We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average & better of staying somewhere else for what you pay for!”
Review of Oaks Lagoons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks Lagoons
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average & better of staying somewhere else for what you pay for!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Our stay was welcomed by reddish blood-looking stains at the foot of the bed and on the wall in the bathroom of our hotel spa balcony room. We liked the room as it had the spa and everything else was fine apart from the limited bench space in the bathroom which caused us to compensate by cramming our toiletries onto the kitchen bench and they were getting wet after the washing up. You have to pay for a housekeeper if u wanted daily cleaned rooms, new sheets and new towels otherwise YOU will be washing your TOWELS and sheets or using the same towel for days during your stay as they only offer ONCE A WEEK housekeeping!!!!

During our stay, our mini bar fridge broke down and the issue was managed well after hours however, after speaking to the Manager the next morning, he simply said we could not be moved into another similar room but had to inconveniently walk back and forth into the adjoining room to use their fridge and other facilities (which we did not need or use) and were told not to use the bed (probably to save money on housekeeping as they have been stingy with housekeeping anyway!).

Please note that Reception closes at 7pm so if you require any help after that there won't be any unless it was an emergency.
In addition, unlike most 4.5 star resorts in Port Douglas this one does not have It's own restaurant so you will need to eat elsewhere.

Overall, it was not like a 4.5 star resort and for what we paid for we should have received a lot more!!! Very disappointing! We definitely won't be staying here again and would not recommend it as you are better of paying the SAME amount and staying at a 5 star resort!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swtlilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Lagoons. The accommodation packages we offer at our resort are weekly service with any extra housekeeping services required to be paid for by the guest. We would like to apologise this was not made clean upon booking your accommodation. To save you the inconvenience of having to pack up and move when your in-room mini-bar fridge failed, we were happy to give you access to the apartment side of your unit to use the large fridge, lounge, kitchen and laundry facilities. We are however pleased our technician was able to fix your fridge the next day. Whilst we don’t have a restaurant on-site, Port Douglas is well serviced by a fantastic variety of restaurants and from the information we gave on check-in you will see the special arrangements we have for discounted meals close to our property. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    313
    108
    42
    29
See reviews for
230
373
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and i have just returned from a week longs stay at the Oaks. We had a swim out one bedroom apartment which was clean, cool and realtively quiet. I was expecting to have lots of other guests outside our room in the pools but i rarely saw anyone in our pool (but there were people about in the other pools). The kitchen was a little smaller than i was expecting (more like a kitcehette with only a microwave/oven thing that i didnt really know how to use). The lady on reception was always friendly and very helpful. There is a shuttle bus that runs into town regularly for a cost of around $7 return pp. We hired a car so only used it once when we walked into town one day along 4 mile beach (a lovely 45 min walk). I would def recommend the Oaks to anyone looking at renting a self contained apartment for their holiday.

Room Tip: Swim out is is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Lagoons. Having 6 pools around the Oaks lagoons, does help give a feeling of space and serenity amongst our tropical vegetation. Guests are always able to find a pool where chapters of their book are only interrupted by sessions of snoozing. Our staff are always readily available to assist with instructions for the convention microwaves that are in our apartment rooms. I am pleased you enjoyed the walk along 4 mile beach, it is a great way to work up an appetite and start the day with a leisurely breakfast in Macrossan Street. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were disappointed with our stay at the Oaks Lagoon because of the hotels policy on smoking near the pool area. All guests are allowed to smoke in and around the hotel grounds, which includes the apartment balconies. Other major hotels tend to have a dedicated smoking area which the Oaks Lagoon has not adopted yet. We have a young child and unfortunately our child and all the other people enjoying the pool had to breathe in the cigarette smoke from the chronic smoker who was in the apartment directly next to us. The man was smoking less than 1 metre away when he was on his balcony so we were unable to enjoy our swim out balcony and instead had to go to the beach. There was the occasional day that the our neighbour would go on a day trip so we made sure we enjoyed the pool on those days and ventured down to the beach when he was at the hotel. The hotels policy of allowing people to smoke in and around the hotels pools is disgusting especially when there are many young children around. After discussing this issue with the hotels manager he simply said that the hotels policy allows smoking on the hotel grounds and that if we wanted to move room we could but we would have to check out by 10am and return back to the hotel after 2pm, which would have been a real hassle moving our luggage around since we were only staying a few days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Lagoons. It is disappointing to read of the issues you had with the smoking and we do hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed at Oakes Lagoon for 4 nights at the end of September. Whilst Oaks is far out (it took us about 45 minutes to walk from the hotel to the main centre) there is a bus that runs from the hotel next door to the centre every 10 minutes or so and costs 4-5 dollars each. The beach is a 5 minute walk away. The hotel room itself was very nice, the bed was big and comfortable and the en-suite bathroom was of a decent size and nice double walk-in shower. The only thing missing from our room was a fridge and safe, but this didnt bother us too much. There is no on site restuarant or cafe just a vending machine, so it is a must to get out of the hotel in the main centre for dinner and tea. The hotel was quiet, considering that the swimming pool was below our room. We easily walked from the hotel to the centre via the beach and the street route and felt safe even late at night.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CHRnLAURlikeTOxplr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Lagoons. It is great to read that you enjoyed your apartment and found the bed comfortable. We are pleased you were able to enjoy the walk along the beach into the heart of Port Douglas. We apologise for the lack of fridge in your apartment. The one belonging to your room may have been out for repair or replacement. Our hotel rooms have smaller bar fridges, while the larger versions are located in the one and two bedrooms apartments. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

After reading some of the recent reviews, I was a little apprehensive but needn't have worried. Our accommodation was fabulous, the 2 bedroom apt we had was incredibly spacious and the extra office was great for the overflow of bits and pieces you seem to never have room for on holiday. The swim out pool was just perfect and our 2 girls were in and out of the water constantly. We didn't find a problem with privacy at all, if anyone swam past they certainly didn't stare in and it was usually just a friendly nod or hello. The apartment was very clean, and I am a bit of a germaphobe so this is something coming from me! The walk to the beach is literally 4 minutes (I timed it) so I have no idea how anyone could take 15 minutes as written on some reviews! And the beach is just gorgeous, plus the bonus of being on the edge of a reserve / playground where the bird life is spectacular. We were really lucky that the weather was so nice for us (we were there for one week from 4 - 11 October) but the accommodation was everything we wanted, clean and tidy with plenty of space, and a big plus, the beds were comfortable! Would definitely stay here again if coming back, which our kids have already said is a must! Thoroughly recommended, and one of the best holidays we have ever had.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Lagoons. It is wonderful to read that you and your family were able to enjoy your holiday with us and that your children could take advantage of our swimout pool. We are pleased that you also found the location convenient and close to the beach. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Nice and spacious apartment with direct access to the swimming pool from your own balcony.Very efficient front reception to organise your check-in.Good car parking facilities and easy to find.Could do with their own coffee shop/restaurant if you do not feel like cooking.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have private access to the swimming pool from your rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AAAzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Lagoons. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your apartment and found it nice and spacious. We are pleased to read that our staff were helpful and efficient and I will pass your comments onto the Hotel Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We stay at oaks hotels a lot. They are great value and usually are in great locations . Oaks lagoons is no exception.
We paid for a two bedroom swim out apartment that was in a great location. There is a bus to Port Douglas from the Ramada next door that goes every 15 mins and it was only a five minute walk to the beach. The swim out pool was a luxury , especially with kids and there was also a children's play park a few minutes away.
This is a great complex in a fab location and the swim out option is great but what really let's this place down is the cleanliness. There was glass on our balcony and hair bands when we checked in. The bedroom lamp was in pieces, as was the clothes dryer. There was mould on the curtains and they had a few holes in them.
Our sheets were changed only once in 15 days and with heat and humidity this was terrible! The feeling of getting into a dirty bed at night was disgusting! There was a washing machine to wash them yourself but at $270 a night why the hell should you !!!! It's not a backpackers hostel ! I was told that extra housekeeping would be charged at $74 per night if we wished!!!
You also need to be aware that if staying more than a few nights you need to buy detergent and wash your own towels.
Overall, the apartments were great, roomy and that swim out is a winner but maybe they should offer to change sheets on a more frequent basis for those who choose to stay a few weeks .... After all it would mean more repeat business if this was the case.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wendyprado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I am pleased you enjoyed staying at our complex but acknowledge your preference for a full service apartment with daily cleaning. We do try and advise potential clients through all our booking channels that our rooms are only serviced weekly which is a decision we have taken to help keep costs down for our guests. We offer an alternative style of accommodation and we acknowledge this in not for everyone. I can confirm that the curtains have now been replaced in all our rooms and shortly we are in the process of replacing lounge coverings in some of our rooms as well.

There are some issues with the cleanliness and maintenance of your apartment which should not have occurred. I trust our staff addressed these matters quickly for you once this was brought to our attention. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.3 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
560 reviews
1.9 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#27 of 43 in Port Douglas
285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 43 in Port Douglas
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lagoons

Property: Oaks Lagoons
Address: 2 Langley Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Lagoons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 minutes stroll to Four Mile Beach, the new Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas is a relaxed getaway which aims to please with its friendly service, relaxed ambiance and unique ‘lagoon’ lifestyle. There are six lagoon-style pools, from which guests can swim to their apartment balconies, as well as barbeque facilities within a lush landscaped setting to make the most of the tropical breezes. At the Oaks Lagoons, accommodation styles vary, from hotel rooms with large corner spas, to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments complete with gourmet kitchen and laundry facilities. There are also rooms with the ‘swim out’ option or apartments with their own private plunge pool and spa. All rooms offer air conditioning, king beds, broadband connectivity and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas
Oaks Lagoons Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing