We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC! Best Hotel I've stayed at.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Berwick VIC
2 reviews
“FANTASTIC! Best Hotel I've stayed at.”
Reviewed December 29, 2009

This property must not be missed!
We stayed hear with a group of friends for our wedding and all of us can't wait to go back again. The staff were fantastic. The went over and above to do anything for us. They organised my champagne breakfast and delivered gifts and mail to my room. The pool is fantastic and pool snack menu and cocktails are just what you need on a tropical afternoon!! The rooms are very modern and clean, we were lucky enough to have the pool access room that had a private balcony with sun lounges.. I honestly can't speak highly enough about this place. (and I'm quite a picky traveller!) It's only a short 5 min walk to the beach or to the main street of Port Douglas.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKV84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    428
    131
    51
    20
See reviews for
359
791
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2009

We never try to expect too much from a hotel when we have not stayed at or at least seen the property for ourselves previously, but the Beach Club I must admit was ticking most of the boxes during our 4 night stay. The pool area and the cabanas set up around the pool are great, just the thing to lay down and grab a book or a snooze, forget about work and just roll into the lagoon when you want to. Altough it was coming into the quieter time for PD and there was not many in the property, the staff did what they could to make us comfy and the level of service was still quite good. Very surprised and happy with the quality and choice of the food and even the prices were quite competetive with what was available in the village itself. Gotta love the BBQ on Sunday night! The Spanish Mackerel is to die for! Love the Happy Hour every day. I guess the only down side was that you need to be careful what time of year you stay here....if you want a nice quiet somewhat romantic couply type stay, then maybe this is not the place for you. It can be a bit of a kids club at times (especially school holidays) and maybe that sort of thing should be discussed when making a reservation. If you want to stay for more than 3-4 nights I would suggest you take an apartment room, I think the hotel rooms are just a little small for longer stays. Overall though, we thought it was a great introduction to Port Douglas

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibbodas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Stayed for 4 nights in Mid November at the start of a 4 week holiday around the east coast of Australia... starting with the location... Port Douglas is definately the place to go if visiting north Queensland. Cairns is full of backpackers and looks pretty rough. PD is more cosmpolitan and has a more intimate feel. We looked at almost every hotel/apartment in PD before booking Peppers and our main reasoin to stay here was the fact its a hotel. Most other properties in PD are just apartments, only serviced once during your stay. Its very close to the main street and a great choice of restaurants. The spa room is big enough but like someone else stated, housekeeping could do with getting a lesson on how to dust. The shelves were pretty dirty and there was lack of attention to detail. We also asked the concierge to book some restaurants for us, Salsa and Zinc... and when we showed up there was no booking! Poor poor poor, coupled with the general staff not being very engaging. My main regret is not booking Coconut Grove.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveluxury1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMNQ, Management at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, February 7, 2010
Thank you for your feedback – I must agree that Port Douglas is a must for your Queensland Itinerary.

I am regretful that I was not made aware of the dust in your room during your stay, as there are processes in place to quickly remedy any issues that may arise.

Additionally I am disappointed to hear that the service you received did not meet your expectations as we receive many great comments on service and the friendliness of our staff.

We do thank you for taking the time to write to us and advise us of your concerns and hope to welcome you back to peppers Beach Club at Port Douglas.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Isaac
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

We spent 5-nights at this Peppers resort, but I would not rush back. I should say up front what was great about this hotel (because not all was bad). First with the good: 1) The location is excellent just a 2-3 minute walk to the main street. 2) The pool was the nicest I saw in the area. 3) Although the service was very disapointing there were a handful of employees who were very helpful.

However, despite those accolades, that which did not meet expectations really did ruin the overall experience. Some of our problems included: 1) The resort is overrun with ants - we were greeted with an letter in our room explaining the problem, but since we were spending ~$200+ per night I was not pleased to see our bed, bathroom and the walls literally covered with scores of tiny red ants; 2) All our shelves were covered with a thick coat of dust (maybe 1/4" thick) --- I'm not allergic to dust, but I needed eye drops to help with the eye irritation and we both woke up every morning sneezing; 3) Our shower head was broken and my partner cut his hand moving the shower head, because it was so razor sharp. On our first morning my partner went and spoke with the manager about all three issues. The manager was very understanding and said they would resolve this issue right away. Unfortunately, it took two more conversations with staff and it was not until our 4th night that they fixed the shower head so we could move it without cutting ourselves. The dust and ants were never resolved. Nor was there any follow up by management... as I said very disapointing.

There are too many other options if I were to go back to Port Douglas to revisit that Peppers resort. If you are looking at other properties, you should know that there are very convenient shuttle buses that run late so you need not be as close to the main street as we were and I would probably consider those properties.

I would have cut the resort more slack if we were there only a night or two as many guests appeared to have only short stays, but since we were there from Sunday - Friday and little was done to resolve our issues or compensate us for any inconvenience, I have to say that the overall effect was both disapointing and the opposite of what I found in my stays elsewhere in Australia.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMNQ, Management at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, February 7, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to advise your feedback, this helps us maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

I am disappointed that we did not rectify your maintenance and housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay. Please be assured we have reviewed your feedback with the management team and have enhanced our procedures.

It is pleasing to note you found our location excellent and the pool was the best you had seen in Port Douglas. Additionally you found most of the team very helpful as we do receive many great comments on our team.

Once again we do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and hope you will return to Peppers Beach Club and Port Douglas.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Isaac
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2009

Spent a couple of weeks touring around Australia and then ended the trip at the Peppers Beach Club. All I wanted to say is that it was great. The Beach Club rooms were excellent and the location was spot on. Short walk to the beach / town. Port Douglas is a lovely place. Looking for somewhere to relax before the long flight home. This is it !!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chivers_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We had a GREAT stay there Oct 2009 for our honeymoon. We stayed in room 303 a spa suite. We got in at about 7pm on the saturday night. Roger showed us to our rooms and we headed out for dinner.

We spent alot of time in the pool which was really good and drinking cocktails. The food there was great. A must is the BBQ they have there sunday and wedenesday nights. We had it on the Sunday it and it was beautiful. Also the fish and chips for 2 at the resturant was great. If u wanted a lazy day by the pool that is a great lunch and its quite big and the fish is beautiful.

The only problem was the cleaning staff which i was told that they are changing. They didnt like to change the sheets the first night but i told them i wanted clean sheets.

Brain and Roger at the desk where so helpful and point us on what to do and when and where to eat. They both said do the sunday markets and it was GREAT.

We spent 5 nights there for our honeymoon and cant wait to go back.

If u dont want childern noise this isnt the place for u but if u dont mind a bit of noise you wont regret it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruggieplus6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stayed at Peppers for 7 nights. I would recommend that you come in on a Saturday so you can enjoy the Sunday market at the end of the main street in Port Douglas. It has beautiful fresh produce and all sorts of lovely bits and pieces. We had a 1 bedroom apartment with roomy balcony on the second floor overlooking the pool. Room 204. Well appointed and very spacious with BBQ on deck for outdoor entertaining. I found the staff, especially to 2 girls on reception most helpful and very friendly. We'd had not a very pleasant transfer up from the airport with Sun Palm coaches of almost 3 hours because of the volume of people they had to drop off and I'd phoned them to cancel the trip back to the airport on our last day. I'd given them 5 days notice and they refused. Stephanie phoned them to see if she could persaude them but to no avail. We enquired into who else does transfers and Krystaltransport is the shuttle to use. They carry far less passengers so the trip is not as long. The location of the Hotel was in easy walking distance to main shopping strip and restaurants. And the beach was out the back end of the hotel. Their own restaurant was quite good also.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancartea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Property: Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Address: 20-22 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas combines beautifully appointed accommodation, luxury facilities and easy access to the magical Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, making it the perfect holiday getaway. The resort is set amongst calming water features and lush gardens filled with tropical flowers and palms, creating a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. The resort offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) and free movies for all guests, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV, CD player, daily housekeeping service, direct dial telephone/data port/voice mail, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron and board. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites includes dishwasher, stovetop/oven, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware and tableware. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments). The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. In the evening there is an array of dining experiences awaiting you. The resort's signature restaurant, Sublime Bar & Grill serves some of the best cuisine you'll find in the region and uses the freshest ingredients to create a savoured contemporary Australian menu. The restaurant is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00Am - 10.00Am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00Pm - 8.30Pm *Restaurant is closed on Sunday and Tuesday nights. The resort is the perfect base from which to experience all this amazing region has to offer. Port Douglas offers an abundance of exciting activities with the rainforest and the reef close by. Experience the Flames of the Forest live stage and dinner experience, welcome the day with a hot air balloon adventure, explore the Daintree World Heritage listed national park by 4WD and take a helicopter ride out over the Great Barrier Reef. Crocodile farms, Skyrail and white water rafting are just a few more adventures on offer. Combining a tranquil Tropical North Queensland setting with five-star resort facilities and professional service, this resort in the heart of Port Douglas is the perfect setting for your next getaway. Maintenance Notice Please note essential maintenance will take place on Tuesday 28 February 2017 on the edging of the pool between the hours of 10:00am and 2:00pm. The pool will remain open for use during this time however there will be unavoidable noise accociated with the work. Peppers Beach Club management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing