We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in a one bedroom spa room. Room was clean and had everything we needed. Beautiful resort and pool area, close to the beach and main street, staff were very friendly and helpful, would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    416
    126
    50
    19
See reviews for
344
759
36
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014


Make no mistake this is a very pretty hotel with a gorgeous swimming pool. The rooms are modern and perfect. The staff are excellent.

The main problem is the restaurant; there isn't one. A small poolside area acts as a dining area for all meals. Dinners are BBQs. Breakfasts are continental or on upgrade hot; it's just ok. But for the Peppers brand which boasts food, this is lacking. Eggs are thrown onto a plate no decoration; it is quite easy to add parsley for decoration or a slice of lemon. For a brand which boasts Pepper food trails as per a sign on the reception desk the restaurant and food is boringly presented.

The chefs in Australia are well paid compared with Asian countries; yet the Peppers chef doesn't add parsely or lemon slice for decoration; the chef seemed flustered.

Let me relate my recent experience in a 3 star Balinese hotel. Scrambled egg came with a parsely and lemon as decoration, the plate was presented to the diner with a smile and "enjoy your meal". Australian chefs are being paid far more by comparison yet are, by the experience at Peppers Port Douglas, very lacking in style.

The casual dining area needs to be decorated at night; poolside tables and chairs do not suffice; the chairs at night need to be cushioned and covered and the tables decorated.

Peppers are a high quality brand; this is shameful.

As I said, the property is lovely, the staff are helpful but the restaurant is very poor.




  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 663Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for four nights in a Lagoon suite. Just step out the door and into a beautiful 50 meter salt water pool with a beach. Staff are very helpful and friendly. The suite was also very well appointed and comfortable with pillow top mattress and excellent self contained facilities. The inclusive continental breakfast was also very good. Additional breakfast options are available. Beach and shops all very close with underground parking also available, I will come here on my next trip to Port Douglas. Highly recommended

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

So this was just the perfect end to our holiday. Whilst the resort itself is not 'over the top' it is beautifully presented and just an awesome place for a family. We chose the resort mostly due to its proximity to the town center and also for it's awesome 'beach' pool. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a ground floor 2 bedroom 2 bathroom dual key room with it's own plunge pool which of course always makes you feel special. We really only used the spa room for our toddler, however it was nice to have the additional space. The apartment itself was fabulous, very clean and beautifully appointed. It was great to have the kitchen and the laundry as well.

We only had a few meals from the restaurant, which was quite nice but we preferred to go into town which was only a 5 or so minute walk from the resort and a very nice walk in the evening. The Italian restaurant on the closest corner was amazing and we had some of the best meals we've had on our entire trip!

Overall we would definitely go back - the staff were exceptional and we spent quite a few days lazing by the amazing pool. There were quite few kids, so if you're a couple then just be aware! We loved it anyway and couldn't have been happier! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJRPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed here as part of my cruise tour in December 2013. We were greeted with a nice cocktail and we all sat out near the reception desk. The pool was nice and big and I like the beach feel to it. The room was big with a jacuzzi on the balcony. The only thing I did not like was the controls for the ceiling fan were hard to find. It took me a good 1 hour to locate it and get it to go off. The air condition worked quite well. The reception staff help us locate good restaurants to go to which were all within walking distance and very good. I was a little disappointed with the breakfast as there was not much variety and ended up with some ham and fruit. The lattes helped make up for the breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel as it was nice, clean, and worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemgirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Location, location, location. Before staying here we reviewed so many places and we were glad we ended up here. The other resorts were quite a bit further away from the main strip, this is within 2 minutes walking distance to the main road and the beach.
We did not have breakfast at the hotel, there were numerous cafes etc around which were much cheaper and very convenient.
The room we had was a spa suite, which was very nice. Unfortunately our spa on the balcony was directly opposite the foyer so everyone could see us on the balcony day or night (there are shutters to close on half the balcony).
It was our anniversary and they sent over a bottle of champagne- a very lovely touch!
The bed was huge and comfortable, the bathroom was modern and clean. Great TV, tea and coffee making facilities and bar fridge.
We had the eco rate- if you decide to book this rate, make sure you understand that your room will not be serviced at all for a short stay- this was fine except that we had to wash our cups/glasses etc everyday in the bathroom sink with no detergent etc.
The staff were all friendly and helpful.
We also had a massage here and it was amazing- we booked this through bookme.com.au at a much cheaper rate, although when we were there they had a lunch and massage special.
Although there were a few children in and around the pool we did not find this an issue- we could not hear them in our room either. We did not have any issue with getting sun beds- the pool was relaxing to sit at, and they provide full drink/food service. There is a swim up section right near the bar where we could order cocktails etc. They usually had cocktail of the day specials.
Unfortunately they did not advertise the treatments or restaurant very well to the guests- if they had we might have eaten here. We did not eat at the hotel once as we were so spoilt for choice for restaurants around the area.
We did find the birds very noisy- but this is all over Port Douglas.
Easy to find, easy to park, great location, overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaireyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at apartment 209/210 which was a nice spacious apartment with two bedrooms plus sofa bed in a separate room off the twin room. Plenty of room for us being myself, gran and three teenagers. We have stayed at peppers palm cove and found port douglas peppers to be smaller with less facilities, no tennis court and only one pool. The "pool bar" is part of the restaurant in the corner of the lagoon pool.
It was quite quiet when we were here so no problem getting a sun lounge. We felt this resort would more suit couples or small kids rather than teenagers.
As far as location on port douglas, it's perfect, just a short walk to shops, beach, restaurants.
We booked through cairns holiday specialists who were excellent, top service. Unfortunately on the first day of our stay our air cons broke down and were unable to be fixed during our stay so we transferred to peppers palm cove.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the lagoon pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Property: Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Address: 20-22 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas combines beautifully appointed accommodation, luxury facilities and easy access to the magical Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, making it the perfect holiday getaway. The resort is set amongst calming water features and lush gardens filled with tropical flowers and palms, creating a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. The resort offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) and free movies for all guests, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV, CD player, daily housekeeping service, direct dial telephone/data port/voice mail, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron and board. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites includes dishwasher, stovetop/oven, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware and tableware. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments). The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. In the evening there is an array of dining experiences awaiting you. The resort's signature restaurant, Sublime Bar & Grill serves some of the best cuisine you'll find in the region and uses the freshest ingredients to create a savoured contemporary Australian menu. The restaurant is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00Am - 10.00Am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00Pm - 8.30Pm *Restaurant is closed on Sunday and Tuesday nights. The resort is the perfect base from which to experience all this amazing region has to offer. Port Douglas offers an abundance of exciting activities with the rainforest and the reef close by. Experience the Flames of the Forest live stage and dinner experience, welcome the day with a hot air balloon adventure, explore the Daintree World Heritage listed national park by 4WD and take a helicopter ride out over the Great Barrier Reef. Crocodile farms, Skyrail and white water rafting are just a few more adventures on offer. Combining a tranquil Tropical North Queensland setting with five-star resort facilities and professional service, this resort in the heart of Port Douglas is the perfect setting for your next getaway. Maintenance Notice Please note essential maintenance will take place on Tuesday 28 February 2017 on the edging of the pool between the hours of 10:00am and 2:00pm. The pool will remain open for use during this time however there will be unavoidable noise accociated with the work. Peppers Beach Club management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing