We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location you can imagine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Newport on Macrossan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best location you can imagine”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

First of all, Port Douglas must be one of my favourite places. The Jetty is just gorgeous, as well as the little bars and restaurants in this cosy little town.
We (me, my boyfriend and his parents) shared a 2 bedroom apartment here and were very delighted with the amenities.
- Wonderful staff!! So helpful and nice
- Amazing location! In the middle of the town and so close to the beach
- Great apartment

Some great things to do:
- Try a toblerone cocktail at Iron bar
- Go to Salsa restaurant for a special occasion
- The courthouse has good pubfood
- Hartleys farm is just an awesome way to spend the day and so worth the money!!
- Try the sparkling sangria jugs at 3 nineteen!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    63
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
30
131
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We were disappointed by this hotel. Its location on Macrossan was the only positive givens its price. We found the apartments tired, dusty and gritty. It felt claustrophobic within the apartment and were glad we were only there one night. We felt the website misrepresents how tired this apartment complex really is.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shukes-and-Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is on the main street and perfectly placed to walk to any of the shops,restaurants,the markets or the beach. I stayed in a studio spa room. It was small but perfectly OK for 1 person.
I think it would have been a squeeze for 2 people. Not much floor space and nowhere really if you had 2 bags. The shower was located above the spa bath. The bath was high off the ground and difficult to get into. No hand rails to grab or anything.
I also found it a little awkward that there was no chair in the room. No where to sit except on the bed. I brought in one of the chairs from the balcony but there was no room for it really. A folding chair would have been really handy. The room was clean and tidy and the bed very comfy. There is also no lift at the hotel so the stairs could be an issue for some guests.The staff are lovely and very helpful. The Newport was very good value and I would stay again. I would pay more for a larger room if my husband was with me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedroandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

A friend recommended this place as central and very friendly and it most definitely is both. Well appointed, comfortable and quiet rooms right on the main drag - ideal if you arrive a bit late need to do a bit of quick shopping. Quality reef and rainforest tours arranged in 5 minutes the following morning. We would definitely come here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I cannot recommend The Newport on Macrossan highly enough! Patrick and Jenny are two of the most friendly people I have met and are extremely helpful. I loved the studio room that overlooked the pool. Very clean, neat and tidy and plenty of room for me. My parents and their friends stayed in the 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment and they were extremely happy with that too! Plenty of room to move and very comfortable. The hotel is in a fantastic central location with everything from restaurants, cafes, supemarkets and pubs right at your doorstep! It really is all that you could ask for while totally enjoying your stay in paradise and not blowing your budget! A huge thanks to Patrick and Jenny!! All the best.......Rachelle Henderson....I'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Cannot speak highly enough of my stay here. Staff were terrific, very helpful and knowledgeable. Great location. Right in the main street for shopping and restaurants but rooms set back so very quiet. Within easy walking distance of markets, marina and beach. A small boutique hotel, it lacks some of the pomp and pizzazz of the massive hotels but more than makes up with it in the little touches. Perfectly clean and modern fit out of room, natio organic products far exceed what is usually left in rooms, free wifi (unheard of elsewhere!), BBQ facilities that included oil, sauce and detergent. Do yourself a favor...stay here!

Room Tip: Pool view would have more natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy_traveller49208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Had an enjoyable ten days at The Newport with my wife. The staff were very friendly and always helpful particularly with guiding us on trips. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment overlooking the swimming pool. The rooms are clean and comfortable although ours was a little dark and had no balcony as advertised on the website. It would have been nice to sit on an open balcony experiencing the setting sun! The swimming pool was very refreshing when the sun was out although we discovered that the pool isn't actually a heated pool as advertised which was a draw card for us when booking. Overall, the hotel is very good value for money and in an excellent location for hitting the local shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose a bigger room than what we went with and make sure there is an open balcony. Some rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportonMacrossan, Manager at The Newport on Macrossan, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Martin, I am glad you and your wife enjoyed you stay with us and thank you for your positive comments but I do disagree with some of the things you wrote.

All of our apartments have either a courtyard or a balcony depending on what level you are on and their layout is clearly and accurately shown in the floor plans and photos on our website.

The room you stayed in is a nice bright room but you can close the plantation shutters on the balcony for more privacy which will make your room seem dark.

Our pool is a solar heated saltwater swimming pool as advertised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#30 of 42 in Port Douglas
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#37 of 42 in Port Douglas
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Regal Port Douglas
Regal Port Douglas
#18 of 55 in Port Douglas
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#3 of 55 in Port Douglas
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pavilions Port Douglas - Boutique Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Newport on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Newport on Macrossan

Property: The Newport on Macrossan
Address: 16 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Newport on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport on Macrossan is a centrally located and family run 4 star holiday accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. With a solar heated saltwater swimming pool, 3 free in-house movie channels playing latest releases, free secure under cover parking, wireless broad band available in every room. We are genuinely committed to providing clean, contemporary, competitively priced apartments and hotel style rooms that will make you want to stay with us again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Newport on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Newport On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing