We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great upscale family hotel”
Review of Peppers Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Great hotel, location, design and the lot is great. Great on site pool and bar/restaurant facilities. Only down is the total disregard for ACCC regulations leading to "surcharges" for everything during public holidays. Sorry, thats iligal, pathetic and a nuisance - a large corp like Mantra should be better than that!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifergm, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great comments you have made about the design, location and facilities at Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas. I am however a little baffled about your comments in regards to Public Holiday Surcharges. We are very stringent on our compliance in relation to all facets of our business and this is no different for the public holiday surcharge. The ACCC states that we must display in full the amount that a guest will be charged for their Food and Beverage items on the days where we can legally add a surcharge. We therefore re-write our menus for the public holidays and they clearly state the total cost of each item including the 15% surcharge. Unfortunately as wages are 275% more expensive on Public Holidays, we do need to pass on a small amount of this expense to our restaurant patrons otherwise we would have to close our restaurant on public holidays. I believe that this would be more of an inconvenience for our guests so this is why we clearly state that there is a surcharge and guests can choose to dine with us and pay the surcharge or they can prepare their own food or go to another restaurant (but most restaurants now add this public holiday surcharge). If you believe we were not compliant in our surcharging procedure, I would love to discuss this further with you so please contact me on 07 4087 1000 as we do not like to disappoint our guests. Once again I thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about the resort being great overall and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards, Jennifer Isaac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,557)
There are newer reviews for Peppers Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,414 - 1,420 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2011

I have lived in Asia for 23 years and traveled to many locations and stayed in many great (and some awful) hotels.
I have absolutely no problem in recommending Peppers Beach Club in Port Douglas . The rooms are spacious and luxuriously appointed. We stayed in the dual key 2-3 bedroom apartment and our family of four (we have 2 kids aged 12 and 11) had ample room.
The beach swimming pool is second to none and the friendly staff,gym , spa and number of great facilities made this the best holiday i think we have had. I cannot sing its praises enough.
It is located very conveniently between the high street and the beach,a truly fantastic position. there is no real need to hire a car even.
Well done Peppers.

Room Tip: Ask for a penthouse or a swim out room.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shabu_Shabu_Mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

I stayed in a one bedroom penthouse suite for 5 nights in March and wanted to stay forever. Peppers was total bliss with a fab pool, lovely swim up bar and restaurant and great location close to the beach and town centre. The actual apartments stylish and very comfortable with lots of space. Large balcony that provided shade from the Queensland heat and an opportunity to dine outside. We stayed on the Eco rate, which makes the overall price cheaper and given that our suite had a washing machine there was no issue with cleaning your own towels, linen etc. My only complaint albeit tiny, was the high cost of the WiFi.

Would recommend staying here to all, especially couple looking for a getaway.


Would recommend staying here to all, especially couple looking for a getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Pros: beautiful pool, great location, helpful staff
Cons: (in wet weather) no digital tv in spa rooms, expensive wifi

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattddkdkdkdk1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Peppers Port Douglas in March 2011. We booked a privately owned apartment as the rates were cheaper than the advertised rates at Peppers. The apartment had the same look, feel and facilities as the regular Peppers rooms but at a more affordable rate for us. We were really lucky with the weather as the two full days we were there, it didn't rain until later in the afternoon and evening so we were able to enjoy a stroll around the shops in the morning and spend the rest of the time by the beautiful lagoon pool. The pool is perfect for young families (ours included a 5 month old and an 18 month old) and pool toys such as lilos, buckets and spades and beach balls were available for use. We ate breakfast in the restaurant, Sublime, and the continental breakfast buffet is the best I have ever had. It included plenty of tropical fruits rather than just the usual stewed fruits that most hotels offer. The restaurant is also located right next to the lagoon pool. The only downside we could think was that there was no designated bar area to relax and enjoy a drink other than sitting at the restaurant tables. Saying that though we did enjoy a couple of drinks out by the pool. The hotel is located a short stroll from Macrossan Street and is just around the corner from the beach (but who needs it when you have such a gorgeous pool!). Prices for meals at the hotel and in Port Douglas are still fairly expensive in the off season so be prepared to pay. I would highly recommend While Away Cafe and Bookstore for good coffee and Sassi Cantina for modern Italian (although the wine list I felt was was very overpriced).

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilligan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

I would highly reccomend this place to anyone. We arrived around 8pm after a flight from Uluru to Cairns and there was no waiting around at check in despite a large tour party arriving at the same time. We were handed the keys to our room immediately and informed that the tour party were shortly to dine as a group in the restaurant. Being tired we choose to use the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised to find that the impact of the tour party did not delay our meal at all. Furthermore the quality of the food was 1st class, as was the service.
We found all the staff to be very friendly and always ready to answer any questions we had. The desk staff and the concierge(s) gave us some great advice on things to do during our 4 night stay.
The location is quiet but just a short 5 minute walk from both the beach and the main centre. Our room was excellent, well serviced and included a spa bath and view over a magnificent sand pool.
In summary I would return in a breath.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lastLegsDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifergm, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such nice comments about Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas. We are very pleased that you experienced a seamless check-in and first class meal in our restaurant even when we were busy. It is also great to hear that the advice our staff offered was useful and informative to make the most out of your holiday. I agree that we do have a great location and facilities so we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Please contact us directly on 07 4087 1000 so we can give you the best deal.
Kind Regards,
Jennifer Isaac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

YOU HAVE GOT THE BEST! HOW DID YOU FIND HER?

I am writing in reference to my stay in your Peppers Beach Club in Port Douglas.

I was stranded with no accommodation (I had been told to evacuate my original accommodation at 6am that morning) with a Cyclone named Yasi breathing along the Far North Queensland Coast. Other resorts were asking their clients to leave. I was told I wouldn't get a room anywhere.

I had met someone briefly that worked at your resort and inquired if they would help get me in till the cyclone passed. Yes!

Having booked in, the General Manager, Jennifer Isaac arranged for a meeting of everyone staying there during the cyclone. We all turned up and Jennifer and her dedicated staff calmly proceeded to inform us of the intentions for the resort, staff and clients for the next 24 hours, giving us packed breakfasts and torches should they be needed. She talked only of our safety in a pleasant, down to earth manner. Never a mention of the disaster that was looming. Without assuring any of us she assured us all by her manner and actions. She also personally saw that we were well informed throughout the night and always had a smile and a cheery disposition. She was brilliant! And brilliant doesn't half describe the people skills, communication and delegation skills and all the rest of her finely tuned skills implimented to take your resort and the clients through the preparation of a cyclone of that catagory. Jennifer displayed them all!

Fortunately, the cyclone veered south at the last minute (thanks to two other pressure systems) and Port Douglas was left out of the destruction equation.

The magnificent qualities and actions of your General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Resort, Jennifer Isaac, are an enormous credit to those at the top running the Peppers Retreats. Resorts and Hotels.

I am a better person for the experience of meeting Jennifer and her staff, (including the maintence man who was on the job for anything and everything.)

Everyone I spoke with the next morning sang Jennifer and her staff 's praises and I trust that they also wrote and shared their thoughts with you.

Kindest Regards

Barbara V

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livitall888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
974 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
1.6 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club

Address: 20-22 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $199 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks, and feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) free movies, air conditioning, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV and CD player. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments). The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. Sublime Bar & Grill is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00Am - 10.00am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00Pm - 8.30Pm *Restaurant is closed on Sunday and Tuesday nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peppers Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing