We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a chance of the Standby rates, you won't regret it :-)”
Review of Oaks Lagoons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks Lagoons
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2011

If you arrive in Port Douglas and have not booked anything for accommodation, then you'll see plenty of signs for Standby accommodation.

For choice, choose Oaks Lagoon. You may not get the best view but for value for money….tops!
We paid $109.00 for a spa room. The bed was definitely luxuriously comfortable, but be warn, it is a two king size single beds joined together; and you can feel this.

But the spa….it is a full corner spa on a balcony and there is plenty of room to eat outside too. We enjoyed the spa and by turning the TV around….watch a movie….all in total ‘zen’ comfort. We made a make shift table with our wine, nibble food….and we were set for a few hours. It was definitely worth $109.00 we paid and much much more.

So instead of reaching for the WOTIF, ISTAZ or whatever short list accommodation you know. Have a drive through Port Douglas and see if you see any of these sign and save yourself a bundle of cash.
And in doing this if you see a blue sign on the right hand side “Oaks Lagoon” standby rate…..do yourself a favour and see if you too can a night to remember.

Good Luck !

Room Tip: Defentily worth a look for value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bevfnq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (957)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 957 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed for a wk mid winter in a 2 bed 'deluxe' swim out. Biggest bonus was the stylish furnishings (although couch needed a steam clean), modern facilities and large rooms/balconies. Initial problems at check-in as st room furnishings were tired, stunk of smoke & had restricted outlook on pool due to steel fence but moved to another room which had lovely outlook & furnishings (although although not well cleaned). Asked Booking agent to request sunny side as pool not heated but realised by next morning that we were on shady side so our 'swim out' pool was unusable (icy cold all day). This was biggest disappointment with young toddlers wanting to swim but overall we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying at Oaks again. Would suggest not suitable for anyone seeking peace and quiet as courtyard layout makes it very noisy at night.

Room Tip: North side in winter and South side in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sass70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

We appreciate your review regarding your stay with us at Oaks Lagoons. We apologise that the initial room allocated to you wasn’t suitable and are happy to hear that the hotel staff were able to move you at your request. We do hope you will consider staying with us again at Oaks Lagoons in the warmer months to truly enjoy all the facilities the resort has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Location may not be the best given its proximity to the Sheraton (if you're attending a conference there) or the main drag in town. But, if you've got wheels then this is the place to stay, no question. Value for money sums it up- clean, spacious, well appointed, and a short walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Get the ground floor room below so you could enjoy their massive pool which you could step into from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ompong2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Oaks Lagoons. As you have stated, Oaks Lagoons is located approximately 4kms from the town centre however a shuttle bus service is available for guests without any alternative means of transport (fees apply). Thank you again for your positive review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed some time ago in a one of the Oaks one bedroom apartments overlooking the pool.We loved the space and our unit had a separate room with a sofa and office which was great as we always travel with our laptop. The unit was clean and well equiped and had a reasonable size balcony compared to some units we've stayed in. We used the communal BBQ one night and it was spotlessly clean and notice the pool was cleaned each morning. Although it's a bit of a drive from the main street we had a car so the drive in didn't bother us.It was just a short walk to acces the beautiful four mile beach which we loved to walk on each morning.We would recommend the Oaks to family and friends and hope to stay there again sometime.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suec1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Our week staying in a ‘Deluxe One Bedroom’ first floor apartment was great – a spacious layout with new contemporary décor, comfortable furniture and good facilities. The staff were also friendly and helpful and I recommend the Bowen massage. We were on the southern non-sunny side of the resort and this did not matter because none of the first floor balconies get much sun at this time of year, regardless of what side they are on. There’s plenty of lounge chairs and space in the very sunny communal courtyard between the pools, and hey, there’s a fabulous beach only a few minutes walk away. Being on the first floor also gave us a sense of privacy that you would not get on the Swimouts’ verandahs. A few tips: To save time on arrival, before we left home we arranged via Coles Online for all our groceries to be delivered to the resort. Coles deliver in Pt Douglas twice a week and fortunately this coincided with our arrival. We got there to find our groceries in our apartment and the cold stuff already in the fridge. Also, if you’re staying for more than a couple of days, be warned, you’ll only receive dishwashing and laundry detergents for one wash. You can buy additional sachets from reception for 50c each, or go to the Coles in Pt Douglas on the shuttle bus. Best meal: the degustation menu at Nautilus on Macrossan St. Best time in the sun: renting a Pontoon Boat and fishing rod from Pt Douglas Boat Hire down by the Marina Mirage and spending an afternoon messing around up the river and spotting 4 crocodiles sunning themselves.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FTBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, accomodation is large comfortable and perfect for our family (3 children) staff friendly and helpful. Could not reccomend highly enough.

Room Tip: Request sunny side of pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jabbadahut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

looking for a place just to relax, I took my daughter here for her to have a break before she went back to Uni. Got a cheaper rate ringing direct to the hotel, very helpful. I had read the reviews, so when we arrived to our swim out & it was in the shadows, I rang reception up & they moved us over to the SUNNY side, there was a spa & all day sun. Very helpful reception & the massages there are wonderful. It was a smallish room but enough for 2 nights, & came with coffee & tea, plates, cutlery etc & bar fridge. we only left to go & a coffee in town (about 5 minutes by car)

Room Tip: Ask for the SUNNY SIDE when you book in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handbagtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.3 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#23 of 42 in Port Douglas
551 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#7 of 42 in Port Douglas
744 reviews
0 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#17 of 42 in Port Douglas
955 reviews
2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#10 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lagoons

Address: 2 Langley Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $75 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Lagoons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 minutes stroll to Four Mile Beach, the new Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas is a relaxed getaway which aims to please with its friendly service, relaxed ambiance and unique ‘lagoon’ lifestyle. There are six lagoon-style pools, from which guests can swim to their apartment balconies, as well as barbeque facilities within a lush landscaped setting to make the most of the tropical breezes. At the Oaks Lagoons, accommodation styles vary, from hotel rooms with large corner spas, to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments complete with gourmet kitchen and laundry facilities. There are also rooms with the ‘swim out’ option or apartments with their own private plunge pool and spa. All rooms offer air conditioning, king beds, broadband connectivity and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oaks Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas
Oaks Lagoons Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing