We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2008

We stayed at Peppers for nine nights over christmas 2007. We were getting married at St Mary's by the Sea in Port Douglas. Overall our stay was first class. We were a party of 14 (7 rooms) we had a mix of appartments and Spa suites. We stayed in both! our view was that the suites are much better. The spa rooms seemed a bit small although other members of our party found them ok. The pool is really good and the location is great - within easy reach of the town. The bar/resturant was average but overall a very relaxed, clean and friendly. Very good apartments in a great localtion 9/10 overall!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bar
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    416
    126
    50
    19
See reviews for
344
759
36
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2008

Peppers Beach Club in Port Douglas is a fantastic apartment hotel really close to both the beach and the main street of Port Douglas. We stayed in a Spa Suite which has a huge spa bath on the balcony. The room itself was not enormous but average for a modern hotel room. The bathroom was very large and shower nice and strong and roomy! (Very important!). Room was spotlessly clean and furnished in a modern fresh style.
Best of all is the HUGE lagoon pool in the middle of the complex. It is the best hotel pool I've come across, with fine white sand forming a beach that goes right into the pool. Families around us were having fun playing in the sand and the water. You can swim over to the poolside restaurant where they will serve a drink while you sit in the pool. (I always love that).
The pool loungers were very comfy with nifty sun shades on each lounger and some large beach "beds" if you don't want a lounger.
Overall the hotel was excellent and staff extremely friendly and eager to please.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2008

Very attractive setting close to the town centre.

We arrived on Christmas day straight from flying in from the UK. Were pleased to find IGA stores open en route from Cairns to buy basic provisions.

The room, though attractive and very modern, was severely lacking useful storage (one cupboard was kept locked - it was storage for the apartment owners). Peppers is not a hotel as such - as far as I now understand many of the rooms/apartments are privately owned and then let out to holiday-makers).

Also there was no lift to our floor . Not a major problem if you are able-bodied but a bit unexpected and sometimes an effort when carrying a lot of stuff after a day out.

Good breakfast but irritating that the restaurant was too small to accommodate many guests for dinner. When the heavens opened (and they did!) we tried booking an evening meal but wiyth the very limited capacity they were fully booked. We never did manage to eat there.

Wished we had booked an apartment rather than a spa room and then we would have had cooking facilities and more space.

The pool was beautiful and never overcrowded .

The staff except whoever answered the phone when I tried to book a meal were polite, helpful and friendly.

The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows.

All in all a good place to stay.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — not enough convenient storage space
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandie7s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2008

Stayed in Peppers Beach Club at the beginning of December. It was really lovely. The staff were excellent, they gave us plenty of help recommending things to do and places to go! The room was clean and comfortable, with a large balcony over looking the pool. A newspaper was delivered every morning to the room, which was a nice touch. The only negative point that I would say was that the breakfast was a little dried up as it was left under the heaters too long. We spent a few days by the pool and rest of the time exploring the local area, i.e. the Daintrees and Cape tribulation. The Hotel is in a great location, 5 minutes walk to the town centre and 5 minutes walk to four mile beach.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bebe98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2007

Just back from a trip in Australia which started off with 4 days staying at teh Beach club in Port Douglas. We thought this hotel wa sgreat. Rooms were really spacious and modern. We had a one bed suite which had two big balconies from which you could walk directly to the pool area, which you can see from the photos was gorgeous with white sand beach around it.

Rooms had a fully equipped kitchen and off the bedroom hidden behind a wardrobe door was a washing machine & dryer. Really handy while on a long trip away. The rooms had everything you could possible need.

Staff and service were great. Really friendly,courteous and helpful. Food at breakfast was great. Good choice. Lunch menu was nice too. Didnt eat dinner there so cant comment on that.

This hotel was of a great standard and luxurious without any stuffiness. situated around teh corner from Macrosan st and all its shops, bars and restaurants so very convenient. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Liked — Very Modern & clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2007

Location, Location, Location

If you want 5 Star Accommodation close to the town centre there is nowhere better than this, believe me. Other resorts in the area are quite some distance from the town if walking !!!

Pros;
Excellent 5 Star Accommodation ( we even had a very large plasma and surround system in the room)
Excellent Service
Fantastic Pool
PD Centre 2 minutes walk / 4 Mile Beach 5 mins walk

Cons; ( nowhere is perfect!)
people claiming sun beds with towels then going out for the day!
people hanging towels over the balcony to dry - with a laundry in the room why? not fitting of a 5 Star resort
restaurant needs to be bigger ( breakfast was a bun fight some mornings)

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaz_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2007

Stayed in this hotel at the beginning of a 3-week holiday. Stayed in Port Douglas for 6 nights and loved it, very relaxing place, with lots of trips to do.

As for the hotel, stunning pool! Ruined by the total lack of sun loungers. If you manage to get a lounger its wonderful. The poolside bar is good, and stocks a lot. The service all though very friendly is slow! And very frustrating. Regular pool towels provided.

We stayed in a spa suite, which for the two of us was a perfect size. The spa is a needless extra. Only had one once, took so long to fill and I felt guilty about wasting the water. Our particular view was awful, but to be honest spent little time sitting on balcony. Room on the whole was great, bathroom nice too. Had daily news papers which was a nice touch but we declined to take as we never read them, left them out side the room and we had to request it be removed the following day, when they just put the next one there also. Had to ring a couple of times to ask for the complimentary tea and coffee to be replaced. Were never supplied with clean cups so had to ring for them.

Breakfast was nice and the service friendly and personal again slow.

On the whole apart from frustratingly slow service and lack of sum beds, I would most definitively stay there again. Beautiful rooms, great pool, just ask for a nice view when you book.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Pool and slow service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mongozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#11 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Property: Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Address: 20-22 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas combines beautifully appointed accommodation, luxury facilities and easy access to the magical Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, making it the perfect holiday getaway. The resort is set amongst calming water features and lush gardens filled with tropical flowers and palms, creating a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. The resort offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) and free movies for all guests, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV, CD player, daily housekeeping service, direct dial telephone/data port/voice mail, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron and board. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites includes dishwasher, stovetop/oven, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware and tableware. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments). The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. In the evening there is an array of dining experiences awaiting you. The resort's signature restaurant, Sublime Bar & Grill serves some of the best cuisine you'll find in the region and uses the freshest ingredients to create a savoured contemporary Australian menu. The restaurant is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00Am - 10.00Am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00Pm - 8.30Pm *Restaurant is closed on Sunday and Tuesday nights. The resort is the perfect base from which to experience all this amazing region has to offer. Port Douglas offers an abundance of exciting activities with the rainforest and the reef close by. Experience the Flames of the Forest live stage and dinner experience, welcome the day with a hot air balloon adventure, explore the Daintree World Heritage listed national park by 4WD and take a helicopter ride out over the Great Barrier Reef. Crocodile farms, Skyrail and white water rafting are just a few more adventures on offer. Combining a tranquil Tropical North Queensland setting with five-star resort facilities and professional service, this resort in the heart of Port Douglas is the perfect setting for your next getaway. Maintenance Notice Please note essential maintenance will take place on Tuesday 28 February 2017 on the edging of the pool between the hours of 10:00am and 2:00pm. The pool will remain open for use during this time however there will be unavoidable noise accociated with the work. Peppers Beach Club management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing