there anyway so it didnt bother us. Our room was awesome! Loved the spa on the balcony. And we were really happy that our room even came with some dishes since we cooked all our meals. The BBQ area was really nice and clean. The people were friendly. The ONLY downer was if you were up before 7am you had to walk all the way around the hotel to get to the beach and laundry. Totally understand locking the gates are a safty thing but it was still slightly annoying. We would definatly stay here again!

Room Tip: Next time I would probably ask to have a room on the 3rd floor and at the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bendite101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and your lovely feedback. Great to hear our hotel spa room met your needs so well. Yes we have put a basic set of cutlery & crockery in these rooms just to make thinks a little easier for our guests to have at least some of their meals in their rooms. Recently we added microwave opens to all these rooms as well, so between those facilities and the BBQ area, there are some options for our guests. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our family loved Port Douglas with perfect weather. Our location at the Oaks Lagoon was prefect with the 2 bedroom spa apartment on the second floor which was well equipped and spacious.
The pools and BBQ area was a bonus. The manager and staff were very helpful plus informative in booking a variety of our trips. Having a car helped getting around but being out of town made the holiday more relaxing plus still only a short walk to the beach. We all had a wonderful holiday and would recommend The Oaks any time. JJJT from Melbourne.

Room Tip: Beds can joined or separated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your enjoyable stay here at Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas. We appreciate hearing that your family have had a wonderful stay with us. We love assisting our guests with information whether it is local knowledge or booking one of the many tours or trips that we have available to us. Yes the 2 bedroom spa apartments are very spacious and perfect to relax in. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked a hotel spa room for one night on the weekend. For the price paid ($174) it was average. When checking in, we received poor service from the reception. Pretty much given the keys and left - no additional information about facilities or port douglas. The room was good, especially with the private spa on the balcony. Great weather to be out in the sun. However on checkout I received the same cold mannered staff, no polite questions asking about 'how was your stay', simply dropped the keys and left. The least they could do is set the mood for holiday makers and SMILE! Overall the hotel was good but the poor service disappointed my overall experience. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1lovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, General Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Lagoons. I am disappointed to hear about the level of service you received at our reception and can say that this is not the level of service we strive to give to our guests. It would seem this did not occur in your case and I can assure you steps have been taken to address this. We want our guests to enjoy their stay here and in Port Douglas. I am pleased that you did enjoy the spa room, even though it was only for a short stay. We hope you will be able to stay with us again so we can demonstrate a much better welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooma, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have just had 5 nights here and everything was fantastic. We will definately book again next year and bring some friends. Great resort for kids. A bit out of town but we got a cheap hire car and also used the shuttle bus which was great. Loved it. Fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Oaks Lagoons. Our 6 lagoon style pools are always a hit with children and the swim out apartments are great to relax whilst watching the children swim and play. If you are travelling with friends we recommend our 2 bedroom dual key apartments which have fully equipped kitchens, laundry, 2 bathrooms and study. The dual key layout provides plenty of space and also privacy for couples travelling together.
We are located 5 minutes by car or about a 45 minute walk from the Main St of Port Douglas however like you mentioned the shuttle bus service is great. Shuttle buses depart around every 15 minutes and can take you into town for about $5 each way. Many of our guests choose to walk along the beautiful Four Mile Beach into town and then return on the shuttle service. Thankyou again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you next year when you return with your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a very short stay at Oaks Lagoon, very last minute trip decision to leave behind the cold Melbourne weather. And port Douglas did not disappoint!! Best time to go, prefect weather! I was lucky enough to get a 2 bedroom apartment at oaks via a cheap website, price was well within our budget! So I was impressed there but after reading the other reviews I was very concerned I had made a big mistake. Anyway we showed up with minimal expectation and we were very impressed by the cleanliness and huge apartment we were given! So a plus there! Fans and air cons in all the rooms, 2 bathrooms and even a study and outdoor spa! Yes don't expect much in terms of service, sign in and sign out. That's all you will get!! Not even a welcome, how is everything! Don't expect wifi or any room cleaning service or refresh, lucky I had read reviews before going so prior to our arrival had stayed at another oaks in brissy so we took extra washing powder, dishwasher powder etc from there to bring to port Douglas! Shame we had to do that. Not one day our rubbish was collected, towels changed, beds made etc. so it's not a serviced apartment arrangement but instead, here's the keys go and that's it!! Ps ask for rooms on sunny side, one side of hotel is cold no direct sun at all. Overall
I would be back as it was clean, and large. But byo cleaning products! But I think seeing there's no service you might as well do a holiday house rental
Instead for the same cost per night!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveholidays107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Glad to read you had great weather whilst you were here. National weather reports often forecast rain for Cairns and the tropical north and often that is nothing more that a regular late afternoon tropical thunderstorm that clears up by the time the sun goes down. Some seasons you can almost set your watch by it! We do offer 30 mins of complimentary WIFI each day for guests, but for heavy users, there is a charge for additional time. Yes, our rooms are not daily serviced, but many of our guests prefer this in exchange for better rates. You can pay a higher price and have daily servicing, but I can count on one hand the number that have. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.3 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 42 in Port Douglas
877 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lagoons

Property: Oaks Lagoons
Address: 2 Langley Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Lagoons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 minutes stroll to Four Mile Beach, the new Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas is a relaxed getaway which aims to please with its friendly service, relaxed ambiance and unique ‘lagoon’ lifestyle. There are six lagoon-style pools, from which guests can swim to their apartment balconies, as well as barbeque facilities within a lush landscaped setting to make the most of the tropical breezes. At the Oaks Lagoons, accommodation styles vary, from hotel rooms with large corner spas, to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments complete with gourmet kitchen and laundry facilities. There are also rooms with the ‘swim out’ option or apartments with their own private plunge pool and spa. All rooms offer air conditioning, king beds, broadband connectivity and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas
Oaks Lagoons Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing