We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

I stayed in a one bedroom penthouse suite for 5 nights in March and wanted to stay forever. Peppers was total bliss with a fab pool, lovely swim up bar and restaurant and great location close to the beach and town centre. The actual apartments stylish and very comfortable with lots of space. Large balcony that provided shade from the Queensland heat and an opportunity to dine outside. We stayed on the Eco rate, which makes the overall price cheaper and given that our suite had a washing machine there was no issue with cleaning your own towels, linen etc. My only complaint albeit tiny, was the high cost of the WiFi.

Would recommend staying here to all, especially couple looking for a getaway.


Would recommend staying here to all, especially couple looking for a getaway.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    400
    123
    50
    19
See reviews for
330
727
35
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

Pros: beautiful pool, great location, helpful staff
Cons: (in wet weather) no digital tv in spa rooms, expensive wifi

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattddkdkdkdk1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Peppers Port Douglas in March 2011. We booked a privately owned apartment as the rates were cheaper than the advertised rates at Peppers. The apartment had the same look, feel and facilities as the regular Peppers rooms but at a more affordable rate for us. We were really lucky with the weather as the two full days we were there, it didn't rain until later in the afternoon and evening so we were able to enjoy a stroll around the shops in the morning and spend the rest of the time by the beautiful lagoon pool. The pool is perfect for young families (ours included a 5 month old and an 18 month old) and pool toys such as lilos, buckets and spades and beach balls were available for use. We ate breakfast in the restaurant, Sublime, and the continental breakfast buffet is the best I have ever had. It included plenty of tropical fruits rather than just the usual stewed fruits that most hotels offer. The restaurant is also located right next to the lagoon pool. The only downside we could think was that there was no designated bar area to relax and enjoy a drink other than sitting at the restaurant tables. Saying that though we did enjoy a couple of drinks out by the pool. The hotel is located a short stroll from Macrossan Street and is just around the corner from the beach (but who needs it when you have such a gorgeous pool!). Prices for meals at the hotel and in Port Douglas are still fairly expensive in the off season so be prepared to pay. I would highly recommend While Away Cafe and Bookstore for good coffee and Sassi Cantina for modern Italian (although the wine list I felt was was very overpriced).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chilligan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

I would highly reccomend this place to anyone. We arrived around 8pm after a flight from Uluru to Cairns and there was no waiting around at check in despite a large tour party arriving at the same time. We were handed the keys to our room immediately and informed that the tour party were shortly to dine as a group in the restaurant. Being tired we choose to use the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised to find that the impact of the tour party did not delay our meal at all. Furthermore the quality of the food was 1st class, as was the service.
We found all the staff to be very friendly and always ready to answer any questions we had. The desk staff and the concierge(s) gave us some great advice on things to do during our 4 night stay.
The location is quiet but just a short 5 minute walk from both the beach and the main centre. Our room was excellent, well serviced and included a spa bath and view over a magnificent sand pool.
In summary I would return in a breath.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lastLegsDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifergm, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such nice comments about Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas. We are very pleased that you experienced a seamless check-in and first class meal in our restaurant even when we were busy. It is also great to hear that the advice our staff offered was useful and informative to make the most out of your holiday. I agree that we do have a great location and facilities so we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Please contact us directly on 07 4087 1000 so we can give you the best deal.
Kind Regards,
Jennifer Isaac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

YOU HAVE GOT THE BEST! HOW DID YOU FIND HER?

I am writing in reference to my stay in your Peppers Beach Club in Port Douglas.

I was stranded with no accommodation (I had been told to evacuate my original accommodation at 6am that morning) with a Cyclone named Yasi breathing along the Far North Queensland Coast. Other resorts were asking their clients to leave. I was told I wouldn't get a room anywhere.

I had met someone briefly that worked at your resort and inquired if they would help get me in till the cyclone passed. Yes!

Having booked in, the General Manager, Jennifer Isaac arranged for a meeting of everyone staying there during the cyclone. We all turned up and Jennifer and her dedicated staff calmly proceeded to inform us of the intentions for the resort, staff and clients for the next 24 hours, giving us packed breakfasts and torches should they be needed. She talked only of our safety in a pleasant, down to earth manner. Never a mention of the disaster that was looming. Without assuring any of us she assured us all by her manner and actions. She also personally saw that we were well informed throughout the night and always had a smile and a cheery disposition. She was brilliant! And brilliant doesn't half describe the people skills, communication and delegation skills and all the rest of her finely tuned skills implimented to take your resort and the clients through the preparation of a cyclone of that catagory. Jennifer displayed them all!

Fortunately, the cyclone veered south at the last minute (thanks to two other pressure systems) and Port Douglas was left out of the destruction equation.

The magnificent qualities and actions of your General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Resort, Jennifer Isaac, are an enormous credit to those at the top running the Peppers Retreats. Resorts and Hotels.

I am a better person for the experience of meeting Jennifer and her staff, (including the maintence man who was on the job for anything and everything.)

Everyone I spoke with the next morning sang Jennifer and her staff 's praises and I trust that they also wrote and shared their thoughts with you.

Kindest Regards

Barbara V

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livitall888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

we just spent a night in Peppers Port Douglas as my boyfriend made me the surprise for Valentine's Day
we spent the best 24 hours ever!
everything was just beautiful and amazing
the staff , all of them and especially at recpetion were divine, and I would like to thank you again for the amazing experience we had
there is NOT a single thing that is wrong with that resort, it was just perfection to us!
we had one of the penthouse room with private jacuzzi on balcony, overlooking the resort, the view was simply breathtaking

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coco198208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

I stayed the the property over the weekend, and found it to be one of the nicest hotels in Port Douglas..and i have stayed at a few. The lagoon sand pool is amazing. The staff are friendly and they have a great selection of cocktails that you can drink by the pool. The hotel is conveniently located to the main strip so most restaurants and bars are walking distance. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and i will stay again next time i am in town.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JabbaQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
5.2 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Property: Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Address: 20-22 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas combines beautifully appointed accommodation, luxury facilities and easy access to the magical Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, making it the perfect holiday getaway. The resort is set amongst calming water features and lush gardens filled with tropical flowers and palms, creating a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. The resort offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) and free movies for all guests, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV, CD player, daily housekeeping service, direct dial telephone/data port/voice mail, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron and board. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites includes dishwasher, stovetop/oven, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware and tableware. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments). The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. In the evening there is an array of dining experiences awaiting you. The resort's signature restaurant, Sublime Bar & Grill serves some of the best cuisine you'll find in the region and uses the freshest ingredients to create a savoured contemporary Australian menu. The restaurant is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00Am - 10.00Am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00Pm - 8.30Pm. The resort is the perfect base from which to experience all this amazing region has to offer. Port Douglas offers an abundance of exciting activities with the rainforest and the reef close by. Experience the Flames of the Forest live stage and dinner experience, welcome the day with a hot air balloon adventure, explore the Daintree World Heritage listed national park by 4WD and take a helicopter ride out over the Great Barrier Reef. Crocodile farms, Skyrail and white water rafting are just a few more adventures on offer. Combining a tranquil Tropical North Queensland setting with five-star resort facilities and professional service, this resort in the heart of Port Douglas is the perfect setting for your next getaway. Maintenance Notice Please note essential maintenance will take place on Tuesday 28 February 2017 on the edging of the pool between the hours of 10:00am and 2:00pm. The pool will remain open for use during this time however there will be unavoidable noise accociated with the work. Peppers Beach Club management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing