We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location......and a fabulous pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Location, location, location......and a fabulous pool!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is our fifth visit to Port Douglas and we have tried many different places to stay. This time we went to Sea Temple first and then Peppers Beach Club, so we got a true comparison.
Whilst Sea Temple is good, it's way too far out of the quintessential Port Douglas restaurants and ambiance of Macrossan Street. You feel isolated out there and need a car to get anywhere.
Peppers Beach Club has all the luxury trimmings, plus, its walking distance to everything Port Douglas is known for - the patrolled section of Four Mile Beach, the cafes, restaurants, marina and boutiques. We found all the staff at Peppers friendly and helpful - and that's the best lagoon pool in PD to swim in and laze by reading a book or the paper. It's a gorgeous clean lagoon that is visible from most rooms. Excellent!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a pool view, either 2nd floor on reception side ( so no stairs) or ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Porters051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifergm, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Porters051,
Thank you for your continued patronage at Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas. We are so pleased that we continue to meet your expectations and that you find our location, staff and pool to be perfect for your requirements. Thank you for pointing out our advantageous location in comparison to other Port Douglas resort and we are so pleased that you enjoyed all our luxury trimmings whilst here. Thank you for trying other resorts but still choosing us as the best in Port Douglas so please contact us directly on portdoulgas@peppers.com.au so we can give you the best deal for your next holiday in paradise.
Warm Regards,
Jennifer Isaac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    461
    145
    57
    22
See reviews for
403
852
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Main Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We arrived around midday and were greeted by friendly and helpful staff who got us checked in quickly and helped us with our luggage. The experience started well and we were anticipating a very relaxing and overdue break. As a family with teenagers we wanted a 2 bedroom unit however only the 'adjoining' units were left so we were neighbors, the extra privacy suited us.

Our boys were excited to find there is a very large lagoon pool right outside our balcony which was great for them and not so much for us. If you want a peaceful holiday without screaming kids and yelling 'Bogan adults' outside your window from dawn to dusk - avoid this place! Oh, you didn't have to be in the pool to yell at your kids either - standing on your balcony two or three floors above the pool was the perfect spot to yell from!

We were there in June, so the sun was low and only half the sun loungers got good all day sun which made it a competitive sport to leave your towel and shoes on the best pool loungers from 6am to secure the best spots around the pool which I found odd behavior. For some reason, others accepted this as 'claiming a sunlounger' as private property.

If the constant pool noise is not enough to drive you out of the joint the faulty automatic door closers that cause the doors to slam from 6am when the little darling wake up, will...we asked maintenance to sort out the problem but he said 'they are body corporate property and I can't replace them, sorry'. So he tried to tweak ours which helped for about 2 hours. The kids enjoyed themselves but I was glad to leave.

The rooms were clean and tidy, staff were attentive, the restaurant food was woeful and the resort looks very nice from outside. If you love lagoon pools and hideous screaming families then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Morning sun on the north side of the pool, afternoon sun on the south side. The north side units are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifergm, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Andre M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay. We are sorry that there were some guests here that disrupted your stay. We do have signs on the sun lounges that forbid people from reserving them and we do try to police this activity as well as asking guests to keep the noise to a minimum. I will also have maintenance review the closing of the fire doors and adjust them so they are still compliant with the Queensland Fire and Rescue Services requirements but are less noisy for our guests. We are pleased to hear however that you liked the service from our staff and you found our rooms to be very clean and tidy.
Thank you once again for leaving your comments as we need to hear about any issues from our guests so we have the opportunity to fix them and improve our standards for the future.

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Isaac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Spent 8 nights at Peppers and enjoyed every minute. The location is excellent, just a short walk to the beach and to town and the lagoon pool is a real highlight. Enjoyed several spas on the balcony and we found the staff all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is not large, but has everything you need for a relaxing holiday. We will be back!

Room Tip: First floor spa room has a nice view, but if you are opposite the restaurant you might have a bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifergm, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear GlenFromOz,
Thank you so much for the fabulous comments you have left on Trip Advisor about our resort. We always value receiving such comments so thank you for appreciating our staff, lagoon pool and location. I am glad that we could provide you with the relaxing holiday you needed. We are also delighted to hear that you would like to come back so please contact us by email portdoulgas@peppers.com.au or phone +61 7 4087 1000 and we will organise you another perfect stay because at Peppers, “We are all about You”!
Warm Regards,
Jennifer Isaac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We've just come back from staying at the Peppers Beach Club Pt Douglas. We stayed for over a week. I had been a bit apprehensive based on the reviews I had read, and some of them were true.
Firstly, this hotel is very convenient for the main drag of Pt Douglas. You are literally a 5-10min walk from Macrossan St, 5 minutes to Four Mile Beach, and a prominent easy point for pick up for various tour companies. Bringing your car is fine, as there is free undercover parking under the hotel, with the entrance off to the side on Mowbray St (the property is on the corner of Mowbray and Davidson St). This is secure, and relatively convenient for bags, provided you have a room near the lifts.

The layout of the hotel rooms is initially a bit confusing, but once you look at the map, and sort out the levels, it is pretty easy. Even if you can use the lifts, you often still have a short flight of stairs to get to most rooms, so if you have mobility issues, ring ahead. We found Roger, the concierge very helpful with our bags.

We had no problems with staff at reception who were friendly and helpful. We didn't use the restaurant, but did call down for room service on 3 occasions. Fish and chips were yummy (and fast!), but on Wednesday night, the usual menu is sacrificed for their BBQ night, which is the only choice. That was fine too, as I just chose some Morten Bay Bugs which were great! The last time we ordered, the salad was literally muddy as someone didn't rinse the leaves properly. Bit disappointing considering how the previous two meals had been so nice.
Clearing of trays is slow. Our last tray was left outdoors, initially outside the door, then moved to the ledge for >24hrs. With tropical fauna around I would have thought this wasn't a great idea. This practice seemed to be widespread, as I saw lots of trays lying around from the night before, and I felt it was a bit disappointing for guests to see.

Room service was usually done quite late in the day, in some cases after 2pm, which is not great if you're hanging out in your room on a rainy day. My boyfriend's ashtray on the balcony was not cleared, and I'm pretty sure the toilet was not wiped down. There is an ECO rate where housekeeping comes less often during your stay, but I would expect a bit more of a clean be done on the room.
Otherwise the room was OK. We had a spa suite which, for the price, was pretty small. There is a spa bath on the balcony for those who want to use it. Bathroom had a good shower stall. Bed was comfortable, and flat TV with basic Foxtel and DVD player were good. Wireless internet is OK, and easy to set up. One week was $59 or so.

The balcony is a nice spot to look out over the lagoon pool. During the day, the noise can be quite loud, but it didn't bother us. The doors also have an inner louvre set of doors for shielding from light and I highly recommend pulling them across for privacy as well, as you can see across from the other wing quite easily! The doors are not block out, so you do wake up with dawn light.
My boyfriend used the pool and said it was nice.

In the end, there were only a few complaints which didn't really worry us. We had a nice stay in Pt Douglas, and would probably stay in the area again, but maybe if we were staying longer, maybe upgrade to a larger room.

Room Tip: If you're after quiet, maybe pick a room on a higher level, and away from the pool. You'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kittycat888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifergm, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear kittycat888,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay. We are pleased to hear that you had a nice stay with us in Port Douglas but we are sorry that not all things were perfect for you. I will make sure my team work hard on fixing the errors you have mentioned and I hope we can have the opportunity to fix this in the future for you so please contact us directly on 07 4087 1000 or portdouglas@peppers.com.au and we will look after you.

Kindest Regards,
Jennifer Isaac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Staff are wonderful, love the pool with the sand, and breakfast was great. Highly reccomend rooms were immaculate and beds so comfortable :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaPortDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifergm, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear MelissaPortDouglas,
Thank you for highly recommending Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas and we are so pleased that you found our staff, pool, breakfast, rooms and beds to be wonderful. I greatly appreciate your comments and we hope you can stay with us again in the future. Please contact us on 07 4087 1000 or portdouglas@peppers.com.au for the best deal.
Warmest Regards,
Jennifer Isaac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The 1 bdrm suite was beautiful and spacious with lounge room, bdrm, living rm, kitchen and balcony. They said they could not fit the 2 of us with a 3 yr old in a spa room and put us in a $450 a night room big enough for a family of 4 or 5. They didn't have the information at the continental breakfast for us when we arrived, and we had to go print it out to prove we paid for it. The service at the front desk was rude and the entire hotel had a pretentious feel to it. The coffee was horrible, so we bought a $4 latte and it wasn't much better. The food left us unimpressed. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifergm, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Suec,
I am glad to hear that you found our rooms to be beautiful and spacious but sorry you were left unsatisfied by a couple of elements. Our One Bedrooms are massive suites however our Spa Suites are just a hotel room and therefore no extra room for a cot or rollaway bed for your child. If you could have seen the Spa Suite option whilst you were here you would understand how much more comfortable you would all be in the one bedroom suite we provided you. Unfortunately with your breakfast inclusion, this information was not forwarded to us at the resort so we did need confirmation from yourself or your travel agent that you had paid for your breakfast. This error was out of our hands but once you produced the paperwork we of course honoured your breakfast inclusion and we went back to your agent to have the paperwork rectified. I will definitely pass on your comments about the food and coffee to the restaurant team as that is something that we can change and we apologise for not providing you with a good quality product.
Once again we are sorry for not exceeding your expectations and I hope to give us the chance in the future to change this.
Kind Regards,
Jennifer Isaac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

The staff were excellent, the room stunning & only metres from the pool. Very kid friendly with sand to play in as that's the base of the pool it's like a real beach !! Will definatly be back

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leahbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifergm, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Leahbk,
Thank you for mentioning our excellent staff, stunning rooms and kid friendly pool. We hope that you will “definitely be back”!
Warmest Regards,
Jennifer Isaac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
1.6 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Property: Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Address: 20-22 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas combines beautifully appointed accommodation, luxury facilities and easy access to the magical Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, making it the perfect holiday getaway. The resort is set amongst calming water features and lush gardens filled with tropical flowers and palms, creating a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. The resort offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) and free movies for all guests, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV, CD player, direct dial telephone/data port/voice mail, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron and board. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites includes dishwasher, stovetop/oven, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware and tableware. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments). The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. In the evening there is an array of dining experiences awaiting you. The resort's signature restaurant, Sublime Bar & Grill serves some of the best cuisine you'll find in the region and uses the freshest ingredients to create a savoured contemporary Australian menu. The restaurant is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00Am - 10.00am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00Pm - 8.30Pm *Restaurant is closed on Sunday and Tuesday nights. The resort is the perfect base from which to experience all this amazing region has to offer. Port Douglas offers an abundance of exciting activities with the rainforest and the reef close by. Experience the Flames of the Forest live stage and dinner experience, welcome the day with a hot air balloon adventure, explore the Daintree World Heritage listed national park by 4WD and take a helicopter ride out over the Great Barrier Reef. Crocodile farms, Skyrail and white water rafting are just a few more adventures on offer. Combining a tranquil Tropical North Queensland setting with five-star resort facilities and professional service, this resort in the heart of Port Douglas is the perfect setting for your next getaway. Important information: Sunday 11 June 2017 - Cairns Airport IRONMAN Asia-Pacific Championship Cairns – will involve changed traffic conditions. The Captain Cook Highway between the Cairns Airport and Port Douglas will be closed from 5.30am until 5.30pm due to the annual Cairns Airport Ironman Asia Pacific Championship. For more information visit cairnsadventurefestival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing