We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great space, very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great space, very relaxing”
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We have previously stayed at the Sheraton Mirage, but our last stay there wasn't great and with our children now teemagers, we wanted more space. After having read some of the reviews, we were a bit concerned about cleanliness, but when we arrived we were immediately taken in by the serene pool area and comfortable apartments (2bd/1ba). We found the front desk to be very helpful and the rooms to be appropriately clean. Having washer/dryer in the apartment as well as a full size refrigerator was a definite plus.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    464
    189
    62
    37
See reviews for
465
795
32
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We had a great family holiday in Port Douglas - not necessarily a given when you're travelling with kids aged 3 3/4 and 1/3/4!
We stayed at the Sea Temple which was great - a little out of town, but when you have a car it doesn't matter at all... and the hotel has great faclities - especially fully self contained apartments. We had a swim out room - which was unreal. We also had some great meals out on Macrossan St - with and without the kids. LOVED the fact that all the restaurants opened at 5pm so that you can have a decent meal with the kids! A hidden gem was the Combined Club overlooking the inlet - we accidentally found it when asking some locals for directions to another restaurant!
We also has the BEST babysitter - Megan from Busy Bees Babysitting Service. The minute she walked in the room the kids warmed to her (some people are truly naturals!) and they were asking when Megan could come and play again! So much so that we had a great excuse to have a game of golf one afternoon - serious indulgence when you've got young kids and no guilt attached!

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LWWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Our 7 night trip to Port Douglas started at The Sea Temple for 4 nights and ended with The Peninsula for 3 nights (also reviewed).

Upon arrival, we were very impressed...a smiling, polite, and helpful (Peter?) chap greeted us and told us all about the accomodation, maps of Port Douglas, transport into towns, tours, etc, etc... We booked via Wotif (Mystery Deal) and were given 2 for 1 breakfast coupons, 2 for 1 golf, and a $30 free wine voucher. Perfect.

The Positives:

The resort is pretty amazing, as the pool carves out the interior with many swim out rooms. It's beautiful. The morning buffet was impressive every day - cheese, salmon, omlette chef - first class. The service is just right - somebody always greets you with a hello, but it's not too over the top...somebody is happy to help with dinner plans, a ride to the golf course, or to help book a tour. Our room was 177, a one bedroom spa room. It was a cute/small room with quite a big spa. The size of the spa was a little odd, considering the room was pretty small, but the energy of the room/resort matched the relaxed service and created a perfect atmosphere for a relaxed/romantic getaway. The bar at the pool was also a great way to spend a relaxing afternoon. We racked up quite the dinner/room service bill, and overall we can say the service met/exceeded our expectations.

Some folks below didn't like the proximity of the front desk to their room(s). Sure, we had a little bit of a walk, but this is a resort...so it's quite spread out, and we actually enjoyed that. Rooms don't border room after room like a typical hotel stay, so calmness at The Sea Temple prevails. So, out the back of our room was the pool, and out the front of our room was a 50metre walk to 4-mile Beach. Perfect.

The Negatives:

It's a bit of a haul (4-5km) to the main part of Port Douglas, but we actually liked it...it added to a nice, calm atmosphere. When we wanted to hit the main bars/restaurants, we took the shuttle bus in. That bus is a bit of a pain, as it stops at a few resorts, so we ended up enjoying a great walk into town via 4 Mile Beach. The food out to pool bar was a bit slow, but relaxing in the sun by the pool with a cocktail took care of that.

No question we'll be back, and I've already recommend The Sea Temple to clients and friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandNinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We were told that the Sea Temple was THE 5 star resort at Port Douglas so we thought for our honeymoon, what could be better!! Firstly, its the most enormous complex and the apartments are scattered miles from the main amenities. We had a car so that wasn't really a problem. But I think when your at a resort of that kind, its nice to walk out of your apartment and not have to venture too far for the pool etc.

The penthouse apartment was nice and spacious and very private which was great. Our first bad experience was when we arrived at our apartment and there were dishes from other apartments left by the lifts. Obviously they were from the mornings breakfast service. This was at about 2pm. We didn't take much notice until later that evening, they were still there and at that point covered in green ants.

Our penthouse apartment had a rooftop spa. When we went to the spa, there were beer bottles and bottle tops strewn around the spa. When we got into the spa, my husband found a bandaid floating in the water. Needless to say, at this point we were terribly disappointed and wanted to move.

We spoke to management and told them about the dishes outside, and the spa etc. It took the 24 hours to get the spa area cleaned up after asking them twice. The manager was conveniently not available when we tried to speak with them. We decided to leave and find alternative accommodation. We are so glad that we did as we were wrapped with our new choice.

For the amount of money we paid for the Sea Temple I would have expected much more and would certainly not recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We were disappointed with this hotel and it is certainly not a luxury 5 star hotel.

Firstly the rooms were not clean - our bedroom had dead bugs squashed on the blinds, the bedspread in one of the bedrooms had mud on it when we arrived and every day at least one of the 'clean' towels in the bathroom had stains on it.

We had a 'beach villa' which was not actually on the beach but the downstairs part was spacious and quite comfortable except for the annoyingly loud inside fountain which turned on and off automatically on some timer which we had to call reception a few times to get turned off. There was a nice outdoor BBQ area but it didn't get cleaned at all during our 1 week stay.

The main bedroom was OK with a huge spa bath but the other bedrooms had just a bed and a sideboard - no TV, phone, garbage bin, clock or even tissues in them.

The staff were generally slow and uninsightful. Every day I had to call housekeeping to get extra towels because they never left enough for the 5 people in our 3 bedroom villa. The maintenance staff were working with power tools outside our bedrooms at 8am for a few days which eliminated a relaxing holiday sleep-in. The waiters at breakfast could never get their heads around our tea and coffee orders, and there were never enough beach towels at the pool.

I wouldn't bother eating at the hotel. The breakfast was a very average hotel breakfast and the food around the pool was inedible unless you were having a cheese sandwich and chips. They did do good cocktails at the pool bar however.

The day spa was OK without being great - but even there you couldn't escape the noise of building works and the sub par standards of cleanliness (in the womens change room the toilet paper holders were rusty and squeaked when you turned them, the dressing gowns had holes in them and the lockers needed dusting).

The best part about the hotel was the pool. The swim-out rooms meant you could walk straight from your lounge room into the pool which was great. It was clean and enjoyable to swim in although at this time of the year it would have been nice if it was heated.

The hotel has real potential and with better management could be very nice. As it stands I wouldn't go back but a few small changes such as better standards of cleanliness, staff training and a new chef would really make this a great place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_meee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Stayed in a Spa Room with my wife. Very nice, big and clean rooms. The staff all seemed as though they were new when we stayed with little knowledge but went out of their way to find the answers to our questions. Breakfast was a bit average for the $30 a head each. Better option would have been to go room only and just eaten out each morning. The pool is amazing and service is great. The pool bar seemed to close very early (6pm) on some nights even though there were a few of us still hanging around. We did have an issue with lost property but it was handled very well and we just got our item back in the mail today. Overall - highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PowderHoundSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2010

The staff here are great. Generally helpful and kind. However, the room we had was a fair distance from the pool and main part of the hotel. This would have been great, except that we were on the ground floor and had the pleasure of hearing the people upstairs walking around and having sex. We had to resort to ear plugs to get some sleep. Would have thought that a 5 star hotel would have been constructed better. It was also disappointing that the hotel was so empty and yet we were given a room that was tucked away in the dark corner of the resort

There was also very little storage space. So we had a bags in the hallway.

Do not drink the coffee that comes part of breakfast. It is the worst I have had. To have decent coffee you had to pay $6 to have it made. Another way to get extra money from the tourists i suppose.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larissa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
5.7 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
2.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
2.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Property: Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing