We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here over the Xmas break. From when we checked in right until we left we can't really fault it. Restaurant staff were abit rude when we didnt have a reservation booked, only 2 people in the whole restaurant but nevertheless The dinner was fantastic. We will definitely be coming back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KyleWilson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
It's great to hear you didn't want to leave! Thank you for sharing your review of your holiday over Christmas.

We appreciate the feedback your have provided on the service your receive in AQUA Restaurant and your comments will be passed on to ensure our service levels are improved.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    488
    200
    65
    40
See reviews for
485
829
32
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay in a hotel style room. Very clean and loved the huge spa bath. When we arrived our room was not ready and we received a free drink voucher due to the wait. Quality customer service and would recommend others to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoagsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation! We are glad that you enjoyed your time away with us. Thanks you for sharing your review.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I have never written a poor review for any establishment before but I feel compelled to write about my experience last week as it was truly awful. I stayed in the $1800 per night Penthouse suite last week "at this supposed 5 star resort" and was bitterly disappointed as I had THE worst dining experience in the 9 years since I have been living in Australia (and in fact of my life!!!).The head waitress who was serving us was extremely rude and inappropriate. Initially when we entered the restaurant to ask for a table we were rudely shooed away by her and told that she "couldnt possibly seat us as it was starting to rain" and "she was about to lose half her restaurant". There were only 6 tables being used, over 10 tables free, and only one table which was in the rain and needed to be moved inside. She crassly told us to leave and return 30mins later- which we did. It was a Friday night and we ordered the $150 seafood platter to share between two of us. We were then told that there were no oysters or mussels available and that chef would "throw on some more calamari and fish" to make up for it. We had to wait over half an hour to be served our wine (in the end another lovely very polite waiter serving a neighboring table finally saw we had been served our starters and still had no wine and kindly went and got us our wine- it took him about 2 minutes). Our actual waitress then returned and then very rudely and sarcastically asked us "how is your wine? was it worth the extra 30 second wait?"!! The fish (supposedly nannygai) of which there was only one piece (so much for our extra fish to make up for the lack of mussels and oysters) on our seafood platter was honestly the consistency of a poor cut of beef (for example chuck or round) which had been cooked to the consistency of a well done steak! I have NEVER EVER complained about a meal or sent food back to a chef but this fish was so dry, tough and leathery and I struggled to cut through it (to share with me friend as there was only one piece), let alone chew it! The Morton Bay bugs were also awful- dry and overcooked. About 20 minutes later our waitresses returned without our replacement fish and stated that she "couldn't find the chef" to cook us more fish and that " he must be out having a sneaky drink" !!! (this is at 21:00 on a Friday night at a 5 star resort!!). Our waitress (who may I reiterate is the Head Waitress and Food and Beverage Manager at the restaurant) then went on a long diatribe about how she is married to a chef but she cant cook "for [--]" and how she burnt spaghetti last week! (she continued to ramble on for about 5 minutes- i switched off after about 4 minutes). Eventually we did get a small 6cm piece of ocean trout to replace our "beef-jerky-fish" and admittedly it was beautifully cooked and tender. I politely voiced my extreme disappointment with our meal to which our waitress kept giggling and in the end we were given $10 off the $150 seafood platter. Never have I been SO incredibly disappointed with Australian Tourism. The service we received was absolutely APPALLING and unfortunately I have to warn all of my friends who live in Cairns with me (and those visiting) to stay well away from the Port Douglas Pullman Sea Temple Resort and not to waste their money. (Ironically the Pullman Hotel in Cairns has given me some of the most fabulous food I have ever eaten and I cannot recommend it highly enough!!:) This is in fact one of the reasons I was initially very excited to go and stay at the Port Douglas Pullman Sea Temple Resort with me friends.)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LouiseSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your visit to the Resort. We are very disappointed to hear that your dining experience in AQUA Restaurant was unsatisfactory.

We appreciate the feedback you have provided on the service that you received. Please rest assured that we will share your comments with our Food & Beverage team to ensure the level of service provided is improved.

We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday time in Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed at the Sea Temple Resort as part of a reward program for my wife's business. We had a penthouse suite, with rooftop spa and BBQ. All we can say is that the stay was wonderful. Beautiful room, fantastic pool, great service, lovely grounds and excellent food in the restaurant when we ate there. It's a little out of town, but they will arrange bike rental for you, or there is a shuttle bus (for a fee). It also takes about an hour to walk along the beach into town which is very pleasant.
Only thing is the curious habit top class hotels have of providing TV channels through their in house cabling. This means you get a crappy analogue style TV picture when you should be able to get all the excellent quality free to air digital channels. Just don't know why the do that, but suspect it's to encourage you to purchase movies because the channels look bad. But that is an irritation rather than a complaint.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your stay at the Resort. What a lovely reward that you and your wife received! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

As well as bike rental and the local shuttle service we can also arrange a hire car for the next time your stay with us. That way you can explore a little further around Port Douglas.

Thank you for your feedback on the TV channels, we will take this on board.

We look forward to seeing you back at the resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed at one-bedroom penthouse apartment for 3 nights. The room is big & comfy! The hotel pool is fantastic! Staffs are friendly & helpful! Just a little bit far from the town and not many restaurants around the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen_Chak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of your time spent at the Resort. We love to hear that our guests were relaxed and comfortable with us.

We hope you'll visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
954 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
686 reviews
2.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
0.3 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Property: Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing