We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a Special Celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“For a Special Celebration”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary and wanted somewhere special to stay. Sea Temple Port Douglas did not disappoint. We booked a studio spa room (which stretched our meagre budget ) through Boutique Collections, and they upgraded us to a 2 bedroom apartment - I suspect numerous cancellations due to the cyclone led to this but we were thankful. It was a great apartment with kitchen and laundry facilities. It also led out onto the beautiful lagoon pool. Being school holidays there were lots of children around so we tended not to use the pool as much but it was still a key feature of the resort.
The only downside to the room was the bathroom . It was a bath/shower combination and the bath had very high sides to it . Anyone with knee or hip problems could potentially find this very difficult.
We found the air con difficult to manage - it was either too cold or too warm and one of the hand controls wasn't working.
This resort is very romantic and has a constructed boardwalk that leads down to 4 mile beach. Signs remind you that you are not alone.....crocodiles could be lurking in nearby shores and mangroves. People didn't seem to be bothered so we just relaxed and kept both eyes open !
We had a sneak peek at the Studio rooms which seemed quite small. If the opportunity arose again I would definitely stay at the Sea Temple and choose an apartment that led out to the pool or swim out apartment .
The restaurant was busy - always a good sign, but a bit pricey for us. Ditto the Vie Spa.
Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor swim outs are a great option
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mammabear62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay in a Privately Managed Apartment. We would love for you to book with the Resort directly and stay in an apartment that we manage so that we can ensure you receive the full Pullman experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    465
    189
    62
    37
See reviews for
465
795
32
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at the Sea Temple complex over Easter. The resort is exactly how the pictures and website describe it, beautiful gardens, lovely (huge!) resort style pool, with plenty of accommodation choices to choose from (villa's, 2/1 bedroom apartments or studio rooms).

We chose to stay in a privately owned 2 bedroom plunge pool 'golf view', operated by The Boutique Collection. They are fantastic in their service prior to arrival and during check in, and the apartment was so clean! Whether you choose to stay in a privately owned or book direct through the Pullman, we think the plunge pool is the way to go! Unfortunately you don't get views of that magnificent pool but you do get a bit more privacy and the option to laze by your own plunge pool (which is a decent size for relaxing and having a bit of fun!)

The resort unfortunately wasn't the place for couples over the Easter break- we had a lot of noise above us which at times was a little annoying- but to be expected during school holidays. It really did seem like a family paradise (pool was packed most days) which is great... just not when you are looking forward to a quiet holiday away. We know for next time and will definitely go back, maybe under different circumstances or at a different time of year. Honeymooners, couples etc may want to look elsewhere (we stayed at the Niramaya previously which was super quiet, almost deserted!).

A few other points:

We dined almost every day at the resort- whether it be lunch, dinner, or breakfast. All meals beautiful. Staff helpful, especially the lovely chap over lunch on Good Friday!

Resort is well kept and clean.

Really research where you'd like to be positioned in the resort before you book, a swim out would be great but for couples you might find it quite noisy.

A hire car is a must- shuttle bus service would be too expensive to use everyday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at the Resort. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed your Easter Holiday.

We definitely are a great location for families during the school holidays - as is most of Port Douglas!

Next time you visit, we'd be more than happy for you to book direct with the Resort rather than through a private operator. That way we can provide the full 5 star Pullman experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich Spa Worcs
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed for two nights early April. Fantastic hotel - excellent restaurant and rooms - stunning pool - very friendly and helpful staff. Close to town centre with good selection of shops and restaurants - beach and golf course close by. Well worth a visit - would stay again if in Port Douglas - highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MalViDroitwichWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your recommendations. We really appreciate you sharing your comments with us.

It's great to see that you loved your whole visit to Port Douglas.

We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Go no further than the pool, the kids could have (and sometimes did) spent all day in the pool. (We booked through Boutique Collection with great service). The two bedroom swim up apartment was well appointed, clean, and had great facilities. Gym was also very well equipped, don't be fooled, no chance I used it! The only issue in this area not great phone/internet coverage with Telstra.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're so glad that you and your family loved our 3000m2 lagoon style pool.

Next time you visit Port Douglas we'd love for you to book direct with the Resort rather than through a private operator. That way we can offer you the full 5 star Pullman experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I am currently on my second night of a 2 night stay at Pullman Port Douglas.
This is a truly stunning resort and is right up there with the best.
From the enormous lagoon pool that snakes it's way around the resort, to the beautifully appointed rooms and apartments that each have a water feature. I am staying in a Penthouse suite which has a view of the lagoon pool as well as huge private roof top terrace with a spa. Other rooms feature swim up from the lagoon pool or private plunge pool. Decor in the rooms is modern, with large private balconies that overlook the pool and very well appointed.
I had dinner in the hotel restaurant last night, Aqua, and I must say my taste buds were tantalised. We had the shared seafood platter and the quality of the food was absolutely outstanding. A word of advice, if you order the shared platter, don't order entrees as it is more than enough for two. Delicious!!
My primary reason for visiting Pullman is to check it our for some conference groups, however I would also highly recommend it for leisure guests.
Pullman has a good sized conference room to cater for just over 100 delegates with one smaller breakout room. Ideal for incentive groups and perfectly located just outside of the Port Douglas Village.
This is a fabulous property, very well managed with a big focus on service. I highly recommend all that Pullman Port Douglas has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at the Resort. We are so thrilled to read your lovely comments!

We shall share these with our team including our Executive Chef - he will be chuffed that you thought so highly of his meals.

We look forward to hosting your conference group in the future and of course any time you'd like to visit for pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We are all looking forward to coming back to Sea Temple. It is a perfect all generation family holiday resort. The apartments are very spacious and all seem to face the swimming pool which is like a large lagoon. The resort is backed by the 100 mile beach and it is quite possibly the most beautiful beach in the world to walk along at dusk. The only downside was the only restaurant on site.

Room Tip: an apartment with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of your time at the Resort.

We wish we had 100 miles of perfect beach to enjoy but sadly it is only Four. We're glad that you got to experience it at dusk as, we agree, it is stunning then.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Pullman is an resort that is big and luxurious without being over the top, like many of this calibre can be. It's a perfect venue for both couples and families. It's not close to many outside facilities so it's the kind of place you go to and be fully self contained. Port Douglas is about a good 10-minute drive although there are a few shops about 5-mins away.

The rooms themselves are quite generous. There are both indoor and outdoor lounges in each room and self-contained (laundry and kitchen) facilities for those who want to look after themselves. The beds were quite comfortable, which can even be a challenge in high-class accommodation. For those in the apartments, they overlook the pool with either a swim-out (for ground floor accommodation) or with a roof top spa and bbq area for those on the first level. For those who have a small group, the villas are a great option. They have separate rooms and their own plunge pool with full bbq facilities. It's almost a resort within the resort.
It's most notable facility is the large pool that goes around a large part of the resort and is shallow in most so it's great for kids and adults. Is an adjacent pool bar that is reasonably priced and a restaurant that is on par or priced in Port Douglas. As for the quality of the food, it appeared okay although we didn't eat there. The gym is well-maintained and was often empty.

Overall, I really couldn't fault the Pullman Sea Temple and it's certainly a place I will go back to again.

Room Tip: If you like swimming get a swim-out room that allows you to go straight from the room into the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
What a thorough and pretty much spot on review! We are impressed with your accuracy of our room types and your recommendations are perfect.

Thank you for sharing your comments with our future guests.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back at the Resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
5.7 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
2.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
2.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Property: Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing