We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

As a couple of "seniors" we stayed at Peppers for 9 nights in July 2013. We were very courteously received and taken to our penthouse suite by the Concierge Gavin. The suite has a wonderful outlook over the pool. We had full cooking facilites including a dishwasher and a lovely barbeque on the balcony. There was even a washing machine and dryer. The bathroom was well appointed but we were a little disappointed that there was no bath. Also the tiles in the shower were quite slippery, so I think some grab rails are warranted. However we asked for and received from housekeeping a rubberised bath mat which helped some. The place is extremely clean and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Our accommodation was not in the main building but in a wing with a lift. For anyone even slightly disabled I would suggest a room on the ground floor in the main building would be preferable, saving a walk via 2 pool gates to get to the wing. Peppers is about 5 minutes stroll to the beach where this is a little cafe serving breakfast and lunch. We would happily stay at Peppers again if we had a car, but without one, we would probably look for something closer to the shops, restaurants and the marina. All the staff were charming and helpful. Special mention for Gavin the Concierge who looked after us very well. Our thanks and best wishes to you all.

Room Tip: Our penthouse suite was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyMidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear SydneyMidge,

Thank you for taking the time to post regarding your recent stay with us.

All of our one, two and three bedrooms are self-contained, even with a BBQ on the balcony as you mentioned. Sorry to hear that you were a little disappointed about no bath - there are no baths in any of the rooms.

Good to hear that Housekeeping was able to assist you with the non-slip mat for the shower. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our housekeeping team regarding your feedback in the cleanliness.

Thank you for the amazing feedback regarding the 'Charming Staff' - though in particular Gavin in Concierge - He is a true asset to our team and our guests.

Please ensure that you contact the resort direct (portdouglas@peppers.com.au) on your next visit so that we can look after you as return guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager - Peppers Bach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    452
    140
    56
    22
See reviews for
391
830
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Peppers for 9 days in August. It was absolutely brilliant. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor, which was fully self contained with a full kitchen and a bbq on the balcony. Ideal for cooking up a couple of snags and enjoying a beer while taking in the fantastic views overlooking the pool. We had continental breakfast as part of our deal, which was really good with a great selection of food available. If I was to be picky, the only fault I could find was that the beds in both rooms were in fact only king single beds pushed together, instead of a true king sized bed. This was the only disappointing part of an otherwise awesome holiday. This was one of the best and most relaxing holidays we have ever had, only made better by the wonderful staff, who were there at any time to answer any question or recommend what to do or where to eat or whatever. Brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear nick,

Just a quick note to say thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Karl our Executive Chef has been working hard to improve our Breakfast offering and he will be chuffed to read your comments.

It is always great to read comment regarding the 'wonderful staff' - I cannot wait to share your post with them.

Please make sure that you contact the resort direct (portdouglas@peppers.com.au) on your next visit so that we can look after you.

Kind regards,
Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager - Peppers Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My in-laws stayed here, so this is just a review of the times we joined them with our young kids. Their room was a penthouse, but no lift meant they had to climb 3 flights of stairs. Their well equipped room overlooked the pool. The swim up rooms looked better though, especially with a family. The beach style pool was the best thing I saw at the resort. Approx 50m long with sand covering the ground for most of it. So perfect for the kids! Location is also great, walking distant to centre of port Douglas.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear scos,

Thank you for taking the time to post regarding your recent stay with us.

We agree we are lucky to have such an amazing lagoon pool; for families to relax around during the days. The kids and the big kids love our pool.

We do have lifts at the resort though do not service all rooms; we try to make this as clear as we can at point of booking and make every attempt to fulfil our guests requests.

Hope you had a safe trip back to Perth and we look forward to welcoming you and your in-laws back to Peppers Beach Club.

Kind regards,
Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager - Peppers Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Peppers for 8 days in July and absolutely loved it. We had a one bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool and could not fault anything. In fact I have kept telling everyone how wonderful our stay was. We thought the continental breakfast was delicious and did wonder what other people on trip advisor were complaining about. Seasonal fresh fruit yoghurt juice and a choice of toast muffins and Danish pastries. We did not tire of it and to eat in such beautiful surroundings was just fabulous. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful
Stay. We will be back

Room Tip: 2nd floor overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hi Marg,

Just a quick note to say thank you for the great feedback on your recent stay.

I look forward to sharing your post with the entire team.

Make sure that you contact the resort direct on portdouglas@peppers.com.au or 07 4087 1000 when you are booking your next trip.

Marg, thank you again and we look forward to welcoming back to Peppers Beach Club.

Kind regards,
Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager - Peppers Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

No trouble!! From our first contact; Alison in Reservations was fabulous! Penthouse rooms 301/02, great for entertaining; no noise! Plenty of room! Cocktails at the bar were divine! Keep up the great work! Wonderful pool.........I could go on!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Paula S,

Greetings from Port Douglas.

Thank you for your post regarding your recent stay. We are very lucky to have Alyson on the team and we think that she is fabulous as well.

We are lucky to have such an amazing pool, though the cocktails around the pool make it even better.

Thank you especially for the comment 'Staff are fantastic' - I was chuffed to read this and cannot wait to pass it onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Beach Club.

Kind regards,
Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager - Peppers Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The location is perfect, walking distance to all restaurants, shops, beach and market. The hotel pool was beautiful, nice cocktails at the bar, and staff were all helpful. We had a one bedroom apartment with balcony and bbq, very spacious and comfortable. It would be good if the aircon in the gym could be cooler ( was too hot and bit stuffy in gym ) but thats being picky! A nice, quiet resort.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby201213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Pool is great for kids and that's as good as it gets.

Not sure where to start....
I'm not one to complain but I guess I think it's best to warn some people before they pay to stay here.
We have stayed at Peppers in Broadbeach several times and the service and accommodation is fantastic. However I can't even compare this to their standards.
The cleanliness of the rooms is poor. I'm not sure if it's because they are under staffed but I wouldn't even call it a clean.
I wouldn't bother paying for the continental breakfast as it would be cheaper to buy your own and have it in the room with the complimentary coffee & tea.
Overall it was disappointing given the amount of money we paid.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Addicted_Traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Addicted_Traveller_8,

Thank you for taking the time post your review regarding your stay with us.

As you can see from other posts, what you have experienced is not our usual standards. I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you personally about your stay, so that I may get more information so that I can understand what has happened.

Please feel free to contact me on jeremy.nordkamp@peppers.com.au or phone the resort on 07 40847 1000.

Kind regards,
Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager - Peppers Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#8 of 43 in Port Douglas
469 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Property: Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Address: 20-22 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas combines beautifully appointed accommodation, luxury facilities and easy access to the magical Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, making it the perfect holiday getaway. The resort is set amongst calming water features and lush gardens filled with tropical flowers and palms, creating a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. The resort offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) and free movies for all guests, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV, CD player, daily housekeeping service, direct dial telephone/data port/voice mail, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron and board. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites includes dishwasher, stovetop/oven, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware and tableware. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments). The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. In the evening there is an array of dining experiences awaiting you. The resort's signature restaurant, Sublime Bar & Grill serves some of the best cuisine you'll find in the region and uses the freshest ingredients to create a savoured contemporary Australian menu. The restaurant is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00Am - 10.00Am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00Pm - 8.30Pm *Restaurant is closed on Sunday and Tuesday nights. The resort is the perfect base from which to experience all this amazing region has to offer. Port Douglas offers an abundance of exciting activities with the rainforest and the reef close by. Experience the Flames of the Forest live stage and dinner experience, welcome the day with a hot air balloon adventure, explore the Daintree World Heritage listed national park by 4WD and take a helicopter ride out over the Great Barrier Reef. Crocodile farms, Skyrail and white water rafting are just a few more adventures on offer. Combining a tranquil Tropical North Queensland setting with five-star resort facilities and professional service, this resort in the heart of Port Douglas is the perfect setting for your next getaway. Important information: Sunday 11 June 2017 - Cairns Airport IRONMAN Asia-Pacific Championship Cairns – will involve changed traffic conditions. The Captain Cook Highway between the Cairns Airport and Port Douglas will be closed from 5.30am until 5.30pm due to the annual Cairns Airport Ironman Asia Pacific Championship. For more information visit cairnsadventurefestival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing