We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oaks Lagoons
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
QT Port Douglas(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Links Resort(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (975)
Filter reviews
976 results
Traveler rating
381
392
128
44
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
392
128
44
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunny sideramada hotelswimout roombbq areabedroom swim out apartmentshuttle busown transportplunge poolreception staffbbq facilitieshire carspa roomper dayair conbeach shackfull kitchenshort drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
792 - 797 of 976 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Have recently stayed here and got some great rates through booking though the entertainment book. For what we paid, it was good value. The room was clean and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Communal areas such as the pools, bbq, poolside area were also very tidy and well maintained. The accommodation is simple and has the basics. If you want to do you own thing for breakfast & lunch then would definitely recommend booking a room with a proper kitchen. Located 45min walk (at least) from main street if you walk along the beach. Rooms are not serviced and the king beds are two singles pushed together, but not a problem if you are after a well-priced, easy-going stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Many thanks for sharing your feedback on your stay at the Oaks Lagoons. I am pleased the room suited your needs on this occasion. It is important guest’s book the right room type since there is such a big difference in the facilities between our apartment style and standard hotel rooms. Not servicing rooms on a daily basis does allow us to offer rooms at substantially lower rates than similar properties that service rooms daily. Like any good 'user pays' system, a mid-stay clean can be arranged for an additional fee with one day’s prior notice. We hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one week and had a lovely time. We had a spa hotel room and really enjoyed the outside, yet private, jacuzzi. The room itself was very comfortable and literally had everything you could hope for, despite not being a self-catering room. There was a DVD player, book on the local area and cutlery and crockery, as well as a full-sized fridge. The swimming pools are great and even feature little spa corners. The outside area features a communal BBQ with seating and tables, and even has a microwave for guest use. The front desk were exceptionally helpful and offer lots of advice on the local area. I would highly recommend staying here; it is great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TADisplayName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

It was lovely to read you enjoyed your stay with us, we appreciate this feedback. Many guests have extended stays in standard hotel rooms so we have tried to make these as comfortable as possible by putting crockery, glassware and cutlery settings for 2 people in the room. Combined with our BBQ facilities, there is plenty of opportunity to self-cater for some meals if guests don’t wish to eat out all the time. As you probably found out, all full and most half day tours do pick guests up from reception or the tour can be reached via the local shuttle. We hope you will be able to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was in town a couple weeks ago for the solar eclipse. I decided to stay in Port Douglas rather than Cairns, and I'm glad I did. The room, while basic, was clean and the bed was comfortable. As others have mentioned the bathroom was a little small, but fine for me. The mini-fridge and sink were nice to have, as I stopped at the store in town and brought back some food and drinks.

I didn't mind being a bit out of town (it's more expensive in town, of course), but the shuttle buses that run from the hotel just next door run frequently and the ride is only about 6 or 7 minutes, so getting in and out of town is no big deal at all.

Where I found they really excelled was the front-desk staff, who were always quite friendly and helpful. They do close down and lock up the lobby around 7 p.m. or so. I was a little confused about how to get back to my room after going to town at night, but figured it out (go around the side) quickly enough.

Also, when you're in Port Douglas, the birds there are amazing. They lorakeets are beautiful, if a bit loud. So keep an eye out for them.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zuma15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Oaks Lagoons. Wasn’t the eclipse just amazing! I am pleased your room met your needs. Having both standard hotel rooms and full apartment style rooms gives us a variety of room types to offer guests looking to stay with us. We can even combine the two and make a two bedroom apartment. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We love the opportunity to spend time with our guests and share our knowledge about the region and assist in arranging tours if we can. We recommend waiting until you arrive to book your tours so you can arrange your days around the prevailing weather conditions. i.e. On rainy days visit the rainforest, on sunny days it is great for reef trips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

From the friendly staff to the swim out rooms, this venue is a must for a relaxing holiday away from the crowds closer to town. Distance is not a problem with a shuttle bus passing regularly. The rooms are spacious, beds are very comfy, and the facilities are great. If you want to socialize, the BBQ area is an ideal place to meet people and have a chat, and the pools are great for an early morning dip and a swim during the day.there were a lot of children there during our stay, but even though they were happily playing in the pools, they did not disturb us at all as the plantings around the pools block out a lot of noise. We will definitely be back soon!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ClarebearVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Sound like you had a great chance to recharge your batteries, finding quiet time is so often hard to do. The public shuttle does provide a great service for guests and combined with the available airport shuttles, you really don’t even need a car, or can hire locally for a couple of days for a little exploring to the Atherton Tablelands or up to the Daintree Rainforest. The Helliconias make great privacy screens around our pools and having six of them means there is always a secluded area somewhere to drift on some pool noodles. Many thanks for staying with us., we look forward to welcoming you back when you can next make a detour to the tropical north.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here 22-26 Nov and we enjoyed every minute of it! The staff are very helpful and always had a smile on their face. It is a bit out of town which makes things a bit harder and expensive if you don't hire a car but the shuttle from the Ramada is convenient. Upon checking in we were informed we had been upgraded to a one bed apartment swim out. This was just the icing on the cake we could have not been more pleased. Its so relaxing having the pool just outside your back door. The room we received was spotless cept some marks on the shutters in the main bedroom and the cushions off the couch were a bit dirty however nothing we had a fright over. The kitchen is nice and functional and the massive flat screen tv was great. One gripe I had though was when we ran out of dishwashing detergent, washing powder and dishwasher powder we had pay to replenish the meager stock they gave us when we checked in. I know this is a self contained apartment but I'm staying at the best western plus cairns central apartments and they have supplied us with a whole bottle of dishwashing liquid. So I think it would much better for the guests for oaks lagoons to offer those powders and liquids free of charge. When on holiday the last thing you want to pay is for basic living goods. The BBQ is popular with the guests and would recommend to use them.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jungyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Many thanks for staying with us at the Oaks Lagoons. I am pleased you enjoyed your swim out room, they are a great room where you can relax right their on your own pool deck. The local shuttle is certainly very convenient and as it runs from 7am to 11pm, and is a safe way home especially if you have been out enjoying a meal with a few wines. I acknowledge your comments about the consumable items. In essence Oaks has chosen a user pays system, so those wanting extra, pay extra. None of us like to have to pay for things we don’t use. The BBQ’s are very popular, an area where we have often seen guests make new holiday friends. We hope you will be able to make your way north and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews