We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Newport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Newport on Macrossan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights in a studio room and the price was very affordable. Room was very clean and spacious, especially bathroom and balcony where huge. There also was a jacuzzi in the bathroom which we didn't use but looked great. Free movie channels, coffee maker, hair dryer. There is a laundry in the common area. Location is right on the main street of Port Douglas, within walking distance from beach and the marina. Big supermarket nearby. I liked best the spacious bathroom and balcony with table and chairs overlooking the pool. I liked least that we had to buy toilet paper.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoga_Jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for The Newport on Macrossan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 206 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed here for four nights and loved it. Clean, plenty of space, free movie channels and a kitchen with everything you need to fix a meal. It is centrally located and very affordable. The best part might be the hospitality of Patrick the operator. He booked both of our day trips for us and our return ride to the Cairns Airport. If you are headed to the Great barrier Reef, stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kearnsdp2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

This motel couldn't be in a better position, right in the heart of Macrossan and local restaurants, 10 mins stroll to the beach. We had a superior room which had 2 balconies - 1 on the main street and 1 overlooking the pool. The large wall built on the roadside balcony stopped any noise affecting us. The rooms were reasonably spacious, bathrooms clean and tidy, and the kitchen facilities were spot on. The pool was salt water and was just divine for a cooling dip. As there aren't lots of rooms we never had any more than another couple of people sharing the pool space so no problems. Patrick on reception was very friendly and helpful. The only areas of improvement could be more drawer space and the hair dryer is one of those wall mounted ones which isn't very powerful but hey, it is so hot here who really cares??! We would DEFINITELY come back to The Newport.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

This was our first visit to Port Douglas and we stayed for 2 weeks in a dual key 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment on the top level.
There was plenty of room for the 4 of us and the front balcony was huge with spectacular views over the boat masts at Marina Mirage to the mountains beyond.
We found the kitchen very useful for breakfast each morning and the occasional lunch with microwave, hot plates, fridge, toaster, etc and plenty of utensils.
The barbecue next to the solar heated saltwater pool is cleaned daily (with oil, salt and pepper provided) and is a great extra area for guests to prepare meals.
King size beds were very comfortable with one separated into king singles for the kids, and the NATIO skin care products in both bathrooms were a nice surprise.
Free movie channels were great of an evening and the two Plasma TVs and two DVD players were excellent quality.
Location is unbeatable with Coles, a bottle shop, a pharmacy and other convieniences directly across the road and we were surrounded by so many great places to eat that we often had a hard time deciding!
The beach is only a short stroll along Macrossan Street and the great shops made it a very pleasant walk. Marina Mirage is an even shorter stroll in the other direction.
The rooms are well sealed and quiet with the doors and balcony louvers closed at night - especially considering you're in the middle of town. Air conditioners and ceiling fans were also quiet and worked without problem.
Patrick, the manager, and Thea were so very helpful and friendly throughout our entire stay we felt we'd found a home away from home and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woojay25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

really liked the location , very close to every thing. Patrick & staff were very helpful & were happy to organise any day trips or what ever we required. glad we had room at rear of complex as front rooms could be a bit noisy facing the street. would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stayed at the Newport in a one-bedroom apartment with another couple (who had the apartment next door) and our two year old daughter and we couldn't ask for a better location and service. The apartments initially surprised us with their generous size and cleanliness. The fenced veranda out the front also proved popular with many a meal eaten there while enjoying the beautiful weather.
The apartments are right on the main street but noise from pubs is efficiently blocked out by the doors and it is actually very quiet at night. The swimming beach was a leisurely 15-20 minute stroll (and even then it's because you tend to make stops at the shops and cafes which abound the street).
The pool and barbeque area were very clean and well kept and there was even oil, salt and pepper, etc provided for all to use!
The location is ideal for families with children as it is so central that you can go out for dinner but still be back home in a flash should the kids get tired and grumpy. And the Coles supermarket and pharmacy are right across the road which is also great.
Management was very efficient and we dealt a lot with Patrick whose dedication to customer service exceeded all expectations. One example was the shuttle to the airport that we booked through hotel reception for our last day - the shuttle was 5 minutes late and Patrick was already on the phone to the company (without being asked) to make sure everything was ok.
The free wireless internet was a great plus as well, as were the free to air movie channels.
We enjoyed Port Douglas and our accommodation there immensely!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marousya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Basically Newport on Macrossan is a good deal, great service and spacious living right by the main street in Port Douglas. I found this hotel on tripadvisor and am grateful for it. But what really made the hotel was not just the free wifi access or car park but Patrick at the front desk. He really made an effort to help me though I was from the States and after some awful Aussie service I was glad to meet someone that was honest and straightforward, I did not feel like I was being scammed. He basically helped my wife and I settle into Port Douglas and booked our activities. Not only warm and welcoming but very insightful as to where to look for what and to do what.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanbsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#30 of 42 in Port Douglas
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#38 of 42 in Port Douglas
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#4 of 55 in Port Douglas
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regal Port Douglas
Regal Port Douglas
#18 of 55 in Port Douglas
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 55 in Port Douglas
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Newport on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Newport on Macrossan

Address: 16 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $77 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Newport on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport on Macrossan is a centrally located and family run 4 star holiday accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. With a solar heated saltwater swimming pool, 3 free in-house movie channels playing latest releases, free secure under cover parking, wireless broad band available in every room. We are genuinely committed to providing clean, contemporary, competitively priced apartments and hotel style rooms that will make you want to stay with us again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Newport on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Newport On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing