We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch- if you have a car”
Review of Oaks Lagoons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oaks Lagoons
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top notch- if you have a car”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Location may not be the best given its proximity to the Sheraton (if you're attending a conference there) or the main drag in town. But, if you've got wheels then this is the place to stay, no question. Value for money sums it up- clean, spacious, well appointed, and a short walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Get the ground floor room below so you could enjoy their massive pool which you could step into from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ompong2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Oaks Lagoons. As you have stated, Oaks Lagoons is located approximately 4kms from the town centre however a shuttle bus service is available for guests without any alternative means of transport (fees apply). Thank you again for your positive review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    309
    105
    40
    29
See reviews for
227
362
15
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed some time ago in a one of the Oaks one bedroom apartments overlooking the pool.We loved the space and our unit had a separate room with a sofa and office which was great as we always travel with our laptop. The unit was clean and well equiped and had a reasonable size balcony compared to some units we've stayed in. We used the communal BBQ one night and it was spotlessly clean and notice the pool was cleaned each morning. Although it's a bit of a drive from the main street we had a car so the drive in didn't bother us.It was just a short walk to acces the beautiful four mile beach which we loved to walk on each morning.We would recommend the Oaks to family and friends and hope to stay there again sometime.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suec1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Our week staying in a ‘Deluxe One Bedroom’ first floor apartment was great – a spacious layout with new contemporary décor, comfortable furniture and good facilities. The staff were also friendly and helpful and I recommend the Bowen massage. We were on the southern non-sunny side of the resort and this did not matter because none of the first floor balconies get much sun at this time of year, regardless of what side they are on. There’s plenty of lounge chairs and space in the very sunny communal courtyard between the pools, and hey, there’s a fabulous beach only a few minutes walk away. Being on the first floor also gave us a sense of privacy that you would not get on the Swimouts’ verandahs. A few tips: To save time on arrival, before we left home we arranged via Coles Online for all our groceries to be delivered to the resort. Coles deliver in Pt Douglas twice a week and fortunately this coincided with our arrival. We got there to find our groceries in our apartment and the cold stuff already in the fridge. Also, if you’re staying for more than a couple of days, be warned, you’ll only receive dishwashing and laundry detergents for one wash. You can buy additional sachets from reception for 50c each, or go to the Coles in Pt Douglas on the shuttle bus. Best meal: the degustation menu at Nautilus on Macrossan St. Best time in the sun: renting a Pontoon Boat and fishing rod from Pt Douglas Boat Hire down by the Marina Mirage and spending an afternoon messing around up the river and spotting 4 crocodiles sunning themselves.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FTBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmers is
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, accomodation is large comfortable and perfect for our family (3 children) staff friendly and helpful. Could not reccomend highly enough.

Room Tip: Request sunny side of pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabbadahut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

looking for a place just to relax, I took my daughter here for her to have a break before she went back to Uni. Got a cheaper rate ringing direct to the hotel, very helpful. I had read the reviews, so when we arrived to our swim out & it was in the shadows, I rang reception up & they moved us over to the SUNNY side, there was a spa & all day sun. Very helpful reception & the massages there are wonderful. It was a smallish room but enough for 2 nights, & came with coffee & tea, plates, cutlery etc & bar fridge. we only left to go & a coffee in town (about 5 minutes by car)

Room Tip: Ask for the SUNNY SIDE when you book in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handbagtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This resort did not live up to it's 4+ rating. On arrival the room smelt of fish which took 3 days to disappear. The response to this from reception staff was mediocre at best. There clearly had been a problem but hadn't done enough to sort out. We had to clean all our cutlery and crockery before use (first use of the dishwasher showed it wasn't working properly). The kitchenette wasn't well stocked and kitchen equipment was pretty old, misused and mismatched. Generally the unit wasn't that clean and the furnishings were sparse and tired. The most annoying thing was we had a room on the 2nd floor which had a roller blind which had large gaps around it, meaning lack of privacy and letting in the fluorescent light which was kept on all night till 5:30am. On the plus side the pools were good and thankfully we did get a north facing room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Bod_Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAWATU, NEW ZEALAND
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My husband and I opted for a one-bedroom apartment – as opposed to a hotel – type unit. Our booking was for 8 nights and was made well in advance of the vacation.

To our dismay we were allocated an apartment on the non-sunny side of the complex for the entire period of our stay. Had we been offered upon checking in , the option of moving part-way during the week to the sunny side of the resort we would have been happy to do so.

When later questioned about this not being done the reception staff were less than helpful – something we noted on the several occasions we had dealings with them during our stay. Other fellow guests we met during the week also commented on the less then helpful attitude of the reception staff.

The apartment itself was very pleasant and well appointed. It was clean and mostly quiet.

Our unit did not include a spa bath on the balcony – again not an option discussed with us at check in.
However, when guests moved into the next-door unit and used their balcony spa during the day we found the spa to be extremely noisy and intrusive when we were eating or reading on our balcony.

This resort is someway out of town but 2 local shuttle services operate for non-driving guests. The hotel reception staff alluded to this,- but again were less than informative as to the options on offer and could have given guests the useful advice re choosing multiple day passes for guests staying for a few days or more. The shuttle drivers however were on the whole helpful and informative.

We would stay here again - but forewarned is forearmed! Dont expect anything much from the front desk staff - but the grounds and cleaning staff do a great job.

Room Tip: ask whether your allocated unit will get any sun during the day - and about spa units on balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANKESMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.9 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#17 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lagoons

Property: Oaks Lagoons
Address: 2 Langley Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Lagoons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 minutes stroll to Four Mile Beach, the new Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas is a relaxed getaway which aims to please with its friendly service, relaxed ambiance and unique ‘lagoon’ lifestyle. There are six lagoon-style pools, from which guests can swim to their apartment balconies, as well as barbeque facilities within a lush landscaped setting to make the most of the tropical breezes. At the Oaks Lagoons, accommodation styles vary, from hotel rooms with large corner spas, to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments complete with gourmet kitchen and laundry facilities. There are also rooms with the ‘swim out’ option or apartments with their own private plunge pool and spa. All rooms offer air conditioning, king beds, broadband connectivity and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas
Oaks Lagoons Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing